We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spa day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Beautiful hotel in the stunning countryside! Have been visiting the hotel restaurant for many years but this was the first time for a spa day. Unfortunately, the building inside is looking more tired and worn than ever! A refurbishment would be very welcomed! Checked into reception which was quick and staff very friendly! Started our afternoon with lunch - as always the food was lovely with good service! Nothing was to much for the waitress. Although we had an issue regarding vegetarian food which was not resolved we didn't let it spoil our day!
The spa - our treatments were not booked until late so had all afternoon to use the facilities! We were given towels and robes and left to our own devices! Changing rooms a bit worn, tired and small! Disappointing! Pool area clean, unable to use steam room as it was to overpowering for me but sauna was lovely! Beds at side of the pool were relaxing and jacuzzi was nice!
When it came to our treatments, all I want to say is perfect! Couldn't fault them at all! The staff were lovely and very professional!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine74Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    237
    117
    78
    30
See reviews for
111
365
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wonderful hotel in beautiful countryside. Excellent food in the restaurant and lovely atmosphere. The spa is very good and the massage treatments are excellent. All in all a very nice romantic weekend

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Have to agree with donnakebab's review of the Nant Ddu. The spa area is very tired and badly need if a refurb. I would have been v disappointed if we had paid for a spa deal.

Room was pleasant but I had to wash my hair in the sink before dinner as there was only a drip of luke warm water from the shower. I calked reception and was given an apology but told this was pribaky because 'everyone was using the shower at the same time' - I didn't think I was in Greece...

Anyway, Food was ok and pub area cosy for a drink. Had a nice massage before our departure in the morning. Overall I don't think id return :(

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to announce that in the Spring we will be commencing works on creating 2 new treatment rooms which will lift the whole of the Spa area.

In addition we have just commenced work on bringing a new larger water main into the property whilst we are having a huge water storage tank built. This will greatly increase our on site water storage and reduce our dependance on the water mains pressure which does fluctuate and at peak times can leave us short of water.

Thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nant Ddu in 2014 when you will be able to experience these improvements for yourself.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Visited the Nant Ddu last night for a quiet family meal to celebrate my fathers 65th birthday. What a let down!

We have been visiting the Nant Ddu for nearly twenty years and I have to say its so sad seeing this lovely establishment decline. The staff were lacking personality. The décor was tired and the toilets were not the best.

The food was very disappointing, however the small piece of plastic found within the slices of the slow roasted Welsh lamb did add some excitement. We complained to one of the waitresses who took the offending plastic and returned with a senior waitress who informed us that "Chef says its an onion skin" Onion skin-I think not! She seemed quite offended by our insistence that it was fact plastic, the type of plastic you have on pre-packed food and "kindly" deducted the one meal from our bill, as if she was doing us some sort of massive favour!

My family and I were quite taken aback by the way we were treated but chose not to make a fuss. Most of us finished our food and we ended up calling our taxi to collect us earlier than we had arranged.

A very disappointing visit. What a shame!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sticks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you felt let down. I am at the hotel this morning and will raise your comments with the team, but as you will see from the reviews on this site, our food is our "crowning glory" and utterly dependable and of a very high standard.

Our food is prepared and cooked on the premises using fresh, local ingredients so please rest assured whilst we take your comments very seriously, you may rest easy that all is prepared according to very strict guidelines.

Thank you for commenting and I do hope that you will enjoy your next meal at Nant Ddu as thousands do every month.

Apologies and kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I booked into the hotel for overnight stay and we had package deal that included dinner and breakfast, we were happy with our room, The food in the restaurant was very nice but the service was very slow, breakfast was nice but we were disappointed that only continental breakfast was included in our package deal and we were charged extra for cooked breakfast and cups of coffee,I feel that the coffee at least should have been provided as part of the breakfast as it is in every other hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review and for many years now the Nant Ddu has included in the room price a very comprehensive "cold selection" with includes cereals, yogurts, compotes, fruit segments, croissants, cereals, a range of breads, teas, coffees etc.

For those that wish to have a cooked breakfast we make a small additional charge which I am told is less than breakfast at a Little Chef or McDonalds. I am sorry you were disappointed by this. The alternative would be to increase the room prices to everyone to include a cooked breakfast which most people dont want which seems a trifle unfair.

We do not charge for coffee with breakfast so I am not sure when else you may have had coffee in the lounge perhaps? If you could contact the hotel we will refund this for you.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Visited for a spa day, was very disappointed. The spa is in desperate need of a refit. The steps into the pool were loose. There were tiles missing around the jaccuzzi, Mould around the sinks in the changing rooms; plaster coming off the walls in the toilets.
On an upside, the food was good, and the spa treatments were excellent performed by professional staff
I won't go back though, not unles it gets an upgrade!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaKebab20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks for your review and we note that you visited over 3 months ago but have only just posted and not if you have the right hotel, but having checked the areas you mention these seems to be fine.

Do hope we welcome you back again.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed on Friday for my birthday and as usual had a fantastic time at the Nant Ddu, lovely atmosphere and delicious food. Staff friendly and welcoming and was nice to see many faces still the same as last year, i think that speaks volumes for a hotel as happy staff mean happy customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmtaf
9.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
9.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
17.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 470 Cwm Taf (on the A, Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales (Formerly Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Cwmtaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former AA Welsh Hotel of the Year, the Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, Bistro and Spa is a contemporary inn in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park. You could not find a more ideal location for your short break or business trip with highlights including: 32 individually designed bedrooms, extensive grounds with two rivers for the summer, blazing log fires in the winter, a bustling bistro and an intimate bar, extensive menus specialising in game and fish dishes with great puddings, a state-of-the-art health spa with 18 metre pool, gym and spa pool, a treatment centre offering a wide range of health and beauty treatments, attentive staff at all times and all at great value prices. The Nant Ddu Lodge is also a great place to base yourself while exploring the Beacons and the Valleys of South Wales with Cardiff being just 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nant Ddu Hotel Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa Merthyr Tydfil/Cwmtaf, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing