We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely private vacation rental with resort...”
other travellers have booked this property
Amazing View From Our Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing View From Our Balcony
Fully Equipped Kitchen Renovated Kitchen & Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Amazing View From Our Balcony
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Renovated Kitchen & Dining Area
Renovated Living Room
New Queen Sleeper Sofa
Bedroom
Renovated Bathroom
Enjoy Breakfast With Breathtaking Views
Sit Back & Relax
Balcony
Custom Wood Look Herringbone Tiles
Point Pleasant Resort From Water Bay
Nature Watching
Panga Bar & Grill
Enjoy Waterside Lunch At The Newley Renovated Panga Bar & Grill
Private Sugar Beach On Grounds
Lower Seaside Pool
Lindquist Beach
Point Pleasant Hilltop Scenic View
Enjoy Street Art
Trail Nature Watching
Coki Beach Just A 5 Minute Walk Around Pineapple Beach
Sunset At Morning Star Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
East End, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chile4me
Madison
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely private vacation rental with resort amenities”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived at this condo within the Point Pleasant Resort after 7 days of sailing through BVI. First of all, Red Hook is very refreshing after the hustle and bustle of Charlotte Amalie, with the traffic and influx of cruise ships. Second of all, we don't usually seek out properties within resorts but we were glad we found this property after our sailing adventure. Billy, the owner was responsive to my questions during the booking process and in advance of our arrival. The condo and the entire property were very clean, staff were friendly, and the amenities were welcome after several days on the water. We spent hours by the terrace pool everyday (one of three pools), which offered beach beds and umbrellas. The pool was quiet with an amazing view and we only experienced brief visits from 2-3 other couples each day we were there. The Resort has everything you need, including a shop that sells eggs, butter, bread, rum and juice; snorkeling equipment rentals if needed; activities staff that will take you out on a kayaking/snorkeling trip, or other adventures; but, the best amenity (aside from the pool) was the free shuttle to Red Hook where you can stock up on provisions.

After 7 days of being with other people on a 42' foot sailboat and eating out nightly dinners at restaurants, we were thrilled with the privacy of our condo with our own kitchen and a quiet, private ocean-view balcony...perfect for our sunset happy hour Pain Killers (the drink of the Islands).

Our one negative that kept us from rating this a "5" was not related to the condo, but the resort. One evening we heard music coming from the very near Penga bar, so we went to check it out. Music was entertaining but we ordered a Bushwacker and a Painkiller and were so disappointed by the $10 beverages, that we didn't even consider going back the next day for lunch. The experience made us appreciate our condo even more...we made our own the next two nights and enjoyed them on our private balcony!

Don't forget to ask about your complimentary "arrival" rum punch or the daily rum punch served in the lobby!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, amenities, privacy of the corner unit
Liked least: The bar was pricey for the quality of products
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas055
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Private Practical Paradise Pad in Point Pleasant!”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The owner provided keys in a lock-box for seamless quick entry. The ample triangular balcony is larger than appears in the pictures which includes a wonderful view of the bay, Pineapple beach (although nasty up-close), Margaritaville, palm trees, birds and Iguana's. Open covered balcony has protection from the direct sun and rain. A cute bistro table and two Adirondack chairs provide restful seating. The one-room efficiency is well planned. A three cushion, soft, brown comfy sofa is placed in front of a dresser and SMALL flat-screen TV and drop-leaf wooden table. The Queen sized memory foam mattress, bedding and pillows were exceptionally comfy! A large walk-in closet has plenty of room for all your luggage,clothes, hooks, ironing board, iron (really you want to iron?...not me but for those that do it's there!) and a small safe. The open galley kitchen is tastefully decorated in pleasing granite and glass back-splash with a full sized refrigerator, 4 burner stove/oven, coffee maker, blender and toaster. We had plenty of plates, pans and glasses, small portable coolers for our 9-day stay. The bathroom is small, not too tight, but adequate. The A/C and ceiling fan kept the unit cool while sleeping and cools quickly; no need to run those while not in the unit. We had two people in the unit for 9-days. While the unit is small, it is well planned, feels larger so we never felt cramped but rather had plenty of space. There is no maid service, not an issue for us and I am sure helps keep the cost down. Would like to have had an option to exchange dirty towels for clean or could have used more than two towels and beach towel in 9-days. (We could have laundered our self but made-do.) No need to worry about the bad reviews for the restaurants as they are both closed. Was told there are plans to reopen both. We walked to the Margaritaville restaurant for drinks and appetizers. Coki beach is a short walk past Margaritaville but we preferred to take the Safari to beautiful and quieter Lindquist Beach. Sugar Beach on the property is small but we LOVED how quaint it was; private with 3 over-sized cushion tanning beds and large umbrellas. For much of the time we had that delightful beach to ourselves, our little VIP private oasis! Nice brain coral attached to the wall to the right and some snorkeling right off the beach. The last few days at Sugar Beach the tide came up with sea weed but prior to that we had several wonderful clear turquoise water days with sugar white sand. I'm guessing it is hit or miss but not to worry as there are plenty of other wonderful beaches close by. The property offers free rides within the massive resort to navigate the steep hills, (just call 0 and they pick you up with a smile) 3 lovely picturesque pools and a lovely nature walk are included. For $40 day you can use their provided transportation (east end outside resort only) including unlimited non-motorized paddle boats and kayaks. We usually rent a car but did not during these 9-days. We had fun taking the $1-$2 Safari (Google the route), $5 taxi from Red Hook, $15 taxi to airport, and paid the Point Pleasant $40 transportation on one day. We Kayaked to Lindquist beach, took the ferry to St John twice visiting Trunk Bay and Cinnamon Bay for excellent snorkeling! Groceries in Red Hook are just a $5 taxi away. This was an EXCEPTIONAL stay on a budget! The units are older but this one has been renovated nicely. The owner provides you with all the information you need and will respond to you quickly and the resort staff are very kind. We prefer the east end as it is less crowded and close to the ferry. You do need to navigate several stairs for this unit but it is in close proximity to the lower pool. The wooden entry door to the patio locks but the sliding glass unit doors only lock from the inside. It's not the Ritz but for the price, it is a DEAL without giving up class, comfort and cleanliness! The views are exceptional from this resort! I would stay here again and AGAIN; it is a gem and a find! But, If you have difficulty walking, this resort is not for you due to the stairs, crumbly, rocky stairs to pools and steep paths. We loved the organic feel of it all, the views, the vegetation, flowers, palm trees, butterfly's, birds, iguana's, etc!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pleasant and Economical
Liked least: Could not lock sliding glass doors from outside & option to exchange dirty for clean towels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property seemed to be close to everything we wanted to do.
Liked least: We loved it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melissa S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worse Place Ever...not as pictured!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I booked this for our honeymoon, we were very excited to stay at this resort and from the moment we checked it we were very disappointed. There was construction going on right outside our balcony on the beach, the property was not kept up and there were chairs scattered everywhere, wood boards up against the building, and cigarette butts all over the grounds. The tropical pretty pictures we were expecting was completely the opposite. Not to mention, the room was dirty, there were stains on the comforters and food still left in the refrigerator. We were told that transportation was free with the resort, this is not true. When we checked in the first thing we were told is that they do not allow other taxis on the property and they charge $50 per day to just take you to one location and then you can get a taxi to go other places on the island. We ended up leaving immediately because we were so displeased, and when we contacted the owner he acted surprised and when I sent him the pictures of what we saw he no longer would respond to me. We are tried to get our money back but still have not received it. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone!! Not to mention, there is nothing to do on property but a run down restaurant/bar..you have to leave to do anything including eating and drinking on the island, and taxi's are typically $30 one way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing, this is a horrible place
Liked least: Dirty, not as pictured, very disappointing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Hi! I am taken back by your review as it is not authentic or a fair depiction. It does not align with any of my personal reviews or Point Pleasant Resorts’ reviews. From the initial point of contact, you did not give the resort or myself any opportunity to rectify any concerns. According to your emails to me, you were only present on the premises for 30 minutes, and I truly do not believe it is a fair and adequate amount of time to pass judgment. Please know that you also had my personal cell #, and never once tried contacting me to talk through your concerns. I responded to your emails, which I have proof of, despite your claim in the review. The resort and my personal condo have always had excellent reviews, and this review is pure slander as I strongly feel that your main objective is to try to receive a refund and/or free stay.

All my listing pictures are true and actual images. The resort and room are depicted and pictured exactly as they exist. The resort is NOT run down, and it is the resort’s priority to keep the grounds beautiful and clean, and for that reason Point Pleasant Resort is rated #1 on TripAdvisor for St. Thomas East End. Additionally, I confirmed with housekeeping that all linens and blanket were washed and changed as we always do for every new guest. Regarding the statement about ‘food being left over in the refrigerator’, this is again a false description. As I had mentioned to you in our email communication, housekeeping will always leave any non-perishable and/or sealed items for the next guest to use, if they choose to do so. All of these items were closed condiments. Future guests are very appreciative of this gesture as it is one less item(s) to purchase at the grocery store during their stay.

The construction that you refer to is taking place at the resort next door and is out of Point Pleasants’ control. It has nothing to do with our beautiful resort beach, Sugar Beach. I have had consecutive guests stay prior to your arrival, and did not receive any negative comments regarding the construction. Regarding the view, you are specifically targeting the resort to the left of Point Pleasant where the construction is taking place, however there is also the direct beautiful, tranquil view of the Caribbean Sea and the surrounding Virgin Islands, which you unfortunately failed to share and speak about. The whole resort is situated to look out to Water Bay and the surrounding islands.

Furthermore, I provided clarification about the Taxi and $50 Day Pass via email. This is an optional activity pass that the guest may choose or NOT choose to purchase. It includes snorkel activity, kayaking, etc – and would also include free shuttle service throughout the island. However, guests have the option to purchase the pass. Furthermore, all taxis and personal/rental vehicles are allowed on the property – what you state in your review is incorrect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokeyPadd...
New York
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern studio”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great stay at this completely renovated studio. Large, comfortable sofa, excellent sleeping in the queen bed, room to put all our clothes and gear in the large closet, and a lovely balcony view. There is construction work still going on at the next beach during the day right now (March), but as soon as we closed the sliding glass doors, we heard nothing. Impressive doors! They stop work by cocktail hour, giving plenty of time to sit out on the balcony for smoothies mixed in the blender, while enjoying the afternoon breezes and sunset.

Resort staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, offering golf cart rides up and down the hill if needed. The grounds are beautifully lush. The paths to reach the pools, on site Sugar Beach and on site Panga's Restaurant are like walking through a tropical rainforest, making it a pleasure to take the walks. Shuttle rides are offered to various local beaches and to the little town of Red Hook, where we did most of our food shopping at Moe's Fresh Market. Meat and fish there are nice and fresh; produce is pretty good too.
They have most everything you need.
The ferry, which we took to St. John twice, along with several restaurants are here as well. We had a rental car, which we used to try the beautfiul and challenging Mahogany Run Golf course, as well as to shop at Plaza Extra supermarket for dry goods, wine and rum, as they do have better prices on these items. Food is very expensive on the islands,since just about everything is imported.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful resort with wonderful staff
Liked least: Construction next door prevented walking to distant beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious view, great location, cute studio!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location is great! It's nice that there is a mix of travelers and locals that live at the resort. Everyone is very friendly and the restaurants are nice to have on hand for a late lunch or early cocktail after getting back from the beach. The mahi mahi sandwich at the bar is one of the best I've ever had and it's right on the water. There is also a small private beach at the resort which felt like a hidden gem. The studio was decorated very cute, everything was clean and modern, and the view from the balcony can't be beat. Plus there were other beaches nearby within walking distance.
Red Hook is only a 5 minute drive and we found some great little places to eat with Billy's help. He has a list of local shops, destinations, restaurants, etc in the studio to reference and it really helped out! The ferries out of Red Hook were very handy too. We liked this studio, location, and view so much we thought about actually buying one of our own! But for the price he rents it can't be beat. I would most definitely rent from Billy again.
Billy was so great to work with and rent from! He made the process super simple and was very responsive throughout the whole process and while we were staying there. The day we were supposed to check out, our flight got changed and we asked to stay a little later in the day (we were supposed to check out by noon as he had others coming in that day). He worked it out with his cleaner to come later so we could extend our check out. Even though this is small just a simple example of easy Billy was to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, how nicely it was decorated, and comfortable bed.
Liked least: Construction that was happening while we were there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bofwapnes
Carmel, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Convenience”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I recently stayed at this condo which is privately owned although part of the resort environment. We were pleased with the space and especially with the kitchen since food prices and dining out are so expensive on the island. It was quite convenient to the east end of the island which we found that we preferred greatly to Charlotte Amalie and the staff was more than hospitable during our stay. It is a quick walk to a very private area of Sugar Beach and also a quick drive to Coki Beach as well as all of the shops, clubs and restaurants of Red Hook. There were a few items that concerned us however and we believe if remedied would make it so we would stay in this unit again. Not to seem too picky, but there was no way to actually lock the sliding door which enters the unit from the second story balcony when leaving the unit. The only locking door was the one that accessed the balcony and although unlikely a person could have accessed our room at any point from the adjacent condo by merely stepping across from their own balcony or worse yet from the ground below by climbing one of the proximate palm trees or using a small ladder. There was a storm closure on the outside of the door which locked, but we were unfortunately not provided a key. I believe this could be easily remedied for the benefit of others staying there in the future. The other item that could really help this unit would be a second ceiling fan installed above the bed. The ocean side of the room got comfortably cool in the evening, but the bed side of the room took a really long time to cool down in the evening. There is only the sliding door opening to the outside so there is no cross breeze potential to assist in cooling down the unit in the evening so an additional fan would be heavenly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience and view.
Liked least: Security and temperature control.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing