We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel in location good for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in location good for us”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were going to a music festival in Merthyr Tydfil and were pleased to find the Travelodge room for just £25. We arrived at the hotel earlier than anticipated, and were slightly annoyed to be told that although our room was ready, we would still have to pay £10 to check in.
The room was tidy and fresh, and massive for just the two of us. Facilities were good. Bathroom was clean. Free car parking was a huge bonus.

The sleep wasn't great though - pillows very uncomfortable, and room really hot. But we stayed for one night so it was ok.

The hotel is in a retail park which has a sports centre, Vue cinema, Nandos, McDonalds, Chinese buffet, Subway, Frankie & Bennys and Harvester.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    105
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
81
103
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived rather late to the hotel, the doors were locked and reception was unmanned. The light fitting in the bathroom flickered, we asked for a repair but this never happened, we removed it in the end

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Huggiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Myself, my grown up daughter and 2 children stayed here for 3 nights, we wanted a cheap and accessable stay for a quick getaway and this hotel served our purpose. It was very clean with a nice king size bed and single bed, we took our own travel cot. The hotel provided the bedding for the cot for us which was great. The bathroom was clean with nice clean white towels supplied along with body/hair wash. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of parking. There were plenty of places to eat nearby to suit all tastes, and a huge swimming pool which cost £3.70 per adult and the children were free. The town is small but very nice and on the doorstep. This hotel is in a good place for easy access to view much of the local area including the Brecons and on approx 30 miles from a beach. I would recommend this place for a short or longer term stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in a disabled room for one night on business. The hotel is very nicely located near Rhydycar Leisure facilities, Mc Donalds,Harvester, Nandos, Vue cinemas and a selection of many eating places. It is opposite the Wales Government Office. Brilliant and quite location just at the edge of the eating facilities and easily accessible by road, off the A470.

The room was very clean and the staff very friendly and approachable. The only down side was that the reception is not manned even during working hours and if you catch the wrong time it can take several minutes before you can be attended. On one occasion I was kept waiting for 20 minutes before I could be attended. But for under £40 pounds a night it was a good deal.

Room Tip: The back rooms are very quite facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked three double rooms back in March for our stay in July absolute bargin ,rooms very clean all staff very polite and helpful .Lots of places to eat we went to Frankie and Bennies on Monday got 25 per cent off food bill ( not well advertise) but result .
Parking around Travel Lodge can be a problem later on in the day but always found somewhere .
Would definitely return

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage ground floor ,one of our 3 rooms booked was room 13 lovely and cool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights including our Border Collie and the room on the first floor was spacious which big enough for all our walking gear and the dogs bed. It was clean and did what it said on the tin. The Marstons Dragonfly pub which does 2 for 1 meals was ideal after a long day in the mountains.

The only gripe is that the smoking area was just outside the front entrance and our room was just above, so the smell of smoke and chit chat of people was not welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andyrovers351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel exceeded expectations. It was a very pleasant stay with welcoming staff on reception. The location of this hotel was not sold enough on the website, it is fabulous! Nice easy walk to the pub - Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Steph_92F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
130 reviews
6.0 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
13.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Property: Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Address: Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing