We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Character Villa with Great Views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kevboom
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Character Villa with Great Views”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed a recent stay at Chateau la Tete Rouge in January 2014, with three couples and a single. The house had a ton of character and incredible views over the south shore of St. John, with a sunset view to the extreme right of the front porch. We loved the pool area with tons of lounge chairs and big crank umbrellas to provide shade. The pool area had a bathroom with shower, hot tub, and elevated yoga deck. The surrounding hillside was blooming in every imaginable shade--beautiful grounds, and very private--can’t even see another house. We were impressed with the “extras” left at the house for guest use. In a closet by the pool were tons of beach chairs, snorkel gear, a frisbee/football for the beach, and a cooler. There were beach towels spread all over the house--no need to bring from home. In the living room was a cabinet filled with tour books, novels, games, and DVDs. In the kitchen pantry were tons of spices and supplies one would typically have to buy at a rental house (e.g., baggies, trash bags, towels, salt/pepper, cooking oil, etc.). This saves guests quite a bit of money and hassle. We were also surprised to have mid-week housekeeping service with a change of towels and sheets. Most weekly rentals don’t bother, so this was unexpected and nice to have. This house has a great upper and lower covered porch with incredible views and tons of soft seating to relax and enjoy the view. The main living area of the house has four heavy security screens that lift and lower with the flip of a switch. We didn’t have any trouble with the temperature, as breezes and ceiling fans kept that area cool, in January anyway. The bedrooms had a/c, so they were plenty cool--no problems there either. We saw one bat fly into the indoor-outdoor living room one night, but he left promptly, and the person staying in the loft thinks he heard a rodent of some sort scratching about, but that was also a one-time affair. The house had rodent sonar deterrents spread about, so I guess that’s something they try to keep under control. Mosquitoes did not seem that bad, and the house has a couple of “coils” that are supposedly keeping that in check. A few birds and one feral cat came for a visit, but didn’t stay long. In short, the indoor-outdoor living seemed to work for us with a few minor hiccups, and yes you can lock up the upper living area (and lower bedrooms) when you are away from the house. The house is very well furnished with plenty of comfortable furniture spread about. The cabinets in the bathrooms and kitchen look a bit dated, but functioned just fine. We also weren’t crazy about the louvered bedroom doors that allow sound to travel in and out of bedrooms very easily. If someone wants to watch tv in the living room, it’s pretty easy to disturb someone trying to sleep in the master bedroom. We noted a few problems the owner and/or Catered To rental agency might want to check on: the mattress in the master bedroom needs to be replaced; cable connections in two of the bedrooms didn’t work very well; and the shower in one of the downstairs bathrooms only trickled, forcing causing two couples to share. All in all, a very good week, and we loved the house with just a few recommendations. Would recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjsulliva...
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No complaints, nice villa, and prompt management!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this villa, and we were skeptical with only air in the bedrooms. We have stayed on St. John, but did not know what we might get with the property or the management company. We were celebrating my 40th birthday and invited a couple friends. The villa was clean, the pick up service from the ferry was on time, the pool and deck areas were also neat and well maintained. The villa is in a quiet area, and we did not have any neighborhood disturbances. We had to call the management company a couple of times, and they were prompt with all concerns. We live in Florida, and I thought the villa would be too hot with only the air conditioning in the bedrooms, but it was comfortable and I was surprised. I would suggest this villa to any of my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the villa.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaLaPhD
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best views on St. John”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Chateau La Tete Rouge the last week in July, 2012 with extended family. This villa is extraordinary and has all the amenities anyone could need for a lovely vacation. Far enough away from everyone yet close enough to shopping and down town Cruz Bay. The views are top-notch from the great room and it was wonderful to drink our coffee in the morning on the porch with wonderful breezes. The pool and deck is where we spent most of our afternoons after day trips to the beach. It is wonderful to have a bathroom outside right near the pool and the patio furniture is comfortable and luxurious. If you put a little bowl of sugar water on the patio table, the birds will fly right up and have a drink. Friendly iguanas come out in the afternoon to sun themselves and we also saw deer below the deck.

I really appreciate the Tervis cups because they keep your drinks cold, don’t leave rings and are perfect for cocktails by the pool. I was very impressed with the quality of dinner and kitchen ware. We had everything we needed to make dinners at the villa. My only caveat might be it is time to sharpen the knives.

This villa is PERFECT for 3 couples vacationing together because each bedroom has its own bathroom. The lower 2 bedrooms are separate from the upstairs and there is enough privacy for everyone. I especially loved the serene meditation spot on the deck. A perfect place for yoga or prayer, and I would sit peacefully there every morning.

The driveway can be a challenge, just back in. The villa has beach chairs and great beach towels and the Catered To management was wonderful and responsive. We are already excited about our trip to the villa next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Knives need to be sharpened
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kansas City
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlottesville
Reviewed 13 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing