We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Morningside Villa”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dkwilcox
2 reviews
“Morningside Villa”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Morningside had all the amenities we needed. Nice area for walks in the morning and easy access to Klein bay. We did not use the bay as it is a rocky beach, but saw others kayaking and snorkeling there. We chose to use the north shore sandy beaches. Nice view to see most of sunrise and sunset. A few hills in the way. Still beautiful. What looks like a hottub portion of the pool is not a fully heated hottub but does have jets. Bedrooms were small but didn't mind it as we were gone to beaches every day. The best part of the house was how there were 4 "garage- like" doors from dining room/kitchen/living room that opened right to the pool. Felt like we were living outdoors every morning with breakfast and coffee, maybe even a short float in the pool before heading to the beaches. Enjoyed that open air feeling with a glass of wine and appetizers by the pool before going out to dinner. Good location and price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watermflo...
Oakland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“All rooms are NOT equal!”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four couples leased Morningside Villa for one week, and divided the villa cost by 4. When we got there, we found that two couples would have the sub-standard "basement" rooms, which besides not getting sea breezes or views (being in line with the underside of the mountain), they have open showers with AC units outside the showers, where strangers could climb into shower and access the unit; AND most of all: the rooms were like rooms in a Holiday Express: tiny, un-appointed, no-decor, the safe did not work (we requested twice: never did work), and the lock from the "open" shower into the bedroom only took about 6 wrenches of a man's hand, and could be opened from the shower into the room. Unsafe!

I tried to download pictures of the differences between the lovely entrance-floor rooms vs the basement rooms: upstairs: cathedral high wooden woven ceilings: below: 8 ft low popcorn ceilings. upstairs: high end furniture and decor with nicer ceiling fans; below: 20 year old ceiling fans: dusty. Below: we had to use AC non-stop: no breezes. We would walk out of our room: patio door: to see a public road about 12 feet away. If we did not close our blinds: people on the road could see us in the room. I was unsuccessful with the pictures’ download: sorry!

We told our group that the two downstairs groups should get a discount with the group. They told us that since we were "young" (by 10 years) we were the only ones that could walk up and down the stairs to our rooms: thus we had no choice: thus we had no rebate for the bad rooms. BTW: by the time you walk up and down the very steep stairs, 10-12 times a day: to dress, to go to the toilet, to shower again, to dress for going out...ones knees: no
matter what age: hurt! My guess-ta-mate: the below rooms price point value is about 1/2 the value of the upstairs’ lovely view and breeze-way rooms!

We told our hosts: we will not go next year, as they told us we would get the basement rooms again. Good bye: Morningside Villa! Too bad your rooms are not equal! Two couples split two ways would be perfect! BTW: the downstairs rooms are not safe: no interior access to the house. no cell phone coverage, no land lines, no walkie-talkies, and as stated before: anyone can get into those rooms via the shower. I would NOT put my children or teens into these rooms either!

Wish it had been better! I give you a two star for inequality! and stating in reviews that all rooms are equal! Upstairs is lovely! Downstairs is second or third class!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review of Morningside Villa. We are sorry that the layout of the villa was not what you expected. While this villas four bedrooms are all identical in layout and size, they are indeed built on two floors, with two bedrooms on the upper level and two bedrooms lower level. We have made every effort to emphasize this by providing a detailed floor plan and photos of each room on our website. In the event the floor plan is in anyway misleading we will have it reviewed and adjusted accordingly should it be determined to need editing.

We are sorry that you were in any way dissatisfied, and we are pleased to know that you did otherwise enjoy the villa. We hope to welcome you back to St. John in the future.

We would advise anyone who is considering renting a villa to please ask our wonderful reservations agents any questions about the layout or location of any villa that you are considering renting prior to confirming a rental. We want our guests to be happy knowing that they are in a home that is perfect for their group. Please note that we all live and work on St. John and we are all very familiar with each of the homes that we work with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittylove...
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot say that we are impartial vacationers at this villa. We built it in 1992/93, and owned it for 10 years.

However, it is still as wonderful as it was when it was brand new! The layout is exceptional for 8 people, with 4 separate bedrooms, each with it's own private bathroom and partial outdoor shower. We were very impressed with the new kitchen, appliances and cabinets. This is a place for entertaining. The items that we felt needed upgrading when we sold, have been done beautifully.

The home was adequately supplied with all nice new linens, the bath towels were fantastic! I could see getting new mattresses, but we slept well so that was not a problem. The kitchen was stocked with everything you may need, but a few more coffee mugs would have been great. We were only 2 people in a big house, so we never used the dishwasher, but the rest of the appliances were new, clean and very functional, including the ice maker, which was a treat to have.

Catered to, the rental managers, were very accommodating. We did have a problem with the hot tub, which was fixed by the 4th day of our stay.

The views are fantastic, with 220 degree water views. We felt the trees should be trimmed to enhance the view, but that is a personal opinion, which does not necessarily take away from the experience. Being on a remote island, the fact that all the roads to get to this home are paved and very drivable is a definite plus.

I have 2 negatives, which keep me from giving a 5* review.
First was the lack of long distance service. We do have AT&T as our cell provider, which is the carrier in St John, but for some reason could never get a signal at the house. When there was a problem with our returning air reservations, there was no long distance on the home phone - not even for an 800 number.
Second was the condition of the lower patios, which were very mildewed. I would not have liked to walk barefooted there, but we never used that area, so we were OK.
Both of these items are easily fixed and I hope the current owners do not take offense at my mentioning them.

All in all, we loved returning to Morningside (albeit did seem a little strange!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Telephone service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cleveland
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paula O
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Views, Great House, Great Time”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our extended family spent a week at Morningside Villa in early January 2014. The house exceeded all expectations. The views from the house were spectacular- and with the nice pool and hot tub, we enjoyed much time on site. The bedrooms were very private and the kitchen was well equipped - plus we enjoyed the gas grill. We walked to a nice but rocky beach close by where we enjoyed snorkeling. The driveway is a little tight for two cars- but we solved that issue by leaving one car at the foot of the driveway. We can't wait to rent the house again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing