We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, service and activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, service and activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This resort has a beautiful beachfront location, tons of activities and a great restaurant - and one of the most fun bars; Iggies that has bean bag and dice contests as well ad great entertainment. We took the Turtle Cove sail on the resorts 52 foot catamaran and snorkel with dozens of sea turtles and fish in the beautiful clear waters. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I think they all have balconies overlooking the water. Mine was on the 2nd floor (#113) and it was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    338
    140
    73
    50
See reviews for
264
516
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pros:
My sister's wedding was beautiful. Right on the beach, beautiful flowers, excellent minister, and Laurie and her assistants were outstanding with our entire party, including my two year old nephew that she entertained while his parents were getting married.

Lobster Grille was very good. Menu had great variety and the bartenders at the pool bar were outstanding.

Gift Shop had a wonderful staff of people eager to help and assist booking any excursion. Heavenly Days was spectacular. The turtle snorkel trip was the highlight of the trip outside of the wedding.

Location is right on the beach. It is not the best swimming beach by far but snorkeling is decent and when kayaking a sea turtle decided to join me so there is a lot of marine life to enjoy in the bay. Because it is rocky in areas you do get a wide variety of the blue hues though so it is beautiful to look at.

The dive center and the booth for jet ski rentals are right on site which makes it very easy to access the popular Caribbean activities.

Overall the staff was very friendly but the most inviting host was one of the two cats that live on the grounds that slept on our patio at some point every day. Bolongo Bay has a sign at the gift shop and donation jar up in support of local humane society efforts which was awesome to see.

Cons:
Some staff came off rude. A waitress and a housekeeper stand out. It was mostly minor things but rolling eyes and not accepting no for an answer when given a polite and clear response are easy things to fix to make guests not feel stupid (which did happen).

Sand fleas... some people didn't have an issue and others did. Bug spray helped a little but they were not bad everyday. One evening in particular was brutal. It's mother nature though so can't really help that.

Iggies was a lot of fun and had a big menu of fun stuff. Unfortunately too many got sick in our party and from what I overheard several other guests did as well. A lot of potential with a lot of great staff and prime location. We did hear that Iggies has a cleanliness issue in the kitchen and any fried food you got came out very dark and it was clear the oil needed to be changed badly. This is an easy fix though!!!!!!


Overall it was a great place to relax and play and most of all have a beautiful beach wedding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BNordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

When we arrived at Bolongo Bay we were greeted by a Bell Hop named Shawn. Over the course of the week, Shawn became a very good friend to us. He is probably one of THE most memorable people we met on our stay. Such a wonderful personality and tells the funniest stories. Bolongo should be proud to have him working there- we will never forget him. He brought us complimentary Rum Punch and took our luggage to the room and showed us around. There was a nice bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us and the room was BREATHTAKING! It was more than I ever imagined it would be. Clean, cozy, nicely decorated and very island-like. The view from our balcony was amazing! We could hear the waves rolling onto the shore at night while we slept and that was just plain wonderful.

There are two restaurants to choose from with the all inclusive plan.
Iggie's Beach Bar and The Lobster Grille.
I will start with Iggie's
GREAT food! Awesome drinks and the best customer service you could ever ask for. By the second day, the staff already knew our names and remembered the drinks we liked the most. We spent a lot of time there and made many friends. With the all inclusive plan there's a 15% gratuity already included but that didn't stop these girls from providing exceptional dining experiences. The location of Iggie's is also a plus. Its right on the beach! They have live entertainment every single night. It is definitely our first choice for dining!

The Lobster Grille on the other hand, is a different story. Its reservation only and also the only option for breakfast on the all inclusive plan.
The breakfast buffet was just kinda "blah" and every time we ordered breakfast from the menu it was very inconsistent. For example- I ordered French Toast one morning and it came with 5 slices of bacon but the next day I ordered the same exact French Toast and it only came with 2 slices. The staff in The Lobster Grille are rude and not very friendly at all. The only advantage they have is its a more fancy place and if a couple on a honeymoon wanted to have a nice romantic dinner, that's the place to go. We sat at dinner one night with another couple for 2.5 hours and no one ever refilled our water and didn't ask how the food was or anything. My husband took my glass to the bar himself where there's a pitcher of water and refilled it for me. All four of us that night were very disappointed. I also had a server there spill two glasses of cold champagne down my back at breakfast one morning and she didn't even apologize. It's so disappointing because Bolongo is SUCH an amazing place but The Lobster Grille really needs some work in the customer service department. The food was pretty good though. I recommend the Hot Chocolate Cake to anyone like me who has a sweet tooth.

We went on the Heavenly Days Catamaran and went snorkeling with the sea turtles. The crew was GREAT. Kyle and Erin are very friendly and they made the sail a lot of fun.
Use of all non motorized water sport equipment is included and we definitely took advantage of that. Several mornings we went snorkeling right out in the bay in front of our room. You only have to go out knee deep to see beautiful fish, crabs, sea turtles, and coral. We took out the paddle boat a couple times, too.

The all inclusive is definitely the way to go because once you get there, you never even have to leave the resort to have a good time! Everything you need is right there. If you are out on the beach and get hot, just grab a drink at Iggie's. If you're in the pool and decide you want a rum and coke or a pina colada just swim up to the bar IN the pool.
Plenty of entertainment and more food than you can eat!
We cannot wait to visit there again someday.

Room Tip: Any room there is AMAZING. Ours was ocean front...loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supermommyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here after spending 9 days on a chartered catamaran in the BVI- was a great place to relax before heading back home. Nice beach area with a small pool (loved the iguanas that hang out at the pool!). Decent drinks at a reasonable price. We ate at both Iggys and the Lobster Grille- both meals were good ( but we were really spoiled by the great food on our BVI sailing adventure) and a little high priced for the quality. Check in and out were smooth- no problems with the room. Don't expect Hilton or Marriott type rooms for this price- they were clean but had their issues. Overall it was fine for the amount of time we were in the room. Understand there you will need to take a taxi to anywhere outside of this resort- can't really walk on the mail road without risking your life- very narrow! If you are looking for a mid-range resort with a nice beach and easy access to the Dive shop and Redhook area, give this place a try!

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean view is great- I think they all have small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Outstanding resort...
A little off the beaten path...taxi is $9 pp each way. If you do the AI you don't really need to leave the area unless you want to explore other areas of the island. The Islander Grille and Ziggy's Beach Bar offer great food, excellent drinks and Ziggy's has nighly live music. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The rooms (which you shouldn't spend much time in...get out on the beach!) are comfortable, small shower, nice bed, air conditioned, balcony) are not Taj Mahal quality...but they are not the NoTellMotel either. We visited twice within 5 months from Wisconsin. The Beach Hut offers free use of kayaks, windsurfers (if you can do it), a catamaran (they'll give training and if you "pass" you can take it out yourself) and a small sailboat (just to name a few.) Byron, Sergio and Zak are a lot of fun at the Beach Hut and are quite happy to render assistance as required. Most of the Ziggy's staff is very friendly and the food is awesome. The beach is small and the water is rocky; wear beach shoes! The snorkeling (also free equipment) is excellent. There is a dive club on the resort that can get you hooked on diving (did me) and take you to some awesome dive sites. We will definitely return to this resort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just returned from my first Island trip experience with my younger sister and dad. We chose this resort as it looked like an "island-y" place and were very happy with our choice! We stayed on the top balcony level which had beautiful views of the beach, we could hear the waves crashing as we slept at night, and best of all we were seconds from two great restaurant choices right on the premises (Iggies & Lobster Grille). We were able to visit some higher end hotels during our vacation and returned each night happy we made our choice with Bolongo Bay Resort!

If your seeking a real island experience with great accommodations this is perfect!!

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from Iggie's bar will give you assurance of not hearing loud music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was my first trip to St Thomas and I was a little wary about which hotel to stay in. Upon arrival at Bolongo Bay I was greeted with smiles of the helpful, kind, and accommodating staff. The staff at Bolongo was excellent, everyone from the doorman, groundskeepers, gift shop, to the front desk. The hotel is family owned and I think that's a big part of making Bolongo a great place. The staff treats you like you're part of their family and they make you feel right at home. I was only there for a week but in a short period after arriving, they were saying "Hello Nate". If you're looking for a place to go swimming, they have an outdoor pool and plenty of beach front property with clear water, great for snorkeling. All of the water toys they have to play with, free of charge, make for hours worth of fun! If you go to Bolongo, a must is going on the catamaran "Heavenly Days". I went on the sunset sail and the crew of Heavenly Days was very knowledgeable and allowed you to enjoy every minute of the trip as they handled the work on the boat. They have two restaurants on the property which makes it easy to find something to eat for everyone. The carnival nights at Iggy's is a must as well. The room was very spacious and had everything you could need when away from home. I had no complaints with my stay at Bolongo and am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
3.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Property: Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas/South Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing