We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mellow retreat with a fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We just returned from a one-week stay at E104 via VRBO - a very satisfactory rental and the owner was so helpful and reassuring. The unit was exactly as described and provided direct access to the beach, plus a good pool a few steps away. A big plus was the owner recommended a taxi service with round trip airport transfers plus a stop for groceries en route to the condo - we really appreciated this as we did not wish to rent a car.

We enjoyed the calm atmosphere, the unsurpassed view and our neighbours were friendly in a laid-back way. Restaurants were not plentiful at the site; however, taxis were readily available and Red Hook was only a few minutes drive away offering restaurants and ferry service to St. John and the BVI's, plus a decent grocery store.

I agree with other writers that the best way to rent a condo at Sapphire Beach Resort is to deal directly with an owner via VRBO. We would do this again based on our wonderful week.

Room Tip: Ground level condos are great as you can walk right out onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NovaScotiaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

The reviews of Sapphire are probably some of the most polarized out there, and that's mostly down to the individual condo units themselves. If you stay in a unit where the owner actually cares about the upkeep, you'll probably enjoy it as much as I have.

I've stayed in three different units in the past 8 years, and all were good or great. The first time I merely got lucky, and I'm thankful for that, because if I got a dud the first time I may not have returned either. Which would be a shame as the beach itself, mere feet from the condo, is probably one of my favorite places on the planet, even though the dive shop is currently padlocked, the grill closed, etc.

I'm sure there probably are some less-than-ideal units at Sapphire, and I'm sure there are some uneasy-to-please people who would not be happy with anything less than full-service, mainland amenities. Don't be either of of those, and you'll love it there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked clients at Sapphire Beach because it offers private bedrooms, "more than just a hotel room." When clients arrived, hotel did not have reservation confirmed through wholesale partner. After more than an hour of straightening this out with wholesaler, clients were put in an accommodation that was made up of two rooms that could be separated by a wooden screen. But the screen didn't work. So it was "just a hotel room." And no adjustment was made to the price.

Clients commented about how nice the new pool area is but the rest of the resort is "tired" and is in need of renovation.

I won't be recommending Sapphire again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPS394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We landed at 4:40 Sunday afternoon. We had carry on only so breezed right over to Avis, had a reservation with them. No problem with free upgrade. We rented the car for 6 days and probably hit every road on the island. Being from the mountains in the Arkansas Ozarks your roads were not much different than the ones i drive daily back up in the hills. If your a flat lander i would say have fun and be careful. But do rent a car even if not for the whole trip. We loved Sapphire beach it was so peaceful and quiet. The snorkeling was ok. Ive seen better and ive seen worse.Never had a chair problem. Security would put a big stack right between B & C were the food place is. I would go down about 8 am get 2 chairs put them in our favorite spot and throw are towels on them witch is what most people i saw do every morning.We took a day sail with captain Max to St John we ended up in christmas bay and done some good snorkeling. I would recomend captain Max anytime. She is an awesome women and first mate Jordan done an excelent job. We stayed in A207 and rented it from vrob #491334. This is a beautiful remodeled condo. Took the ferry over to St John and took a safari bus tour and just wondered around. Mostly drove around the first 6 days and hung on the beach the rest of the time.Sapphire Beach is a beautiful place and fell in love with it. The grocery store i liked the best was Plaza Extra in tutu it seemed to be the closest to what we have at home and it is in the same plaza as Kmart we also shopped there. We flew out at 1:30 fri afternoon. Flew right through customs and immigration Hoped on a Cape air 7 seat cessna and flew to San Juan and that was an awesome flight i would recommend it the sights are beautiful. Plus it cut 3 hrs off are flight had we flown from Stt to Atlanta. I have all my slide shows and movies all posted. I made a movie of the grounds of the resort front and beach side. You'll be able to see the beauty of sapphire. One thing to add we NEVER felt threatened anywhere we went and never ran into all these rude people that everybody talks about. Of course i was born and raised southern and manners were bred into us in my day. A good day or afternoon or hello how are you to day i found would bring a smile and good conversation with any islander i ran into. and since i love to meet locals everywhere i go i met alot of very good people. If anybody has any questions feel free to ask away. Dont know if i can answer them but i will do my best.

www.youtube.com/user/BUZZARDROOST5015/videos?shelf_id=1&sort=dd&view=0

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MELLOW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just returned from a quick 4 day trip to Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina the weeknd of March 6, 2014. We rented unit C205 from an owner via VRBO ( http://www.vrbo.com/312165 ). This is the best way to book a unit here. Don’t go through a commercial outlet such as Expedia/Travelocity/Hotels.com etc or Exclusive Resorts. When you do you have no idea of what type of unit you will get. Many owners have not maintained their unit over the years and you don’t want one of those units. With VRBO you can see exactly what unit you are getting and you typically rent directly from the owner although there are some units that are managed by property managers, nonetheless you can see what you are getting unlike when you go through a commercial outlet. We typically stay at this property and always rent via VRBO and have stayed in all of the buildings in both studio and villa units. We love this place!
Booking our unit on VRBO was a breeze. The owners were very prompt in all communications we had with them regarding the unit and rental. They provided a wealth of information not only about their unit and Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina, but about St Thomas in general. They also offer a concierge service (extra fee) with airport pickup and drop off for those who don’t feel comfortable driving. We rented a car so we elected not to use this service.
A unique feature of this unit is that it has a keyless door lock. It is so convenient, the owner simply gives you an access code and that’s it. No waiting on staff or manager to show up and give you the keys and best of all, no keys to lose!
Upon entering we found C205 to be a nice clean unit with no mold and had a completely renovated kitchen with modern appliances along with a really nice full size refrigerator, modern cooktop, and a convection microwave oven. This is nice because we typically get groceries and eat breakfast and lunch in the unit. The unit is tastefully done in nice modern décor with 2 flat screen tv’s with free cable and wifi. The bathroom was also renovated with a nicely done tile shower. The king size bed was really comfortable. Not to hard and not to soft and there were plenty of pillows of different types to suit most anyone’s needs.
The location of building C is located in front of the main beach area about 100’ from the pool. C205 is located right in the middle of building C which is nice because no matter which set of stairs you use you are equidistant from each set. The balcony overlooks the beach and I would estimate it is about 100’ from the water’s edge. It is so nice to sit in the unit in the evening with the sliding glass door open and feel the great Caribbean breeze and listen to the ocean as it laps the shoreline.
We never used the air conditioning during our stay. We immediately opened up the doors and let the refreshing breeze flow through the unit. Daytime temperatures were in the mid 80’s but we never felt hot. Evening temperatures were in the low 70’s and with the breeze flowing through the unit and the sounds of the ocean we were lulled to sleep each night. Simply amazing!
The beach at Sapphire is awesome! It was never crowed and you get beach lounge chairs with your rental so you don’t have to lay on a towel in the sand. We snorkeled the reefs and turtle grass area numerous times during our stay. It is so nice not having to go anywhere else to snorkel. The coral reefs on this beach are great. There is a reef on the left and right sides and in the middle there is turtle grass. The beach is a great sandy entry. It is the quintessential Caribbean beach in all ways. Great crushed white coral sand (that doesn’t get hot) and the aqua and blue colors of the water are beautiful. Just as one would picture an idyllic oasis, you know, like you see in all those travel magazines. Snorkeling was awesome. We saw a spotted eagle ray, numerous sea turtles, a number of stingrays, two separate schools of squid (15-20 squid each), along with a plethora of reef fish. The coral on the right is the healthiest and it gets better as you go out towards the point. There are some really beautiful corals near the point, some of the nicest I’ve seen without having to use a boat.
The buildings are undergoing exterior renovations and two have been completed. There was no construction during our stay and I understand they are doing one building per year during low season. The results are magnificent! I can’t wait to see it when all the buildings are complete.
The Pool is really nice and is directly on the beach. It is a multilevel pool and its nice to sit next to the pool but be right on the beach at the same time. We never found it to be very crowded and there are plenty of lounge chairs. Very nice!
It appears that the restaurant and pool bar are also undergoing renovations, nothing that ever disturbed us though. There is a food vendor on site called the Banana Cabana (located between bldg B and C) that serves breakfast and typical lunch flare and tropical drinks. They have a server that works the beach so you don’t have to leave your beach chair. There is also a restaurant a short walk away in Sapphire Village Cond’s. They also have a server that works the beach again offering typical lunch flare and tropical drinks. You can also order pizza from Senor Pizza in Red Hook, they will deliver right to your chair.
There is also a marina attached to the property and many of the excursions/charters depart from here. So if you book one your only steps away. Very convient!
I highly recommend staying here. Just be sure to rent your unit from an owner via VRBO or other vacation rental site and not the commercial outlets.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank N737AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Outstanding unit. Beach level with all the ameneties you would need. Great place for a couples getaway.OUTSTANDING snorkeling! Quiet, just down the road from Red Hook if you want to go get yourself a great dinner or some dancing at Duffy's Love Shack! The best part though is a truly magnificent beach and it's coral reef. Little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: Beach level units are best in my opinion. Quick access to beach...right out the sliding deck doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked last minute and paid $100 a night. It was a very nice and clean studio. Location is great, steps from ocean and a $2 ride into town. There is a great bar and amazing BBQ place in walking distance. I would highly recommend looking at pics first. Each unit is individually owned, we got lucky and had an updated unit. You are steps from snorkeling and swimming. We saw turtles, sting ray and lots of fish. Would the highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvz2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
1.1 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £135 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing