We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmarish hotel”
Review of Tregenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tregenna Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff an guests have absolutely no idea about keeping quiet when guests are trying to get to sleep. The rooms stink of curry the plumbing is noisy so noisy in fact I had to turn my radiator on when it was hot to stop the noise. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Just don't risk staying here.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gorjam58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Tregenna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked through late rooms and had a good price and were very happy to have the suite which had a sofa and a 4 poster bed and was a nice size room. The bed was comfortable.The room was clean and the hotel quiet, We did not have breakfast or a meal but i saw they have a bar and I have heard that the food is worth trying. This hotel does have at least have some character the previous evening we had stayed at a more expensive chain hotel there are a couple of them in Merthyr which was very soulless. They have chalet type accommodation outside the main hotel and parking directlyoutside them. There are signs marked to the location of the hotel in the town centre,

Room Tip: The suite is lovely,particularly if you want to chill on the sofa.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Wondered what to expect here when made as a last minute booking for a Sunday night in Merthyr Tydfil.
The room was adequate and clean, with a TV and a good shower.
I was offered an evening meal, and for an extra £5 breakfast, but declined as had to meet a friend.

Room Tip: Takes a little finding due to extensive road works, good off road parking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Would love to be able to review this hotel but after going onto their web site I called them on a Saturday evening to enquire whether they would have a dog friendly room or chalet available in the middle of September. The foreign sounding male who took my call did not seem to know or be able to check anywhere to see if it was possible and take a booking. Instead he advised me to call back on Monday morning. I then took the opportunity to send an e.mail to hotel reception to make my enquiry as advised on their website. That was about two weeks ago and I am still awaiting a reply. I have come to the conclusion that the staff their are obviously incompetent and on that basis I doubt very much whether I would want to stay there even if they did have a room free!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank He4therA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Book in time was supposed to be 1300 hours but on arrival we were sent to the room only to find out it was still being cleaned. The room was ok but there was a lot of dust on a beam, a curtain on a skylight was badly torn and filthy. One of the bedside lights was hanging of the wall. In the bathroom there was the sound of constant running water, which disturbed us during the night. There were also a lot of dogs at the hotel who spoke loudly to each other during the night, and because I don't talk dog it only kept me awake. When we woke up in the morning and got ready for breakfast we found we could not get out of the room because of a faulty lock, so we had to phone the reception to be released from our predicament. Fire hazard or what. On our final day we had planned on complaining but management were otherwise detained by a customer complaining about a flooded room, due to a leaky radiator. All in all I would liken it to Fawlty Towers. We will not be returning there ever!!

Room Tip: Go to a decent Hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel would have been outdated 100 years ago.

Where do i start?

Dust everywhere, tired looking rooms and uncomfy bed, all resulting im a terrible experience

The staff were friendly but thats about it. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickyd2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel had a few bad reviews but I was told that it has recently changed hands. I think the new owners are trying hard to turn the place round. OK, it's not the most scenic location (it's right next to the football ground) but then the area is a bit depressed having lost a lot of major employment so nearby parts of the town are run-down. The wall paper in my (single) room needed sticking back down & the cold tap on my en-suite basin howled like a fog horn at some settings. But the staff were very helpful & friendly and the food was I thought very good. We ate there every evening as a result. I also thought the cost very reasonable & would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamson831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
137 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
13.8 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Hotel

Address: Park Terrace, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8RF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tregenna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Hotel Merthyr Tydfil, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing