We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Point Pleasant Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had the good fortune of staying at The Point Pleasant Resort in May of 2014. The Staff was the most accommodating and truly cared about our visit. The room we had was perfect, clean, spacious, and had the most spectacular views of St Thomas and the BVI's. The location of the resort is perfect! It is away from the busy town of Charlotte Amalie and is a 5 minute drive from Red Hook, which was our favorite spot to Dine and enjoy the evenings. We are looking for the next chance to get back to Point Pleasant, Thanks for making our vacation the best one yet!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you kindly for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your vacation at Point Pleasant Resort! We await your return visit and hope it's even better than the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    153
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
204
352
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We loved our stay there. It started out kind of bumpy because of a switchover from old to new management and they were not communicating. But for the lack of a key and offsite registration at first, our time there turned out to be perfect! We loved Aaron in the reception area. His positive and "Can Do" attitude really set the tone for our stay. The ladies behind the desk knew us by name and were there to help on any little detail. Willie and Charlie drove the shuttle for us to traverse this very hilly property and even took us to a couple of beaches and into Red Hook several times. I think a few dollars is appropriate for offsite rides. Some riders didn't "get" that. I now see, the property is going to charge a "resort fee." I do not think that was in effect in May when we were there.

The units are unbelievable. The view is 180 degrees from a mostly a wrap-around balcony. Most rooms have this asset. We stayed in B18. The furnishings were OK, a little worn. I understand the new management company is requiring certain new, higher standards.

There is a waterside restaurant on site. The food was great, and they run a dollar-off "happy hour" daily.

Coki Beach is a 10-15 min. walk (easy) or you can use a shuttle. Coki is a locals beach but can become quite crowded on cruise ship days. You can see soooo many fish there. The beach on property is quite small. Soon there will be another, larger resort on the beach between PP and Coki. It has been closed down for years but is currently under renovation and will house a Margaritaville restaurant/bar.

We have been to Point Pleasant 3 times and this was our most enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are above the reception area, it is a really long walk down to the restaurant and water; but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Point Pleasant Resort, and we're glad you had your most enjoyable visit yet. We appreciate your kind words regarding the Akers Ellis Resort Management staff. We look forward to your next visit and hope it exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My partner and I just returned from Point Pleasant. We had a great time. The views from the villas are truly spectacular. It was difficult to leave our balcony many mornings. Also, the location is ideal. The small town of Red Hook is definitely the place to be at night in St. Thomas is only a few miles from the resort. Charlie and Willie the two shuttle drivers were absolutely charming. The staff in the lobby became our best friends for a week. Aaron was a huge help and a lot of fun. Jeff and Vincia treated us like long lost brothers.

We met a few other people staying at the resort. One group was not renting a villa through the resort. It seemed that they had some issues but the people at the resort came to their rescue.

My partner just kept saying "The Point is COOL!" It really is. Cool resort with a cool staff. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the Akers Ellis Resort Management staff. We're thrilled you had a great time at Point Pleasant Resort and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked a week for my honeymoon May 26-June 1 in B21. The booking was through Bookit.com and the ERM Management Company. After seeing some of the reviews I was worried, however there was no reason to be I was impressed. Jennifer sent a shuttle to pick us up at the airport to carry us to check in. From check in we were shuttled again to the property at Point Pleasant. The room was amazing with a beautiful view of the water. Throughout our time there we would constantly shuttle between Point Pleasant and Sapphire Beach. The staff was great, and Tyler especially stood out in his helpfulness. The front desk at Sapphire Beach was extremely wonderful to work with, and kept us stocked with towels and snorkeling gear. Housekeeping kept our room spotless, and overall the experience was great with the ERM Management Company. I would recommend them to anyone. At Point Pleasant we also had interactions with the Akers Management Group and they were just as helpful and pleasant. Willie was especially a gem and taxied me to Red Hook for an ATM run free of charge, and gave my wife and a valuable tip in regards to shopping the downtown market in Charlotte Amalie. Thanks to teamwork across the board with both management companies are honeymoon was one to remember for a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We're so glad you had a wonderful honeymoon at Point Pleasant Resort! We wish you many happy years together and hope you choose to return for an anniversary trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,104 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Point Pleasant a few times and what we enjoyed the most was the magnificent ocean view from the room and porch. The rooms vary because they are owned by individuals who decorate them as they like. The rooms have a refrigerator, stove, kitchen table, sitting area and a bedroom. The bathroom is small but functional. There is an outdoor pool which is very basic. We prefer the beaches so did not use it. They have 2 restaurants, one that is very casual and inexpensive and the other is more upscale. Both serve very good food.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your return trip to Point Pleasant Resort. Just to clarify, only one restaurant is open at this time. The second restaurant has been undergoing renovations for several months. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Boston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Point Pleasant 25 years ago and came back for our 25th anniversary.
First, as someone else said, make sure you book through Akers Ellis, the current management. We booked several months ahead through Exclusive Resorts and they still manage the unit we stayed in so we had to travel to another resort to check in and our room had several things broken and not working (through no fault of the current management).
Luckily that was our only dealing with the previous management. Akers Ellis Resort Management is awesome and Point Pleasant is still beautiful. We loved how private and peaceful it is. The staff is great. Aaron and the ladies at the front desk were always ready to help in any way they can. Willie and Charlie were always happy to shuttle us anywhere we needed to go (within reason that is). Be prepared to walk up and down hills if you want. But a call to the front desk will bring a shuttle right to your room.
The only downside is that the resort next door is sometimes loud. We could hear someone talking through a bullhorn during the day and on Thursday night is their "jamboree" so we listened to the band playing music that is really not our style. They did stop by 10:00 though.
All in all it was a wonderful way to spend our 25th anniversary. We'll be back a lot sooner than 25 years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Happy 25th Anniversary! Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding Point Pleasant Resort and Akers Ellis Resort Management. We're so glad we could help make your special anniversary an enjoyable one. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardy, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've stayed at Point Pleasant so many times over the past 10 years. It's always my favorite place. However, my last stay was even better. It seems that someone new has taken over the front desk and rental reservations. WOW! They were SOOO good. I've never had more friendly service there! I always try to stay in unit C-6...it's my favorite but everyone's taste is different. The views are awesome and the amenities are getting better (it seems the new management company is starting lots of new programs...I can't wait to go back again...which is in just a few weeks...hooray!!).

Room Tip: C-6 has a great view, it overlooks the lower pool and is only 3 steps up from the parking lot...so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottS_540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie H, Public Relations Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words for Akers Ellis Resort Management. We're so glad you enjoyed your return trip to Point Pleasant Resort, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
2.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,428 reviews
6.5 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Property: Point Pleasant Resort
Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay, 00802-1325, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Point Pleasant Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. The villas are independently owned but attractively designed. With several room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation and water sports plus three swimming pools, including the very private resort middle terrace pool which has breathtaking views. We also have our own small, private and secluded beach located at the end of a short nature trail. Our activity staff also conducts weekly beach trips to Magens Bay by shuttle and to Jost Van Dyke by boat. The resort is also home to a spa and a waterfront bar and restaurant. The resort makes it easy to forgo the rental car expense. Guests are provided complimentary transportation around the resort and throughout the east end of St. Thomas. Grocery delivery is available. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Just one mile away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. One mile in the other direction is beautiful and peaceful Lindquist Beach. Magens Bay and Little Magens Bay beaches are located just 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing