We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cream tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Barn Tea Room

The Old Barn Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Merthyr Tydfil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stopped here by chance while driving round admiring the scenery. I sat outdoors and was entertained by the gorgeous chaffinches, jays and other birds which were flying around. Having chosen the cream tea, I hadn't realised just how big the scones were and was unable to finish it - however the birds appreaciated the leftover scone!

The staff were so helpful and when I explained that I was disabled and unable to walk far gave me tips for places I could drive to to get fabulous views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    31
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having been on a long walk in the Brecon Beacons, we caught sight of a sign for The Old Barn Tea Room as we returned to our car. We are so glad that we made the effort to find it. This little gem, tucked away in the trees is a delight, with its china crockery, wonderful service from some of the most cheerful people I have ever seen in a restaurant, its freshly cooked and prepared food (the Welsh cakes are to die for) and its atmospheric high-vaulted barn location. A little secret that would be all too easy to keep to ourselves, but then it would be wrong not to review it on here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seas0ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystrad Mynach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will go back again for sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice setting, clean and the tables were well set out and laid with bone china crockery. A varied menu with a selection of home baked cakes, The cream was extremely nice, we needed more cream and jam and this was freely given. Looking forward to having Sunday lunch soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Revisited it after enjoying it so much!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My partner and I returned to the Tea Room for a second time after such a wonderful first time experience.

The welsh cake are delicious, but the scones had just came out of the oven! The best I have ever tasted ffwooaa!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dipper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch choice of beef pork or chicken with roast and boiled potatoes carrots peas Yorkshire pudding filled with stuffing and choice of dessert just about managed to clear the plate

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gwrhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Barn Tea Room also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil
 
Dowlais, Merthyr Tydfil
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 

Been to The Old Barn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing