We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy Private Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Perfect spot for coffe in the morning or cocktails in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect spot for coffe in the morning or cocktails in the evening
The entracne to Lion's Gate Getawy Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Perfect spot for coffe in the morning or cocktails in the evening
The entracne to Lion's Gate Getawy
Welcome
The cottage at Lion's Gate
The Green Chairs
The other lounge chair
The couch is perfect to view the 42' TV, every guys dream TV
Fully appointed Kitchen.
Good nght
Bath with huge shower!
The Living room
The Flamboyant tree called LOU
Sunrise from the cottage
Come for a sail on my boat
Sailing into the clouds.
Your hostess Max at her day job.  Sailing to St. John for snorkeling, lunch,  fun and laughter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
East End, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
crawlinro...
Evansville
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy Private Retreat”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This little cottage was a great find! It's tucked into the mountainside above Red Hook with a secure entrance gate. The cottage was very clean and the decorations had a nice carribian feel. The owners responded quickly to my inquiry and Maxine was most helpful getting me settled in. This is a cozy and private retreat suitable for a solo stay, or for a couple. Beautiful views of Red Hook, the harbor and St Johns off in The distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
I'm always delighted when guests love my cottage as much as I do. Waking up to our view makes my day all the brighter. Sometimes a parrot comes to say hello. Wish I could sign him to a contract but they are so independent.
Please come again, we would love to have you back
Thanks so much

Maxine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalisDad
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning View Great Location Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was amazing....everything you need plus a wonderful view of St John. Conveniently located overlooking Red Hook, close to restaurants, activities, and the American Yacht Harbor. The cottage is well appointed, spacious, and the hosts, Maxine and Chris, took care of everything! A great rental....we'll be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
It was wonderful having guests who love the view as much as I do. The best part is that I can look forward to another visit.
The dogs miss the visits as well. They often ask where you went.

See you next time
Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fndrh1st
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed at Maxine's cottage for one week in early March. I had a fantastic experience staying here overall. The cottage is nestled on a hillside, just above the town of Redhook. The accommodations are very fitting for a couple due to the romantic atmosphere. The pictures don't do the views justice and it is quiet enjoyable to wake up to the views and cool hillside Seabreeze every morning. The drive up to the cottage is a little intimidating at first but is relatively simple when compared to the rest of St. Thomas. I would say a vehicle is certainly recommended here but not 100% necessary, as you can take a 5 minute stroll down the hill into town.
Be advised that water in St. Thomas is mostly collected by rain, so there is a finite amount of water available for use when flushing the toilet and showering, just something to keep in mind if you typically take long showers or flush multiple times, or if your traveling here with more than 2 guests.
Overall, I found the owner Maxine and her husband Chris to be excellent hosts and it was very enjoyable not only to deal with her for the transaction, but also for things like restaurant and activity suggestions in the area as well as excellent conversation about island life.
My vacation to the US virgin Islands was really that much better because of this cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K
Pennsylvania
1 review
“Peaceful, safe, and absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Staying with Max was exactly what Lisa and I were hoping for. We avoided resort prices, stayed in a cottage that felt brand new, and felt like we had a friend on the island in Max. We can't say enough positive things about her and her property. Gated, clean, bright, etc. Red hook is also a great area. It's quiet and you can be at the ferry in minutes. We didn't have the chance to sail with Max this time, but we will definitely stay on St. Thomas again and there's no place other than Max's we'd want to be! Thanks again for everything!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing