We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time for our family - sail to Francis Bay/St. John”

Sail With Liberty Private Day Sails
Ranked #12 of 29 Tours in East End
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the sheer joy of sailing on our 44-foot sail yacht, Liberty. Come for a private sailing cruise and luxuriate on our spacious decks or under the shady cockpit and forget about your worries. Sail With Liberty takes up to six guests. Our sailboat cruises take place where the weather is best, so set sail with us in the US Virgin Islands for the best day of your vacation.
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time for our family - sail to Francis Bay/St. John”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was the best experience of our vacation. Sail with Liberty is quite a bit less expensive than other charters (bring your own food) and I believe they provide a much better experience. Most full day sails just go to Honeymoon/Hawksnest. We sailed all the way to Francis/Maho Bay. My family was thrilled to go there! We spent a couple of hours snorkeling and saw - sea turtles, stingrays and barracudas. Mumfy and Ryan were very welcoming and provided warm, friendly service. Everything was great. Due to cruise departure, I needed to be back by 3:00. We were moored at 2:56.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful family sail and snorkel to St John's”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

As many others have experienced, as a shore excursion from a cruise, we booked a half day with Ryan and Mumfy for just our family of four (11 and 7 year old children) and had a blast! Being able to experience sailing and snorkeling with such wonderful hosts (who are great with kids by the way), while avoiding the crowds, was fantastic! We and our kids loved Ryan and Mumfy, and were thrilled to see a tortoise, amazing fish, sea urchins and more, all at a wonderful reef in a calm bay at St John's, while also enjoying a great ride on a very nice 44 foot boat! Why mess with crowds on an excursion when you can have a great day on the Liberty, with a schedule that can be customized?!

We were also happy to be able to see St Johns, even though we only had time for a half day excursion in St Thomas...not all excursions will offer that luxury.

We wouldn't have changed a thing and suggest that you not hesitate to venture out on the Liberty!

Helpful?
1 Thank FriendsofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An awesome 1/2 day adventure!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a 7 hour stop in St Thomas with our cruise which can be cutting it close if you want to visit St John like we wanted. The cab from Havensight to Red Hook was $10pp each way and takes about 20 mins. We were met at the marina and shuttled us over via dinghy, three at a time, to the Liberty. Captain Ryan and Mumfy took great care of us during the 45 min or so trip to Caneel Bay. Snorkling gear and lifevests were provided once there.The water was clear, with little or no current, and lots of great sights such as rays, various fish, sea urchins, and even a barracuda! Food was not provided (there is a Subway across the street), but unlimited beer, rum & cokes, and water were available. If you don't have a lot of time in St Thomas nor want to get into a crowded, overpriced cruise booked excursion then you will have a great time on Liberty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUT STANDING !!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I sailed with Captain Ryan aboard the Liberty out of St. Thomas / Red Hook. We did a full day trip and had the time of our life. The sail boat was fantastic. The service was second to none. We saw a view of many of the island you only see from this type of tour. You owe it to your self to take even a half day trip. You won't regret it. Captain Ryan was a wonderful host and very accomadating to your every need. This is a must do !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liberty will set you free!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Spending the day sailing with Ryan and Teresa was like catching up with old friends.
They picked us up on Jost Van Dyke and took us to some of their favorite spots.
The boat is very comfortable and easy to get around on. Most importantly we always felt safe.
We are heading back down to the BVI again this spring and have already made plans to spend some more time on Liberty. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail With Liberty Private Day Sails also viewed

East End, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sail With Liberty Private Day Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing