We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beach in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely beach in Paradise”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 10 days at the Elysian. We were very happy with our stay. The grounds were well maintained, the front desk staff always friendly (thanks Tiffany for all your help), the beach had a friendly and safe atmosphere, the beach hut staff helpful, and the housekeeping staff did a refresh mid stay for us. We decided to use taxis for our stay - no problems. Joseph drove us most of the time - quite a fine gentleman. The resort location (close to Red Hook) was very convenient to the St John ferry and restaurants. On Wed and Sat evenings, the resort provides a complementary shuttle over to Food Center so we could stock up. The snorkeling was fairly good here - visibility was not great regardless of where we went. We even got to see the St Thomas Yacht Club's Regatta - they invited resort guests over to join in the fun.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank wkwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    256
    96
    54
    41
See reviews for
137
279
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our first time staying at the Elysian and we definetely plan to return. The grounds are beautifully maintained - room was nice and spacious, pretty much updated. The Sangria's restaurant was exceptionally good and reasonable, great to have an on site restaurant/bar. We did not eat at the Carribean Fish Market so I cant say how it is. There was an issue with our room not having a safe, but after bringing it to their attention maintenance came over and installed one in about 15 minutes. this location was the best, close to Red Hook and Sapphire where you catch the New Horizons dinner cruise which I would highly recommend! Capt. Dan and his crew were awesome! We also did a day sail/snorkel package on the Nightwind Charter that was just as awesome! Having a pool bar was very nice also and Jill the bartender ROCKS!!!
Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We totally enjoyed our week . the Thia Masuse is amazing. resatruants are good. very pictures.
It's a climb up and down with asthma a bit of a challenge, you can get a shuttle if you are willing to wait. unit has no stove top or oven.
great staff all over except front desk, the seemed frustrated with issues such as cold pool to hot or to cold hot tub. the Iguanas were a little intimidating because the pooped all over and no one cleaned it UP the pool bar staff was the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As Wyndham members, this was our 4th year in St Thomas, having spent the first 3 years at Wyndham's Bluebeard's Beach Club. I was hesitant this year about Elysian because we had grown accustomed to Bluebeard's, even though it's really only a 3 star resort, in my opinion. But, by the end of the week, we were happy we had chosen Elysian. The beach front, ocean swimming, pool and grounds are all exceptional. Also, we had lunch at the pool bar 3 days and the one bartender did a great job keeping up with the demand. It's also very advantageous to have 2 good restaurants on-site, whereas Bluebeard's has none. Elysian's proximity to Food Center for groceries and Red Hook for other restaurants and ferry connections is ideal. In previous years, we rented a car due to Bluebeard not having a restaurant on site and nothing within walking distance. If we go to Elysian again, we will forego the car and use taxi's because there are more options close by that don't cost a big cab fare. My biggest disappointment in Elysian was our room and the lack of influence Wyndham owners appear to have. Although our king studio was well-appointed and the bed extremely comfortable, I had called a few days early to request a room near the pool or with a view, and we got neither. The pool walk was not that bad, but the view was worthless. I think it's one of just a few rooms that do not offer a spectacular view. We were in 208, bldg L. Our best meals were at XO Bistro in Red Hook (shares the parking lot with Duffy's Love Shack) and the St Thomas Yacht Club, about 1/2 mile from the Elysian. They serve dinner Tuesday and Friday, usually for members only, but they allowed us to eat there, and it was great food and atmosphere. They also serve lunch. The yacht club shares the beach at Cowpet Bay with the Elysian and Cowpet East and West Condos. People from the Elysian also walked there, cutting through Cowpet Bay Condos.

Room Tip: I have no tips because my request was ignored. Don't stay in Bldg L, room 208 because the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CarolB6159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a poor hotel. They do not clean the room, replace sheets or towels for you during your stay unless you're there over a week or you pay extra. Ok, that's understandable. However, when I got there my room was not clean when I arrived. There was trash strewn everywhere. The bed was a mess. I slept in used sheets and I don't know what the prior guests had done. It was a pigsty. When I told the front desk about this, the woman was very apologetic and assured me they'd have it cleaned, but they never did.

Additionally, the room's safe had a hole drilled through it right where the latch should be.

There are plenty of other good hotels on this island. You can find a better one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Peter,

We apologize that you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with unit cleanliness issues. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing kitchen and laundry accommodations; however you should not have been required to clean your unit upon check-in. We realize you pay good money to be accommodated in a satisfactory unit and this did not occur. We have notified our housekeeping staff of these issues to ensure this type of situation does not occur in the future. Thank you for notifying us about this issue so we can continue improving the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a wonderful time a Elysian Beach resort, the beach was wonderful, snorkeling fright from the beach, had a very nice large pool. Great views. We loved the location and how close it was to Red Hook. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper level, you do hear a lot of noise from the rooms above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurel-Springs-Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Elysian in February. We had a 2 bedroom condo, with a beach view. The condo was clean, and fairly up to date. We ate most of our meals on the patio. The beach was clean and quiet, free from hucksters trying to sell you something you didn't want. Plenty of shade when needed, nice swimming area, and lounge chairs.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. The grounds of the resort were really clean and pretty.
You can book this resort conventionally through Orbitz et al, or find a privately owned condo via VRBO, which is what we did. We were close to the ferry to St John's, and used our rental car on both islands, which saved us some money, and was very convenient. You need to check with the rental car company to ensure they allow taking the rental on the ferry.
We also shopped at Cost U Less for cheaper groceries and liquor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Property: Elysian Beach Resort
Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing