We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Location For Two”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to Lion's Gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Lion's Gate
This is what you wake up to Active view of Red Hook Harbor from the porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Entrance to Lion's Gate
This is what you wake up to
Active view of Red Hook Harbor from the porch
view of St. John
Queen size bed with Italian lights
Full eat in Kitchen, microwave on granite counter top
Stone shower in the bathroom.
Outside dining. The breeze will keep you cool here.
Day bed for a good nap
Chaise lounge in a quiet corner on the property
Breakfast or cocktails
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
East End, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ideal Location For Two”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very beautiful! Close to all the action but secluded enough to enjoy the island. This is the perfect place to enjoy the view and easily access all of the things to do

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
I'm so glad they enjoyed my apartment. They were very busy and I hope they come back so I can get to know them a bit more.

Perfect guests, they took advantage of all St. Thomas has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recruiter...
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lions Gate is minutes from the town of Red Hook, at the top of a steep hill. We stayed in the studio, the best part is the wrap around veranda with gorgeous views of the harbor, St. John's and Tortola. The studio has a full and well appointed kitchen. The bathroom has a large walk in shower. The bedroom is rather small and there is not a sitting area, but we were mostly outside, no mosquitoes up that high. The TV and internet did not seem to be working, but we had excellent cell phone signal. Maxine was very pleasant and helpful. Beach chairs and umbrellas and a cooler are provided so you can go beach hopping, all beaches on Saint Thomas are open to everyone. You really need a car to enjoy this location. The road to the house is steep and narrow. If are in very good shape you can walk up the hill, but I don't think it is safe, especially at night. There is barley room for two cars to pass. Red Hook has several open air bars and the music and noise carries right up the hill at night. Also the ferry horn is quite loud. We needed to close the windows and use the AC to be able to sleep - and we are not light sleepers. But it is fun to go into Red Hook in the evening , we liked Duffy's and XO.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: The steep hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angtravel...
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views and wonderful location!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Cottage and loved every minute of it, from the first morning with the beautiful view to the very last minute. Max and Chris were wonderful, ensuring we had everything we needed and giving us recommendations for beaches and dining. We were very comfortable in the cottage and will be back with teenage kids and rent both places...it was that great!

We highly recommend a day sailing with Max during your stay...wonderful time!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Max and Chris's hospitality and the view.
Liked least: I really like big comfy bedding, but truly did not need it here.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
We loved having you. Can't wait to meet the rest of the family. Don't wait to long as it's so much fun having you around.

All the best to you both Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbug...
Christiansted, St. Croix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great comfortable studio”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We rented the studio which was absolutely delightful. Outstanding views with several outdoor places for comfortable relaxing to enjoy the views and east breezes. Inside is well appointed, the kitchen is big, the decor perfect and we really appreciated the big open shower. The location is the easy gateway to St. John and the rest of the islands, restaurants and shops are also abundant right there at Red Hook. Our hostess Max was wonderful, ask her about day sailing on her sailboat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, covered patios, bathroom, kitchen, location in general
Liked least: hard to say, maybe the sounds from the activity at Red Hook below.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JS474
North Royalton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extremely Nice People!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Max and Chris are down to earth "good soul" people who were extremely accommodating. The apartment is perfect for two people. It's simple but gives you everything you need in location and amenities. Captain Max also does an excellent job of taking you out on her sail boat for snorkeling at a small extra costs which I would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fig_mar
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Lion's Gate for 3 nights. The apartment was just what we needed while waiting for our villa rental on St John. It is located on the hill overlooking the ferry terminal providing a panoramic view of the bay and neighboring islands. The apartment is clean and well stocked with everything you need in the kitchen.
I really enjoyed having my morning coffee sitting on the front porch and watching the sun appear over St John. Just a short but steep walk down the hill are a number of very good places to eat from Duffy's Love Shack to "XO".
Lion's Gate is just a short ride to the Food Center where we stocked up supplies for our sort stay at Lion's Gate and our villa on St John. (We rented a Jeep from Discount Car Rental and took it to St John. BTW, if you plan to take a rental to St John, verify that the rental company will allow it. Most won't allow the car to leave St Thomas.)
The owners of Lion's Gate live on the second floor of the building but they gave us 100% privacy during our stay. When asked they will provide very good help in locating restaurants, stores, and beaches. Maxine is also an excellent sailboat captain and does day sail trips.
My wife and I recommend Lion's Gate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and porch
Liked least: Steep hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renasabre
Naples Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lions Gate has it ALL!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was my 2nd time at Lions Gate. I had forgotten just how beautiful and special this property is. The room was spotless and soooooo comfortable. I went sailing with Captain Max and that was fabulous, not only is she an incredible host but also a terrific captain too. Her boat Lou was so much fun! They are building a cottage on their property that is going to be spectacular. I can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The commodious accommodations.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
Yes, we are building another guest cottage, a one bedroom, with a view that will make you want to wake up in the morning just to see the sunrise.

Target for bookings is March 2013. Come on down and be our first guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing