We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Llwyn Onn Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Llwyn Onn Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cwmtaf B&B and Inns
Corwen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Clean, tidy and very well maintained. I often rate a hotel of the state of the bathroom, is there black mould hiding in the silicon. The bathroom here was spotless. The breakfast was first rate, offered all sorts and far more that I could eat, all freshly cooked to order. The reception was locked at 3:00pm, so we went off to do our thing. I phoned at 5:00 and said I'd be late arriving back. I was told the key would be left for me, and when I arrived at 11:00 I was able to enter the house with no problem, a note had been left for me with some instructions. It would have been nice to be greeted at 3:00 but it was no great problem. The House is situated out in the country side in the village of Llwyn Onn, but is only a few minuets drive from Merthyr, for food, shops etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwlh1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    50
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
23
65
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dunedin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room was big,clean and nicely setout. We had a nice wee view of the reservoir from our bedroom window. The breakfast was good. Have to agree with another reviewer that check in time is a little bit late 5pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pazDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this B and B as the advertisement suggested that the food was good and we would be able to get an evening meal. It also implied that the rooms would overlook the reservoir. We booked for three nights so that we could explore the area. What is not obvious in the photograph is that the building extends back from the front and most rooms overlook the car park. Our room was comfortable and we were glad to have a bath with plenty of hot water. When we asked the rather unfriendly proprietress about an evening meal we were told there were places nearby....... But she offered no suggestions as to where to look. This place was miles from anywhere!.....The first night we ended at a supermarket in Myrthyr Tydfil and had fruit and yoghurt as we had no plates or cutlery and didn't fancy Macdonalds. Next day we found that pubs near the walks don't serve lunch on weekdays and we drove to Brecon to find a meal. This area has been hit by unemployment and is depressed offering little apart from natural beauty to the tourist. Would be wise to carry a thermos and picnic.
The downside to Llwyn Onn guesthouse were the cooked breakfasts. Soggy fried eggs floating in the liquid spooned onto the plate with the warmed up tinned mushrooms and tinned tomatoes, served with thickish fatty bacon all served tepid...... Day two tried boiled eggs, bad mistake as they were almost raw....day three back to fried eggs on their own......why is it necessary to flip the oil on top?.....
And this was the guesthouse that left out a prominent box for tips!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Although given a very good rating for this guest house, have to say we came away with mixed feelings. Having read other reviews I was not sure I had done the right thing in booking this as night away after visiting Penderyn Distillery! It did take a while to find Llwyn Onn but not as difficult as some others have described. This guest house is truly in the heart of the Brecon Beacon National Park, with the reservoir and stunning views on the doorstep.
However, the 17.00 hrs check in is not particularly friendly, especially for visitors who have had long journey`s and just want to check in, relax a while before going out for an evening meal, which is a few miles drive away in either direction.
Breakfast was good. (Waitress very friendly and helpful),did take a while, but knowing that it was cooked to order was worth the wait. So if in no particular hurry to get away make the most of it!
Room was spacious, clean, warm. Have to agree with an earlier reviewer, coffee, tea & biscuits were kept to a minimum, not very inviting.
All in all this was a very betwixt and between place to stay. Sad to say not sure we would return.

Room Tip: Room 5. Over looking car park but not a problem. Very cosy, bed okish, shower excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ifwoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Guest House itself ticked all the boxes. The room and en-suite bathroom were a good size. The room was well equipped and very clean. The bathroom was modern and functional. Tea & coffee making facilities were provided along with freeview TV. Breakfast was of good quality. Parking spaces were generously sized. Service was fine.
On the downside, the location was on the A470, 4 miles North of Merthyr Tydfil and so a little isolated and evening meals required a trip out in the car. Also, my smart phone could not pick up the Wi-Fi in our room and we were advised that reception was limited to the lounge area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which overlooked the car park. No complaints but we could hear the boiler next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The location of this guest house is ideal for seeing the hills. It was only a 10 min drive away though there isn't much else around, not that you'll notice as the Brecon Beacons park is so beautiful. But one word of advice be sure to have some cash as you'll be miles away from an ATM and most places take cash only.

Our room was much nicer than we expected and the guest house bigger than we expected and very well looked after. Our breakfast was of good quality. Eggs served how you like, beans, thick rashon of bacon, sausage, fried bread a selection of toast, juices, jams,.....and this isn't your typical hotel buffet. All hot food was made to order.

The ladies who ran the place and served breakfast were friendly and helpful.

We wished we stayed longer, but will visit again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank missparaminuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The position is lovely and the service makes a change from the modern 'hotel' feel of many places. It has character and charm, providing a refuge after a day exploring the area on foot or by car. Very much Arnold style guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmtaf
1.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.6 mi away
Penrhadw Farm
Penrhadw Farm
#1 of 3 in Pontsticill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
10.6 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyn Onn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyn Onn Guest House

Property: Llwyn Onn Guest House
Address: Cwmtaf CF48 2HT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Cwmtaf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmtaf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyn Onn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Llwyn Onn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwyn Onn Guest House Merthyr Tydfil/Cwmtaf, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing