We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luck of the Draw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My family had 2 units next door to each other in the C building Christmas week. It really is the luck of the draw with units. One of our units was AWFUL, and one was great. The bad unit had no A/C in the downstairs at all and the shower upstairs wouldn't even turn on. The downstairs shower ran hot and cold so often it was challenging to say the least. That unit had rundown furniture and no outdoor furniture on either balcony.
The other unit was really nice, although the A/C was broken upstairs the first day we were there. Maintenance fixed both A/C units the 2nd day we were there. They never even bothered to try and fix the shower/bath situation.
The grounds are really pretty and the beach area is nice. But be warned, currently there are literally NO amenities to speak of there. No restaurant (there is a hut to get burgers and drinks, etc.), no pool bar (this area is really run down). We made at least 4 trips to the Food Center while we were there.
Out of the 4 places I have stayed on St. Thomas, this was definitely the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlabamaRainbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

As is mentioned in other reviews, each condo is owned by different people, and some are owned by the resort itself. My party rented 3 different condos, and we all were pleased with our units. E106 (ours), A102 and D104. You can tell that some of the units are in need of repair from the outside. As you look up at the decks you can see many are well maintained and have been kept up with wood treatments and paint or stain, while others look like they need work.

Some good news, it seems that the resort owners have started to put money back into the buildings themselves. There were workers there doing paint and stucco on the buildings while we were there which is a good sign.

General info about the location and amenities: The pool and pool area are nice, but the hut near the pool is closed and needs a lot of attention. Someone told us that the previous resort owner still owned this and isn't interested in putting any money into it.

The beach was raked and combed each morning when we were there (Dec 2012), and there was always security walking around the beach area. The dive shop has some drinks (soft drinks mostly) but the banana cabana is between A and B buildings and has wait staff walking the beach and will serve various beach fare like burgers, konch, and appetizers. We ordered several lunches with them and they were all good.

Also the restaurant at Sapphire cove sometimes had people on the beach taking orders too and they delivered it to you at the beach. I think there were a few other places farther down the beach that were doing food/drinks also, so the beach is well served for this.

The beach itself was very nice for swimming (which we didn't do much) and snorkling, which we did a lot of! Depending on the day, winds, and tide level, there are some excellent spots with lots of things to see. I saw a turtle 20 yards from shore on my way in, eating the grass in the shallow water. I saw a good size ray in the area straight out from the E building, as well as various fish and coral. The elk horn coral out from the E building is quite spectacular. the difference in the scenery between the 2 beaches provides a nice variety.

There is a difference in staying on one side of the resort vs. the other. F building overlooks the harbor, and I wouldn't recommend it unless you are used to the boat noise. We stayed in the E building and could still hear it somewhat, but not enough to really bother us. The beach in front of E is much more quiet so its a good place if you prefer a bit more seclusion. However, E is a LONG walk from the main beach, pool, food, etc. The A building is right by the Dive shop, and the main beach, so its a really short walk to those things, but it also makes it the busiest. If we went back I would probably look for something in B or C to be a bit more central.

The resort staff was varied in their helpfulness/friendliness. At the main desk, sometimes the person was very friendly, other times, not so much. The times I did ask about some things, they didn't seem real knowledgeable, but I never tried the concierge desk (not even sure if it was open since it seemed like it was "under construction".

Also, when you rent, be sure you are clear on what services you're getting with your unit, as this varies depending on if they are paying the resort for them or not. For example, beach chairs, which you may or may not think is important, but carrying 1-2 chairs from your condo to the main beach area is not a lot of fun if you're trying to carry anything else like coolers or snorkel gear. Its nice to be able to go up to the dive shop, give them your room number and have them bring chairs to where ever you're sitting. Also only one of the units we rented had a phone. Didn't think about it until after we got there, but cell service is expensive depending on your carrier, and having a local phone for things like restaurant reservations, boat trips, etc. is handy.

One other snorkeling tip. Since we were there in December, the wind was from the North, making some pretty good waves several of the days we were there. On the worse days we went other places to snorkel. We found Secret Beach (on the south side, just outside of Red Hook) which provided some of the best snorkeling we've ever had. It was calm, not crowded and provided many sea creatures we had not seen before. We even saw a turtle in the same place 2 days in a row. Lobsters under the dock, a hermit crab, angel fish (tiny, but they were there), and some people we met in the water said they saw an eel.

Overall it was a good place to stay but if we went back, we'd probably find someplace on St. John's or maybe stay at Secret Harbor simply because the snorkeling is better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachVsActivites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We've stayed twice at the Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina (not to be confused with the Sapphire Village on the hill behind the marina and Crystal Cove at the north end of the bay). Beautiful beach and exquisite water along with gorgeous island views. We've stayed in buildings A and D, A is closest to the full-service dive center, while D is near the freshwater pool in a quieter spot.

The SBRM is a condo resort rather than a full-service resort and you can rent through the resort itself or directly through the condo owners. Renting through the owner either through VRBO or another source is very much preferred as you then know the condition of the condo and what is included. If you rent through the resort you don't know what condition your condo is in and you may not have an enjoyable stay. That is a very important part of renting at condo resorts, the vast majority of negative reviews are from folks who did not know what their condo looked like until they arrived. Many condo units have been remodeled recently but some have not been remodeled in 20 years so there can be a drastic difference.

The restaurant and pool bar have been closed for some time due to conflicts between the condo association (owners) and the resort management company. A new management company has come into the mix but there are still some major issues that need to be resolved before any progress can be made. But it's a gorgeous spot to stay with a marina right there and close to great restaurants and bars in Red Hook as well as the ferry to St John and the BVI. Definitely recommend spending time at Sapphire, whether at the SBRM or Sapphire Village on the hill behind the marina.

Room Tip: Book directly through a condo owner via VRBO so you know exactly what condition the condo is in, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluewater_464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Since 2011, we have vacationed at Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina on Sapphire Beach in St. Thomas, V.I. If you enjoy a secluded beach with white sand, swimming in warm water, mountaintop and turquoise water views over your morning coffee, this is your place. We have stayed in Buildings A302 and D104. Both property owners will help make your stay perfect. Condo A302 is 2 floors and perfect for any family. Condo D104 is a studio. It sleeps two people maybe with one small child. Condo D104 has a caretaker, Kathleen, who prepares the condo for you and visits to see if you have everything you need. Kathleen is happy to be your point person for those renting units that she cares for.

This is not a hotel with a concierge available to serve you. You are self-sufficient. We pack a cooler to bring with frozen food to have for our dinners. Upon arriving, we go to the Cost-U-Less store for other supplies. This resort has a small stand on the beach for hamburgers and frozen drinks, but it can get expensive. If you don’t rent a car, you can walk to Red Hook or take a taxi from the resort. Red Hook is close by with restaurants, shopping and excursions to other islands.

We didn’t have any internet service and think that it may have been down the week we stayed. The television has cable. Security is visible making this resort very safe.

We visited other beaches, but Sapphire Beach and Resort and Marina has everything required for that Caribbean-escape-the-cold winter vacation. The reason many people don't write reviews on this location is that we love it and don't want the secret to get out. We may have to book almost one year in advance to reserve our week as more people discover this piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Be cautious about the property owner you rent from. These owners really care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Misseydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I know this may sound odd, but when I got into the shower and found no shampoo or conditioner I was a bit surprised! The cleaning person came to the door so my husband asked about it and she told him that it is no longer offered in the hotel. Wouldn't it have been nice if they mentioned that to you when you checked in? Maybe offered to sell you some small bottles until you were able to purchase your own! In addition, the room was musty and moldy smelling. Definitely was a 5 star hotel in it's past life, but no longer! Not high on the recommendation list!

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and conditioner and when you get into the room, open all of the doors to allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We rented directly from an owner. Stayed in Building C-207. Condo has been remodeled and is very pleasant. When there was a slight issue with the AC the owner was right on top of it. The views from the balcony were amazing and walking right out on the beach fantastic. You could spend your whole time there, but taxis are available to take you to Red Hook where you can hop a ferry to St John and check out their town and beaches. We were going to rent a car, but opted to taxi it during our stay. We'd walk up the hill to take the $1 bus into Red Hook and then take the taxi back. Even with taxi's we never came close to reaching the money we would spent on a rental and we dodged the bullet on dealing with the scary twists and turns of the roads. Sapphire Beach Resort puts you in great proximity to great sailing and snorkling trips. Location is everything. If we go back to St. Thomas, this is where we'd stay again. Book through VBRO or HomeAway.

Room Tip: Buildings A-E are on the beach itself. A-C are the best situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SMunnell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We suppose to stay for one week, we moved out middle of night due to place being filthy and rats.
My girlfriend cried and we ran out. We never ever go back or recommend this RAT hotel to anyone.
Don't GO there.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
9  Thank 500RobertH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
7.9 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
1.1 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
7.5 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £106 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing