We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
989
446
115
37
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
446
115
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john building tortola building bedroom villa sea urchins marriott hotel next door st thomas full kitchen jost van dyke the pool and beach area gourmet gallery reef hotel washer and dryer marriott properties floating mats rented a car marriott vacation club trunk bay
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

The Marriott Frenchman's Cove is a beautiful resort in a secluded area away everything. It's very quiet and we enjoyed our 7 night stay there. The best part was the beach and beautiful warm ocean. We spent many days out in the water talking with the many people visiting from around the world. The rooms were nice and all had a nice view of the harbor. Overall, the staff were very friendly and fun activities going on throughout the day. Do not miss the mixology class! The only negative was the food and service at the onsite restaurant. The food was not good and was overpriced. The service was hit and miss depending on which server you got. Some were very good and others awful. Roundtrip into town is $16 pp so expensive to leave the resort. We had a great day taking a tour of St Thomas with Island Buddy. We would come back again but may wait until the Marriott hotel reopens in 1-2 yrs so we have more food options.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for choosing Marriott Vacation Club! We appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

I travelled with my wife and daughter. The 2-BR, 2-BA with kitchen was well-furnished and clean, with 2 balconies (large one off the master BR and LR, small one off the 2nd BR). View was terrific from the 3rd floor of the St. John building.

The beach is small (maybe 50 yards wide) but never seemed crowded and the water quality and temperature was perfect. Some snorkeling available to the right side of the beach around the rocks and old coral. Plenty of lounges and beach umbrellas available, we never had a problem setting up. The infinity pool is right behind the beach and is maintained well, the water temperature was excellent. There is a small restaurant with a good menu and decent prices.

The fitness center is well-equipped and though small was never too crowded.

Maintenance and cleanliness around the whole resort was excellent.

Room tip: For a good view from the St. John building request the third floor or higher.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mlangh0lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your #vacationgreatness! It’s wonderful to read about your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

First off, we have been to many Marrriott Vacation Clubs over the past 15 years and we are BIG fans of the MVCs! Now for the good, it’s a lovely facility that, considering the damage done by Hurricanes Irma and Maria ( fall 2017) was in excellent shape! In fact, from the pool, grounds and exterior- you wouldn’t know there had been extensive damage at all! It has a nice pool and beach area with many activities for all ages.
The villa- it’s well appointed and spotlessly clean but the furniture and cabinetry are looking a little worn and tired. The bedroom carpet and area rug could use a shampooing and I’m thinking it’s the original furnishings from when it was built in 2007.
It could be with the hurricanes that they have not had time to update in the interiors of the villas. I don’t want to be too hard on them as they have done a great job of getting the property back and running in a short period of time. There are many activity adventures that operate from the pier at the resort; they have a catamaran, nighttime glass-bottom kayak, and many other activities right on site! That is a really convenient and fun feature! The restaurant is poolside and very close to the beach. The property layout is very good! It’s a great place to stay with something for everyone in the family!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 78MaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Our team is delighted to read your review and to learn you enjoyed your time at the resort. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon at a Marriott Vacation Club resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This review is from the perspective of a parent of a young toddler, and as a hotel guest (not a time share owner).

Rooms- All rooms are two or three bedroom villas. Our two-bed villa had two full baths and two balconies, along with a full, stocked kitchen, dining area, and washer dryer (all necessary soaps included). It was great to have all that space! The Jacuzzi tub in the master suite was perfect for bathing my toddler after the beach or pool (I could fit in there with her to get the job done.) Bed was super comfortable. The resort offers Pack'n'Plays, not cribs, so that fit in the second bedroom. They also offer high chairs but we choose not to utilize that. The villa could sleep 8, so with just three of us there were more than enough towels. They give you the beach towels in the room, but you can leave them in a receptacle near the pool when you leave. Great black-out curtains too. And... amazing views! Our unit was in Tortola, which is basically at the water's edge so our view of the sea was unobstructed. Units in other buildings would have views of the pool area and beach and other buildings in addition to the water. The unit was kept very clean.

Service- Great! Everyone, and I mean everyone, was super friendly. We choose the grocery shopping service because I was concerned about having enough to feed the kid. The Marketplace they have on site does have milk, cereal, pasta, and sandwiches, but it's really a "convenience" store. The grocery shopping service is expensive but I thought it was good for peace of mind so we didn't have to worry once there. Neither store has diapers so bring your own! I had to stock up, which required a 5 minute taxi ride to the nearest pharmacy (Medicine Shoppe).
The resort also offers an hourly ferry to downtown Charlotte Amalie. If you're here Fridays and Saturdays you'll meet Chris. Chris was awesome! SO informative. Knew some history of the island too, and recommended a great restaurant (Glady's Cafe).

Property- beautiful. Interestingly, the staff apologized that their beach wasn't what it used to be since 2017's hurricanes. Having nothing to compare too, we thought it was quite nice. It's small, but it is exclusive to Marriott guests. Plenty of deck chairs, umbrellas; there are lawn games out there (bags, bacce). There is a reef running the entire length of the beach so if you want to swim out, you have to go all the way over by the dock to wade in. But you can of course wade in the surf, which my toddler loved to do. There are also floating mats to lay on, which was fun.
The pool is also beautiful- plenty of deck chairs and umbrellas, a small slide, an infinity edge. There is a small hot tub tucked away too. The Activity Center is right next to the pool with other lawn games, and inside are board games and video games. The staff has random activities throughout the week and you can win prizes (like rum!).

Restaurant- there is just one bar/grille with pretty regular food, priced fairly enough for a resort. The food was tasty and hit the spot. They offer happy hour specials.
If you want to grill your own food you can- there are BBQs.

Other- Very easy to get a cab. Cab prices are per person ($8 per adult), so if you have a large group, you may consider renting something instead. It's five minutes to the shopping area where the cruise ships dock, 10 minutes to downtown Charlotte Amalie (but as previously noted, take the ferry- $7 per person each way), and about 20 or so to the airport.

Overall, this was a resort you don't really have to leave if you don't want to. Between the pool and beach, you've got ultimate relaxation. There is a catamaran boat with tours that picks up at the dock. Other tours pick up at the lobby. You can pre-buy groceries so you can cook on site. Spacious rooms mean you don't feel cooped up.

This property is a time share. I don't know if they're currently allowing regular hotel guests only because the neighboring Marriott hotel is still under reconstruction, or if they always allow regular hotel guests. Either way, it's definitely worth it; I especially felt it was worth it because having my young toddler there was easy.

Highly recommend!

Room tip: Everything faces the sea.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelp072917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for making Marriott Vacation Club your destination of choice! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the resort and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Marriott Frenchman's Cove was a wonderful resort thanks to our concierge. He called me twice prior to our arrival. He gave us helpful hints about car rental vs. taxi, restaurants, resort amentities, and what to expect after their 2017 hurricane. The other employees were just as gracious and helpful. Magnificent island. Support them as they rebuild. Quite welcoming!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for sharing your #vacationgreatness on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again at a Marriott Vacation Club resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews