We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
emmie n

tiger inn hotel

Review of The Tiger Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2023
I recently stayed at the hotel It was very busy but the lady in lounge was very welcoming. I think her name was Sarah or Sara. Even though she was rushed off her feet she still was so accommodating and full of smiles. We waited about 6-7 minutes for our 2nd round of drinks but she gave us some tasty welsh cakes as an apology. What an absolute credit to your beautiful hotel xx
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Hutton, Owner at The Tiger Inn, responded to this review
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate your lovely words particularly Sarah who was a bit rushed on the day she is so glad you were happy despite the wait 😊
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£82
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Julian MacDonald Suite
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £82
  • Expedia.com
    £85
0.4 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
2.9 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
2.8 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Winchfawr Lodges at Christmas
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from The Tiger Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Taff Trail
Booking.com
    3.8 miles from The Tiger Inn
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
    Reviews (16)
    Filter reviews
    16 results
    Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 16 reviews
    Reviewed 23 December 2023

    What a little gem of a place. Both us & our 2 dogs were so well looked after. The dogs had treats & beds to sleep on. The welcome we received was wonderful. Sarah, Kiera, Phil the night porter & Shanaya are amazing staff. The hotel is beautifully decorated & is so quirky. Our family met us there for brunch today to exchange Christmas presents & everyone cleared their plates the food was so tasty & beautifully presented. We will definitely return. Thank you so much.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Anne W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie Hutton, Owner at The Tiger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

    Thank you so much ☺️ for you lovely review, we all really appreciate your kind words and are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Tiger, you have made us all smile 😊 hope to see you again soon, have a Fabulous 2024 - Tiger Team 🐯🙋🏻‍♀️

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

    I visit the Tiger Inn regularly - sometimes for lunch and also in the evening for drinks. The staff are really lovely and friendly, especially Kiera and Sarah. The food is always tasty - lunchtime you can choose from the menu or from the specials board and there are always gorgeous homemade cakes and Welsh Cakes. There is a good choice of drinks and the place is decorated beautifully - if the weather is nice enough then I really recommend sitting out in the delightful garden.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank GlobeTrotting274083
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie Hutton, Owner at The Tiger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2023

    Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoy visiting the Tiger and are happy with the food and surroundings. We all work hard to give the best we can and your kind words are really appreciated by all the staff. Many thanks and hope to see you soon 😊🙋🏻‍♀️

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2023

    This was an absolute gem, the night before heading to Bike Park Wales. 2 families stayed all the staff incredibly welcoming and for our stay. They all went about and beyond. A real rarity in this day and age.
    Delicious breakfast would definitely stay here again if going to Bike Park Wales. Would highly recommend.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Jenny R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie Hutton, Owner at The Tiger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

    Thank you sooo much for your kind review, we all really appreciate your comments, we shall be smiling all day, and may I say how lovely for us to host such wonderful people :-)
    Hope to see you again sometime.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2023

    Great place to catch up over a leisurely Brunch &/Coffee & cake. I enjoyed Smoked Salmon with Scrambled Eggs and a glass of Gwynt Y Ddraig Black Dragon cider 😋followed by a Latte & Cupcake 😋
    Lovely atmosphere & Sarah looked after us very well.
    Will definitely be back!

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank JCTravelling2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie Hutton, Owner at The Tiger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

    Thank You! 😊 We all really appreciate your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon 😊🙋🏻‍♀️

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 July 2023 via mobile

    Our second stay here and again it impressed A friendly welcome awaits you here The inn is well situated on Merthyr High street with parking close by and various pubs and eateries a short walk away The rooms are small and basic but spotless with clean white linen There’s a kettle with a good selection of tea and coffee to choose from .

    Room tip: Sat nav may take you to the rear of the property.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Phil C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie Hutton, Owner at The Tiger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2023

    Thank you very much for your kind review Phil, we really appreciate your comments :-)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews