We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice resort but could be better”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Let me start by saying overall the resort is very nice. We plan to go back in 2015. However, there are a few things i would change.
Check in time is 4:00. We arrived around 3:00 and were told they would send us a text message when our room is ready. At 5:00 ish, i called the front desk and was told our room was ready. After we checked in a text message came through. They need a better system.
The air conditioning unit never cooled the unit to our satisfaction. It was warm and humid during our stay and beiing able to go into a nice cool room would have been nice. They checked the AC unit and said it easier working properly.
Check out time is 10:00. We asked for a late check out. They said our unit was scheduled for an early check in and we had to be out by 10:00. Since we were delayed getting into our unit, it would have been nice to have checked out a little later. The houskeeping staff was waiting outside our unit at 10:00.
Several guests smoked on the beach. No one seemed to police the "no smoking" policy.

On the positive side, the units are very spacious and comfortable. Great fitness center and locker rooms. Food was very good, especially the chicken pineapple quesadillas. Our concierge (Stephanie) was excellent.

Room Tip: Be close to the pool/ beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveyt1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    411
    105
    35
    28
See reviews for
666
413
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a beautiful property with great rooms, pools, beach and other but the service at the restaurant (Sunset Cove) is just poor. I get "Island Time" and things on the island are slow all over but the servers here forget just about everything and don't seem to care much. It would be easy for a manger to come in here and turn this around overnight. Frustrating... Marriott Vacation Club is very expensive so you would expect to get what you pay for.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianAptMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stopped here for the night coming back from sailing in the BVI. The location is a short taxi ride from the ferry and the room view was fantastic. It was an easy and relaxing place to stop on a long trip home… On the downside the wifi didn't work well at all…

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarnBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I have been to many marriot hotels and vacation clubs and this one is by far my favorite. The Frenchman's cove is clean, the costumer service is fast and on par and the view is excellent from mostly all rooms. The rooms are spacious as with all vacation clubs and it is a family atmosphere. I've been here 5 times and it only gets better. Btw it is close to all the good beaches and tourist spots.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Reviewsforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just spend five nights at the facility in a two bedroom villa. This is perfect for our family of five. The villa had plenty of room and great amenities. My only complaint is the quality of the bed and sheets in the "master bedroom". The mattress on the king size bed was not the usual quality I expect at a Marriott property. The sheets were also of a lower quality than I expect. The two queen size beds in the second bedroom were much better.

There is plenty of activities for the family. The pool area is great. We also visited the Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar resort. The pool area at Reef/Star are nice but not geared towards children. If you are on a romantic get away and not with the children the Reef/Star may be better suited for you. However, Frenchman's Cove is definitely the place for a family.

I will definitely return with the family in tow in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels/condos in St. Thomas. We shared a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo unit with another couple! It was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed. The pool was fabulous and was right on the beach. LOVED the daily "happy hour" for guests... one day it was tequila another day it was wines. The rooms are very well appointed and clean. Maid service was great... all of the staff at this resort were very accommodating and friendly. The beach was clean and we really enjoyed the trampoline and inflatable waterslide. We did venture over to the sister-property at Frenchman's Reef (you can use the facilities at the sister resort as well). Would be a great place, but really needed some updating. The infinity pool would be amazing but the water was not clean (cloudy with questionable floating debris). We didn't stay long and retreated back to paradise at The Cove. Treat yourself to the most amazing dinner of your life... Havana Blue! Pricey but worth every scrumptious bite! Would revisit this resort in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room if possible, the balcony is a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon. We were able to afford the hotel with a AAA discount and another offer. Unfortunately, when we got to our room after checking in, it was not clean. Our bellboy Ken called down to the desk and got us upgraded to a beachfront room! Ken was really the only great service we had during our whole stay. The other staff did not go out of their way to be friendly. When we were checking out, the woman working with us was not friendly, but was incredibly friendly to the couple she was as chatting to behind us during the process. We also did not receive any honeymoon perks that other reviewers mentioned.

In regards to housekeeping, trash was kept in piles at the bottom of the stairs. We saw our pizza box there for 2 days. Also a sconce broke outside of our door at night and wasn't cleaned up until the next afternoon.

The views and setting were perfection. We took advantage of the free shuttle to Frenchman's Cove for snorkeling and also swam frequently at the beach and pools. Our room was also in great shape, was cool, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
8.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Property: Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3011, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing