We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bolongo Bay Beach Resort is the ONLY place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Kelso, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bolongo Bay Beach Resort is the ONLY place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A friend and I had recently retired and had saved for a trip to St. Thomas. We wanted a small family owned place with great personality and friendship and smiles. We lucked out when we found Bolongo.... It is perfect for those who don't like the big hi rises, elevators, and lots of people
The rooms are nice and clean, tended to lovingly every day. They have anything you might need right at your fingertips. We were steps from the ocean and enjoyed swimming ea day in the warm beautiful water. There are some areas with rocks so the water shoes are a great idea.. They keep the beach groomed and lounge chairs and floats clean and orderly. There is someone on duty ea. day to help with all the water toys, answer questions and hand out clean towels.. Byron was the first one we met and he was so knowledgeable about the island and the Resort. He was very helpful and friendly
.
There is live entertainment at Iggies every night with Thursday night being Carnival Night. It was loads of fun....very entertaining and lots of laughter. The food was great also.

We had breakfast ea day at the lobster grill and a few dinners also, where you could sit upstairs and look out at the beautiful view of the multi colored ocean. The food is very good and all the servers were nice and helpful. The bar was right below and were always made to feel at home by our new friend" Double O" and also" Steve O " :) Such wonderful people. And they made a mean drink too...:) We will look forward to seeing them one day again as we have already started a new savings account. We came all the way from Washington State. We are hooked on Bolongo resort...

They have a nice little gift shop and run the excursions out of there. Very helpful and nice. We took the sunset cruise and had so much fun.. good company, drinks and food.... Great time for sure!

We talked to alot of people there who were there on their 2,3,and a few 4th trips to Bolongo. That says something right there! You become part of the extended family right off and that is a good feeling...

I've seen alot of reviews concerning sand fleas? We never encountered any. We came prepared but were happy we didn't have to use our products. And we were on the beach day and night.

Thank you all at Bolongo. We will look forward to our next visit. I think we found our home away from home....

Lynda " suzy" Arocha

Room Tip: Loved ocean front bottom floor. You just walk out your door take a few steps and you're on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lynda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    345
    142
    79
    51
See reviews for
272
529
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We missed our connecting flight due to bad weather and got to Bolongo Bay 16 hours late. They not only gave us our original number of nights but also upgraded our room at no charge. The friendly atmosphere made us feel like we were at home in Minnesota only 60 degrees warmer.
The food and service were very good at reasonable prices. We were worried about the new virus "Chik "but never saw a mosquito. The beach was good and the snorkeling trip on the catamaran was excellent. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just love Bolongo Bay....been there three times and will return again!!! Great friendly staff...we were greeted with a warm smile and rum punch and a welcome back bottle of rum was waiting for us in our room. Very nice. Rooms are clean and tended to daily. The Beach Activities Director (Byron) was very helpful, knowledgeable and a friendly face on the beach each day. We had breakfast at the hotel each morning and dinner was either at Iggies or the Lobster Grille which are on-site....or of course there are many options in Redhook or downtown in Charlotte-Amalie. They have a nice cardio room for exercise if you wish. The snorkeling right off the beach is quite good but the real surprise are the sea turtles that make Bolongo Bay their home. They are very comfortable with snorkelers and you can get up very close to view them...such beautiful creatures. The beach has kayaks, stand-up surf boards, snorkeling gear, sailing and other beach toys for your enjoyment. A great place for families. Make sure you go to the "meet the managers" get-together for delicious snacks/appetizers and rum punch!!! Be sure to take advantage of the Heavenly Days sailing excursions for the sunset tour or the swim with the turtles trip.....great fun and something you will remember forever. We just love this place...and cant wait to return. It's all good!!!

Room Tip: We like second floor rooms with a balcony overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapeCodKrumholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bolongo for 2 nights, 3 days, subsequent to a sailing trip through the BVI's with a relative; Bolongo was the end of our vacation. We are in our mid 30's, with no children. Please NOTE: if you are simply traveling to St. Thomas to "waste away" on a beach and have no other adgenda in mind, then Bolongo may be a great choice for you! I do believe that it is most likely within the top 3 hotels on the island.

St. Thomas is NOT an ideal vacation place in that it is extremely dirty, overcrowded and run down. It is the primary USVI for tourism due to the fact that it's the closest to the US, for one, and close to St. John, and the BVI's. It generates a lot of cruise ship tourism. Pardon the diversion from the hotel review, but I feel that this is important for people to know, who are more like my partner and I; we are interested in travel & exploration of our vacation destination--not just sitting on the beach all day every day. There are taxi services available--however, NOT at very affordable prices.

Food - Bolongo Bay has 2 restaurants, the Lobster Grille and Iggy's Beach Bar. Both were lovely, and the food was enjoyable--however, quality was more along the lines of “good diner food". If you are looking for a culinary adventure of sorts, you won’t find that here.

Rooms - I have added pictures of our room and beach below. We only stayed 2 nights, and didn't plan on spending much time in the room, so we didn't bother spending more for an ocean view. We had a view of the back of the kitchen--which of course was disappointing! Neither my partner nor I felt that spending $550 for two nights (ROOM ONLY-nothing else) was really too much. We did not book last minute either--we did approximately 1.5 months in advance. NOTE: If you're looking for a bright, shiny, sparkling clean room with every "perk" you can think of--you're not going to get that here. Rooms did have hair dryers, iron/board, fridge, sink, 2 burner stove, and a pans for cooking--might be nice if someone wanted to make breakfast in the room rather than going out. The only other hotel on St. Thomas that may provide a luxurious kind of experience would be The Ritz, and if spending $1,100 a night on a room doesn't bother you--PLEASE take a vacation somewhere other than St. Thomas!

Water Activities - The hotel offers free use of all NON-motorized water equipment--no special package required. They had paddle boards, kayak, large water bikes, and I believe you can rent snorkel gear--which is great fun. We brought our own snorkels. Note: The beach is very rocky--and there's plenty of sea grass. It isn't crystal clear as far as the eye can see, so I would recommend brining sea-socks/water shoes. Also--beware of the sand fleas!!! Pack bug spray. I've been itching to death for 3 nights now!

Should I do the all-inclusive package? - I have to say no. My partner and I ate breakfast each day for a total of ~$25 per day. Lunch--we stuck to snacks we had brought, and health food bars or fruit--because breakfast was filling, and we knew we wanted a big dinner. Dinner--with at least 3 drinks each (at Lobster Grille) was about $85 with tip. We had a variety of beverages at Iggy's, an appetizer and two entrees’, and paid $125. We paid for a few drinks during each day as well. The all-inclusive package would have cost us another $250 PER DAY. It just doesn't make sense. However--if you're a big drinker, and you're simply interested in crashing on a beach all day throwing back a few buckets of beers and those $9 pina colada's---maybe it would be worth it for you!

Overall - The staff were nice (they do move at a very slow pace in the islands, so understand that expedience isn't their forte--but hey, relax, you're on vacation!), and the services overall were ok. Nothing horrible to report, and after all, it's a nice warm beach! I feel, after spending the money, that we shouldn’t have paid more than $175/night for our room. I neglected to mention that Bolongo has a pool (small), with a swim up bar. Pool deck appeared to be sufficiently maintained. The pool doesn’t necessarily overlook the ocean—but the ocean is just on the other side of the wall.

Finally, as a side note, I did live/work in St. Croix (USVI) for some time in the past, so I am familiar with each of the USVI's, and have a basis for comparison from which to draw my conclusions. Happy traveling!!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean veiws are nice, on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Travelers1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Bolongo Bay is a wonderful vacation destination, but only if you love amazing views, terrific food and drink, and Caribbean hospitality and entertainment. We went with the all-inclusive option and loved it. Everything, from the Lobster Grille 5-star restaurant to the sailing and snorkeling trips, was covered. And Iggie’s on the beach…you couldn’t top the live entertainment, especially Carnival night. Look up the menus online and dream about your choices during your stay, and don’t forget to work your way through the tropical drink menu.
I noticed a number of reviews where guests noted the rooms were a little tired and blah, blah, blah. Hey, if you go to an all-inclusive resort to hang around in your room, get a clue. The rooms were fine and the housekeeping excellent.
Getting around the island was as easy as using the front lobby taxi service. Fares are listed on a large display - $6 to go here, $8 to go there. On your return trip when you catch a taxi, make sure you ask the driver “How much?” You might be pleasantly surprised to find out the price went down a little bit.
Book the ‘Swim with the Turtles’ sailing trip and the Sunset Cruise. (They’re both included in the all-inclusive package.) Use of water toys is free, including your snorkel gear. There also are plenty of chairs and umbrellas on the beach for everyone as well as a few friendly iguanas that lumber by now and then.
Bolongo has that kind of down home feeling, which made us not only feel welcome, but like we belonged.
Don’t worry, be happy, and stay here.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor overlooking the bay. The sunrises were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingly, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I had a great 7 days. Just came back home. The food is excellent, the service was some of the best we have had on the islands. The staff at Iggies Mike, Jess, and Joshua were outstanding. The water is a little rocky but the Justin Bieber look alike water crew supervisor made it lots of fun. The catamaran snorkel trips were excellent. We went to ST. Johns which has the best beaches in the world. We will be back, maybe for our 40th anniversary. Definitely worth the money. Now, they need to just update some of the facilities like the bathrooms. Not dirty just a little dated. Just do that and I am sure they would go up on trip advisor in their ratings. Great family run place with people who give great service. Thank you Laura Porter McMurry for your personality and help.

Room Tip: 2nd floor beach front great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SUB774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent 7 clear and warm nights in AI Bolongo Bay resort, in second week in February. Food
was outstanding... lobster night, prime rib night and many top notch entrees. The bay is
protected, with some opportunity for snorkeling. AI reservation includes cat day trip to
better snorkeling and a cruise around Charlotte Amelie. Room was large and nicely
furnished. Because this is an older hotel, bathroom had older fixtures had some degrading
tile caulk. View of the water was partial. If there weren't so many other islands to try, would
probably go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barb883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
3.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Property: Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas/South Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing