We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winding Down on St. Thomas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winding Down on St. Thomas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Clean and well laid out rooms, beautiful manicured landscapes, a nice pool with a great tiki bar with Louisville Dave serving the perfect beach cocktails. We enjoyed the beautiful beach and swam in the Caribbean! The views from the rooms varied from the pool and landscaped grounds or the bay and boats on moorings. With a nice dinner restaurant and a beachside restaurant you have the opportunity to select your own preferred dining style. A short cab ride to Red Hook to additional restaurants, shopping and bars. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Based on the level of the room there may be several steps to get around and the views from the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SasSeaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you, SasSeaKT for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed vacation with us. Now you can tell all your friends you swam in the Caribbean! We hope to see you soon. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.


Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    249
    95
    52
    41
See reviews for
134
273
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We are Wyndham members and we stayed at the Elysian. Great location near Red Hook on the island, best hotel based taxi driver, best view from room. They have family activities and two restaurants at resort which was very nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lisab1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you, lisab1064 for the kind words. This lets our staff know that they are doing a great job. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that our Resort met your expectations and you enjoyed our restaurants on property. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is the place to stay. Great staff, food and places to swim. The staff is amazing. Very friendly.The only problem is, they advertise they have a workout room and they do not. I would love to back. No questions asked. I would be there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I spent at week at the Elysian in early May, 2014. We were in building W on the lowest floor but had a small view of the water and boats. We had a great time and had a junior suite with a nice size balcony with 2 chairs and a table to eat at and a lounge chair and small table. The room had two double beds, a medium size refrigerator, microwave/convect wall oven, sink, coffee, pot, toaster and a blender (all new), dishes, silverware, knives etc. It would have been nice to have a cooktop but we made do. The bathroom was very large with a long vanity with one sink and drawers for storage and a nice walk-in shower. They supplied shampoo, conditioner and soaps. They changed out the towels and bed linens on one bed (the other one had a few things on it and they probably don't want to touch your stuff so they did not change them). (It would be nice if they would leave a note for you to call if you wanted them to come back when you were there to change the other bed). The restaurants were very good especially Sangria's. Great and reasonably priced food and great bartender and waitresses. Pool bar was fun and Dave makes awesome drinks. The beach was good for relaxing but not great distance to walk and had some debris on it. It would be nice to have that raked off each day. One big disappointment was that they advertised they have a gym. The gym has been dismantled. Not sure if they are going to replace it or not but we love to work out when we go on vacation. You could walk around the Ritz Carlton which is right next door. Love the smaller size of the resort and makes it easy to meet new people. They provide a van ride to the food mart on Saturday and Wed. at 5:00 which is free but you should tip Joseph who is very sweet and a great, safe driver. Overall, we would probably go back but definitely if they bring the gym back.

Room Tip: Make a request for a room with a view of the water when you book your room if that is important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BonnieWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you, Bonnie White for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay especially our staff at Sangria's Restaurant. I apologize for the miscommunication about our fitness center. Hopefully, by the time you return, the gym should be up and running. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.



Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family of about 12 people or so rented out twi large condos through owners of the condos at Elysian Beach Resort, Cowpet Bay. We had a good time there overall being this was out first time on the U.S. Virgin Islands. I will say the condos we rented were in B building and N building. B building had great views of the pool and also the beach/water. N building has a view of the tennis court. Our condo was updated and fairly large. I recommend you renting through someone that owns their condo at Elysian as it sounds like they are a bit larger.

I will say the Pool area and the bar area near the pool is very nice. The kids had a great time in the pool and hot tub was just perfect. You will see Iguanas everywhere and it makes for a fun environment. The grounds were kept up nicely, although, you do have to walk quite a bit of stairs to get to your condo no matter where you are located. The two restaurants available at Elysian are pretty good. The Mahi Mahi and oahu fish dishes at the Caribbean restaurant are fantastic.

The food overall on the island isn't that great and EXTREMELY overpriced. So, be prepared to spend way more than usual for simple dishes. The beach is okay at Elysian. If you have access or time to go see the beaches on the island such as Magen's Beach or go over to St. John for Trunk Bay beach, i highly suggest it. Once you spend time on those beaches you won't want to go anywhere else. You can swim in the ocean at Cowpet bay, but i was disappointed. There are boats everywhere and you don't have much room to swim. There are some rocky areas as well and seaweed floating everywhere when you swim. I suggest that if you want a walk out beach that is gorgeous from where you are staying, do not stay here. Sapphire beach and hotel is much prettier or sugar bay resort had a very nice beach as well.

Our internet and phone lines worked just fine. You are located extremely close to the ferries and Redhook town, which is a great area to get away and have access to. There is no workout facility, which was a bummer. It is HOT, so prepare yourself. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I took my mother to St. Thomas for a mini vacation and we stayed at the elysian we were in building y and we were on the 3rd floor so the view was not the greatest saw more of the palm tree tops than the beach but you could see the boats and the sea very clearly. the staff is wonderful we arrived on a Saturday and just as the free bus to the local supermarket was talking off so they let us keep our stuff at the front desk and take the van to the market to get our shopping done no matter how long you are going to stay on the island I suggest you do some shopping at a local supermarket and eat out only once a day it will help keep the cost down. the pool, waterfall and sauna are really nice and kept clean. We had a great time here it was our first visit but it will not be the last. The only downfall was the fact that the resort is hilling and my mother is a bit elderly and found it hard to make the climb everyday so I was always on the lookout for the golf carts and staff vehicles to give us a lift to the beach and pool which more than not they were available and always willing to give us a ride. We stayed here for 4 days and we used taxi instead of renting a car and we found it worked out well for us this way the taxi is regulated and we took a taxi at least once each day but it still came out cheaper than renting a car but there was just the 2 of us.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to pool and beach are better due to hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

my daughter and I had the opportunity to have dinner at Sangria's on April 17 after a day on their beach. I can't say enough about the service Karen provided ... she was a true pro. I would also say that dinner was one of the best values on the island. My daughter had a big salad with Mahi tuna and I had the "half pound" bacon BBQ burger ... yes I said half pound. I almost hesitate reviewing this resort because I'd like to keep it the "best kept secret". But I know that wouldn't be appropriate so this resort gets my "highest excellent" rating and I would sincerely suggest you book your next vacation there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCasey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
5.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Property: Elysian Beach Resort
Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing