We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mohammed

Nice clean Hotel with wonderful staff

Review of Tregenna Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2019via mobile
Really nice clean Hotel with very considerate and hospitable staff. Spent a few nights here with my family whilst touring the Brecon beacons. Really clean and comfortable beds / rooms. This hotel is literally a stone's throw from the Brecon Beacons, Big Pit, Mountain Railway and other wonderful attractions in this area. I would recommend to all.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Tregenna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Julian MacDonald Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £82
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Tregenna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 miles from Tregenna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our double room was quaint.
Lol.travel
    0.1 miles from Tregenna Hotel
    Free parking
    Bar/Lounge
    Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    3.0 miles from Tregenna Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    eDreams
    • Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    2.7 miles from Tregenna Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Winchfawr Lodges at Christmas
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.1 miles from Tregenna Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    getlstd_property_photo
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.6 miles from Tregenna Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
    Reviews (148)
    Filter reviews
    148 results
    Traveller rating
    26
    36
    32
    21
    33
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    26
    36
    32
    21
    33
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 148 reviews
    Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

    Stayed at this hotel for two nights staff at reception very pleasant and helpful also tried out the restaurant over the two nights I stayed there the food is very good a good selection on the menu for bar meals well worth a stop over also car parking at the rear of the hotel ...

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    1  Thank Brian D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

    Me and a friend spent 4 nights here as a base while we explored Brecon Beacons and it wasn’t that bad.
    Nice welcome when we got there from a lady with Blonde hair and a man with dark hair. We tried to ask about breakfast to the lady owner and she said yes just come down and we will get you breakfast so we did and the man owner told us we couldn’t have breakfast and we had to book the day before.
    So we brought our own and had breakfast in bed each morning.....much nicer.
    On our last day while we was packing the cleaner locked us in our room so we couldn’t get out twice as we was taking cases to the car and the second time we had to ring down to reception for them to let us out.
    But it was clean the shower was good and the bed was comfy and that’s all we needed. Half hour away from most of Brecons amazingness and it has a complex near it that you can grab food from.
    Not a bad base...

    Date of stay: August 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank jemmaw747
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 July 2018

    This hotel building is looking a bit dated now, but the rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. I received a friendly welcome and the staff were very helpful. The hotel has a nice bar and and restaurant serving good food at reasonable prices.

    Room tip: We had two rooms and both were very nice.
    Date of stay: June 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank James L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

    We stayed over for one night, we had a chalet type room at the back. The room and on suite were of a decent standard for what you pay. Comfy bed and clean room, however there was some miscommunication when we were checking in but that was quickly sorted out. We had dinner and the food was really good I had the Tregenna Chicken and my partner had the Lamb Shank, really well cooked, reasonably priced and good sized portions. Could do with a bit of an update and we couldn’t park on the car park as there was no space so we needed up on the road in front of the hotel, this wasn’t ideal with a car full of equipment which is why we chose a hotel with a car park. All in all though I would recommend it.

    Date of stay: July 2018
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank alexsS1584AT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

    Visit here regularly as we teach at the local hospital. Accepting this is a two star hotel I really can't fault it. We always get a warm welcome, rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is very good.
    I like the dated feel of the place, it feels cosy and relaxing. Despite being old, the furniture is clean and cared for.
    Always very happy to come here.

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    2  Thank Amelie265
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews