We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Ok, I should mention that we are cat people. My daughter was absolutely delighted at the friendly, sleek-furred, well-socialized cats that came to the call of "kitty kitty kitty". One even "cat"apulted himself across a couple of low brick walls to run to us (apparently expecting food and petting, which we happily gave him!) Why am I focusing on this? Because this single feature made my child happy, and everyone knows that a happy child makes for a happy vacation!! The hotel rooms were beautiful! What a view to wake up to! Nicely appointed. The a/c was so quiet that I almost didn't even hear it, and it worked like a charm. Rooms were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful (thanks for the late checkout!). Pools looked clean and beautifully inviting, but we didn't have a chance to try them. 15 min walk downhill to incomparable Magen's bay. (GORGEOUS!!) but husband complained that it wasn't very safe without sidewalks and crazy cab drivers rounding the curves too fast. I'd probably cab it, even downhill, and we DID cab it uphill! But the absolute BEST part of our stay was "Simply Italian" the on site restaurant. OMG one of the best restaurants I have EVER eaten at!! (And I have eaten at some of the best restaurants in Chicago!)
Cafe was adequate with yummy bagels for the morning! Overall, just an amazing stay. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferretmommee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

The folks at Magen's Point make the modest accommodations more pleasant. They are super friendly and help with all that they can. They do have a great little bar and grill and a fabulous Italian restaurant. The activity Director, Meredith, was very helpful in many ways.
The highlight of our trip was the all-day snorkeling tour on the 65 ft catamaran that Meredith set us up on. The crew was great, the food was good, the Pain-killer drinks were our first introduction to the island rum "Cruzan".. and good. She also took a bunch of us up to the Blue Orchid Restaurant on our last night there and it was spectacular. Food was great and the view was breathtaking. Go for the triple chocolate bread pudding with the bushwhacker sauce... decadent.. best bread pudding ever. Had heard bad things about the room air conditioning units but we found them to be excellent, even got too cold a couple of nights. Bathroom was very small and room decor was somewhat dated. Good view of Megan's Bay from our room..with slight obstruction of poles. Don't go to Magen's Point if you really have to have modern rooms with all the conveniences. They are not quite there yet.. but looks like they are doing some updating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgtownian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at Magens Point 2 weeks, first time in st.Thomas, My experience was horrible, the electricity went out, we had no water could not use the toilet, The "general Store" because they know u have to take a taxi(20.00 to get to a store) their prices are 2-3 more than the stores in town. You have to walk to the beach or take a taxi( $ 8.00 Rt pp) charge for using the beach $4.00. there are two restaurants on the property way over priced. The Rooms are also Horrible,
Dirty. the worst vacation ever.

Room Tip: Listen to the ratings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happytoleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our first time of staying on St. Thomas, most of the time we stay on St. John, however staying at Magens Point made our vacation AWESOME! The staff was GREAT, you must meet Merdedith (event planner), she does an outstanding job. She told us the things we must do and see, she even hung out with us! If you're into fishing, she and her husband will set that up for ya. The entire staff was very friendly and our room was very nice. If you're into football, you must hang out at the restaurant/bar near pool, great food and the locals make you feel welcome.The other restaurant, has great stuffed shells/pasta. We would stay again!

Room Tip: ask for room to see bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Findmeonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were bummed when we arrived to Magens Point Resort. Maybe I just had a false sense of what island life was like! Our room and the resort were pretty run down. Cobb web with large spider in shower, light bulb out over the sink, stains on couch pillows, large stain on bed sheets, stains on couch, curtains broke, clear finish on table chipping off, toilet clogged every day, both hot tubs were more like "warm tubs," upper pool dirty and cloudy, two chairs on our porch were broken, and power went off multiple times (side note: power runs their water, as well)! So, that was disappointing to start the trip and then power was off from 11:00pm - to 4:00pm the next day! Bad way to start our honeymoon, for sure! Also, there are roosters/hens on the property that start making their noises around 4:00am and don't stop. It was absolutely ridiculous! Again, maybe this is just island life - definitely not my idea of a relaxing honeymoon! Meredith, the activities director, was a nice breath of fresh air. She made us feel a little more at ease on an island that is extremely difficult to get around and find things! If you like very nice and clean rooms, you won't want to go here! If you don't really care, go for it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

More then 24 family and friends stayed at Megan's Point Resort- last week. The staff was accommodating, pleasant and friendly. The pools were clean and planting's beautiful. We had a dinner/ BBQ at the lower pool for 60 people.. It was perfect! A special thank you to Lori, for getting the rooms together, especially in off season. The pool bar- THANK YOU- for feeding so many people all the time- day and night- the food was great and the service even BETTER. Also, a great big thank you to CUP & Cork, you made the morning's great. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We love this place. We go every two years or so and stay here. We walk to the beach and love the location. Humming birds are flitting around enjoying the flowers. We have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have observed tired travelers being demanding and rude who don't get the same over the top service we get, wonder why? The kitchen is small and we don't feel it meets our needs for cooking, so we don't. The restaurant seems to change every time we are there but is always good. This is a small friendly resort not like your grand resorts. We like this place and other fancier places and know what we are getting when we go. I look forward to our return visits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grandmabeulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magens Bay
15.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
3.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
3.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas

Address: 6200 Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas (Formerly Magens Point Resort)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range: £152 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two Jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice. Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing