We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Elysian rooms were very spacious, clean and well stocked. We had a murphy bed and it was quite comfortable. We were also suprised about the $110.00 energy fee that seemed a little excessive.. The beach was beautiful and you could sit outside at both resturants and watch the sun set. One resturant was low key with snacks and sandwiches the other resturant was more upscale. The food was decent. The staff at the resturants were very nice an always pleasant especially Buck"Mr. Big Life" Who went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We did rent a car so we were able to get around easily but without one it would be difficult. The staff at the activities desk were very helpful and recommended a wonderful sailboat /snorkel tripwith a 20 dollar discount if you were staying at the resort. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and really enjoyed the resort. We had a large studio room with Murphy bed that was far more comfortable than we had expected. We also had a small view of Cowpet Bay from our balcony. Our room was clean, the kitchen and appliances looked new, and the air conditioning worked great. The bar on the property, Sangria's, had decent food and friendly staff. The restaurant on the property, Caribbean Fish Market, was one of the best dinners we had on the whole trip. The resort also has a nice beach and a big pool and hot tub. For us, one of the best parts of the Elysian was it's location - it's very short drive to Red Hook, with its restaurants and bars. Red Hook is also where you can catch the passenger and car ferries to the other islands, which made our day trips very convenient, especially since we rented a car. Overall, we'd go back to the Elysian again and would have no hesitation recommending to someone planning a trip to St. Thomas.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IanLucas927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Elysian Beach Resort [part of Wyndham Timeshare] is located right on the beach. With easy beach access the pool seems to be unnecessary. There are no real activities at the resort. You must use a taxi or rent a car to do any shopping or sightseeing. Literature indicates that there is Internet access but we could not connect the entire time we were there. You really need to be sure to bring insect repellent because there are not screens on the doors to the lovely balconies and the mosquitos are hyngry! You should remember that all flld needs to shipped to the island so food costs are 2 time what you expect.

Room Tip: The best views are in A, B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oxyx1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

When we first arrived we didn't realize that there was a fee we had to pay for something with energy so that caught us off guard a bit. But after arriving to where are room was located I have to say I was impressed with the room. Looked a little run down, but I noticed that most of the places on the island looked that way but the resort was still kept in good shape! The view from where our room was was great! Never was able to see the sunset or rise but had a great view out to the ocean and to see an island way off in the distance. The pool... LOVED IT! Only thing I had to get use to was the iguanas... they were everywhere but they never got in the pool so I felt safe in there. LOL! They are friendly if you keep your distance. I did see another guest try to pet them and they just ran away but I wouldn't be that gutsy with a wild animal. The beach was alright. Wasn't a very big beach and kind of a small area to swim. The view wasn't that great from sitting on the beach because you had a bunch of boats to look at. We ate at the Sangria's Beachside Bistro and it was the best place there! We ate there I think 5 times and we had the same waitress except for one time. God I wish I could remember her name but she was part of the reason we would always go back. She knew our drinks after visit two and she made you feel very welcome. The only reason I gave this place a 3 is because all other service like from the front desk, getting more towels or trading in beach towels, they always made it seem like we were bothering them. And it would take forever for them to even bring it up to you. We also had an early flight to leave and I noticed that the desk was only open at a certain time (I thought it was 24hrs like most hotels and resorts) but I guess it wasn't. You had to return your beach towels and if not then you would be charged for them. Also for the energy fee we wanted to pay another way and couldn't pay until check out. When the woman arrived and the taxi to get us to the airport through traffic, lets just say we barely caught our plane. So that is a huge inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We loved staying here. The room was pleasant and relatively spacious, comfortable bed, decently equipped kitchen with microwave and adequately sized fridge, dishes etc. The AC was whisper quiet and our bathroom didnt have slats to the outside, so we didnt have a major mosquito problem like some other reviewers. However, our friend had an old, noisier AC unit in her room and the aforesaid slats. The walk down to the beach is short but very steep - totally fine if you're young and healthy (I'm youngish and lazy and it was fine). The beach is lovely and uncrowded, which we appreciated even more when we saw the mobs at Magens Bay and Coki Beach. Location is really good and close to the ferry to St. John from Red Hook as well as to a decent supermarket, Food Center. (It's not close to Charlotte Amalie, but we didn't feel the need to go there more than once). We also liked the pool (also not crowded at all) and the hot tub (more crowded). The two restaurants provide two differently priced good options. Note that at the casual one -Sangria - the kitchen closes at 9. Service was pleasant and efficient. We arrived early and they graciously gave us our room right away, and response to requests - e.g. for fresh towels - received a speedy response. Renting a car was pretty necessary, but it seems that although you can mange with taxis, having a car is way easier anywhere on St. Thomas / St. John. Note: signage on the island is abysmal and we got lost using a GPS, so get directions and follow them. There were some additional costs - the daily power cost, the gym (which closed early and wasn't great at all for something like $12 per day), and cleaning the room is extra (although clean towels and linens are not) but in all it was a really great place to stay and a good deal.

Room Tip: If you don't want a bit if a short-but-steep climb back from the beach, try for a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariella111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I visited here back in 2009 and the rooms are much better! We had an upgraded bed and kitchen area and nice bathroom. The beach is deinfitly ok to lounge out for a day but I would highly recommend visiting the nearby beaches of Sapphire Beach and Lindquist beach. Only about 3 or 4 miles away...so beautiful!!! You can rent snorkel equipment here, eat lunch, rent chairs and enjoy the most beautiful view I have ever seen. We went here twice. The restaurants on the property are great, but expensive. There is a grocery store down the road to stock up on mixers and rum and chips and stuff for the room. We rented a car, but wanted to be able to have fun a few nights so we easily got taxis into red hook from the hotel no problem. There is no cleaning service here which was fine for us as we expected it. I was charged $132 for the daily electric charge for 6 days which I also expected. We were in building Z this time and it was a bit of a walk, but not terrible. Front desk ladies were very nice and helpful, but difference from the crabby women last time! We will definitly be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We have owned a time share at Elysian for over 10 years, and while we enjoy the beautiful, tree lined beach, lovely Cowpet Bay and the magnificently manicured gardens, the resort is tired looking, not shiny clean and you never know what will happen if you ask for something: sometimes a promise which goes unfulfilled, but often, a surprisingly quick resolution. The new restaurants on the property are excellent. We ate at the Caribbean Fish Market twice, and had "to-go" food from Sangria's twice ... the food was very, very good and the service at Caribbean Fish Market was amazing. Our waiter, "Mr. Big Life," is a great guy, an entertaining and efficient server. We will make it a point to sit in his section when we return.
You have to drive (on the left) or cab almost anywhere. There are no sidewalks and walking on the roads is extremely hazardous. You can buy almost nothing at the resort, so you need to visit the Food Center to stock up on cooking ingredients, snacks or beverages. The Marina Market in nearby Red Hook, which used to be excellent is now in a state of disrepair and looks awful, There is nothing on the shelves .... very sad.
We always have a nice time at Elysian but wish it were a bit cleaner, and that the staff were more accommodating.

Room Tip: Access to rooms requires lots of mountain climbing and many steps. Anyone who has difficulty walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
1.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
8.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
7.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £198 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing