We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La Bella Vita”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jukasy
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
“La Bella Vita”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018

We rented this villa after Hurricane Irma made our original villa and wedding venue uninhabitable. We had the wedding at another villa close by. We wanted to be the location in Virgin Grand Estates and the outdoor spaces that this home offers were the selling point. Undoubtedly it is a spectacular home and has a wonderful layout with the four equal master suites and separate shared spaces. There is never a moment the view isn’t breathtaking. The home does still have some repairs needed, the house next door is in the middle of a tear down which was quite disturbing during the day time. There is no phone service at the villa or cable. Only AT&T worked for us. The maintenance man was there often and very nice. There is a generator which was important. I recommend using a surge protector for your electronics we lost a few cords due to the surges. I would give this a five star but there were quite a lot of things that weren’t ready for us on arrival and that management didn’t prepare us for. I would rent this home again, however I would want to ensure the drainage and some the other items were repaired first. The owners are very blessed to have such a lovely home that wasn’t totally lost during that catastrophic storm. Our hope is the Island continues recovering and we can return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aimeebgur...
Ormond Beach FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Amazing villa with beautiful views! Loved the location, the rental company was great to work with, the villa was very well provisioned - there was nothing we looked for that they did not have. Everything about our stay was lovely! Cannot wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushola
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Second time, just as nice!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Second time at this beautiful property! It just doesn't get any better than this. The home is perfect for up to 4 couples or families. We loved the views. It is not a long drive into town for groceries, to restaurants or the beaches. All the modern comforts with grill, pool time and a/c that works like a champ! This is a dream property and we LOVE it here! The updated speaker system is great and allows for perfect pool and grill evenings! New beach chairs were great! Pack light and use the washer and dryer. My only recommendation would be that the front loading washers need bleach to clean the drums regularly to remove the mildew smell that can be left on clothes. Otherwise, everything was perfect! Wish I had a place to leave photos because it is one heck of a view! Drinks on the veranda at night is ah-mazing and coffee in the morning could not be better! We will return so long as no one takes our week! Enjoy!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan Z
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than Advertised”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

La Bella Vita is better than advertised. The pictures do not do the place justice. We had a group of 9 people and one infant. Out of the 9, six were adults and three were between the ages of five and twelve. This house was perfect for us. Three of the bedrooms had king size beds for the three couples. The four bedroom had two twin beds—and then we had a rollout brought in—which was ideal for the three kids. The infant slept in a pack-n-play which the house provided. All four bedrooms had their own bathroom and shower, plus there were two additional common bathrooms throughout the property.

The pool, while not technically an infinity pool, practically is. It is large enough for kids to play-in. the depth of it ranges from 4ish feet to over 6 feet. The best part of the house is all of the outdoor space. The property has plenty of terraces, complete with lounges and chairs. The outdoor Viking grill and outdoor Subzero mini fridge are also convenient. As for the house itself, each bedroom is private in that it can only be reached by walking outside on the covered veranda. The house is wired inside and out with the Sonos sound system, which is easily accessed through the Sonos app. Also, the house has wireless internet but given St. John, it can be sporadic. Each room of the house has its own AC unit, complete with remote control. The most difficult part of the house is learning which switches control which lights and ceiling fans. In defense of the house, there are labels on all of the switches.

The house is great for families or for couples. Note though, the house has many steps from the pool up to the main floor. One of our favorite parts of our trip were the iguana friends who shared our patio almost every day! We loved the house and are already discussing when we might visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irish34nd
Portland, ME
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome villa!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been travelling to St. John for many years and always rent a different villa each year. We have found our favorite and would definitely go back to La Bella Vita. The views are the best we have seen on the island - great sunsets (as with most houses near Chocolate Hole and Great Cruz Bay), but also was high enough to see to the north, over other hills of St. John - other homes in Virgin Grande Estates right down the road don't have views as good as La Bella Vita.

We had 2 families with a total of 4 kids - plenty of room for everyone to spread out with the equally sized bedrooms. The living space was excellent - ate outside every night at the outdoor kitchen. Great Viking grill and fridge outside that allowed us to not make many trips back to the kitchen during happy hour.

Service from Catered To is outstanding - we broke an outdoor light fixture and their maintenance staff came to clean up the glass that day, along with the pool staff who swept the pool so we could enjoy it the rest of our stay.

The only issue we had with our stay was that the kitchen did not have a pot big enough to cook the lobster we had caught while snorkeling!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great sunset views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Livonia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful home with great views!”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The house was as described and we were not disappointed. The beds were very comfortable and loved the individual air conditioning units in each bedroom. The open air shower was wonderful but it really isn't an "outdoor" shower as it's enclosed in the bathroom. But it did have a great view through the screened window. The outdoor Viking grill was outstanding and worked great.
Only problems were small but did affect us. The patio refrigerator did not work at all which created a lack of storage for cold drinks when we were laying out by the pool. So we had to go up the stairs and in to the kitchen fridge each time. And with food for 8 people in there it didn't leave much room for the beverages. The property manager did tell us about it when we got there and said he was going to try to replace it while we were there but it didn't happen. There were not enough cushions for the patio furniture which was unusual because the rest of the house was so well appointed. Overall it was an excellent rental I would recommend to anyone.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Hi;

Thanks so much for the positive review of La Bella Vita. We wish to apologize for the patio refrigerator not working. Being a Viking appliance, it is challenging getting replacement parts here in the Virgin Islands. We have been able to find the pieces necessary and should have this feature repaired soon. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houstonhu...
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The pictures don't do this villa justice. It's absolutely AMAZING. We had 7 people in our party. It was more than enough space for all of us. We took full advantage of the pool and outdoor areas. The villa was nicely appointed. Cateredto was awesome to work with. The villa isn't too far from Cruz Bay or the beaches to the north. I will miss waking up to those incredible views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing