We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”
Review of Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treetops
Ranked #4 of 7 St. John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Could not ask for more in the way of beauty, peaceful and restful surroundings, or gracious, remarkable hosts. From glorious mornings and breakfasts with great conversation, to excellent beach and restaurant suggestions, Karen and Hank are sensitive to their guests privacy needs while giving great travel advice.
St. John is a wonderful vacation spot, but Treetops makes it personal and special. Loved the outdoor shower, breeze at night, glorious mountain views and full moon over Fish Bay. Will be back before long.

Room Tip: Any room is a good one. Walking the hills was better than any indoor fitness center could possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. Karen and Hank are so friendly and helpful. Their reviews of local restaurants and snorkeling were wonderful. We were able to unplug and relax on their porch.

Taking "Potluck" out to Hank's secret snorkeling locations afforded us the opportunity to see different marine life (sharks) than we were able to see from locations accessible from shore. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeekIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights in April, 2013. Karen made us feel very much at home in her little B&B. Treetops was just the place for us to relax and enjoy the birds, tree frogs and the sounds of nature at night. Our room, The Captain's Quarters, had two air conditioners but we never used them, preferring to leave the windows open to hear the frogs and other critters at night.

Karen was a great source of information for our daily adventures and also provided coolers, beach chairs, big towels, a bird ID book, guide books, and maps for our use. All that in addition to very nice breakfasts that always included fresh fruit, juice, coffee, baked goods and friendly conversation. The breakfast room is also a great place to watch birds (bananaquits, pearly-eyed thrashers, hummingbirds) in the morning.

It takes 10-15 minutes of time to drive the rental jeep from Cruz Bay to Treetops. Driving on St. John takes a little getting used to. Between the steep hills, narrow roads, and left-lane orientation, it is not what I'm used to... Even so, after a couple days, we were quite comfortable getting around the island and making the trip from Treetops to Cruz Bay and back, even after dark. It was worth the drive to get out of the noise and bustle of Cruz Bay and into the sounds of nature at Treetops.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LakeSuperiorGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. Nice bed and breakfast. Wonderful hosts. We stayed here four nights and were very pleased. Affordable. We actually stayed here May 2012, but that wasn't a choice on the drop down menu. I just didn't get to writing a review untilnow. I am because I really believe in this place; it's wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMeyers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were so very happy to discover Karen & Hank's hideaway . Comfortable and well thought out for privacy and peace. We felt very "taken care of" from the tasty breakfasts to the outings on Pot Luck. Small fridge in the room, soaps & lotions, ceiling fan, great deck--every need covered. Thank you for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Made our trip, what a great guy! We took the 3 kids (10,8, and 5) out on the boat and Hank couldn't of been a better Captain. He took up to all the great snorkeling spots, would stop and give us some history about various parts of the island, and was wonderful with the kids. This really was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livineasystill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

First time visiting St John. Had an excellent time. Karen and Hank were great. Hank pretty much laid out our trip for us. He recommended various beaches and restaurants, which were all great calls. Looking forward to going out on his boat next time. Karen's breakfasts were terrific.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ScottA201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
437 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops

Address: Pelican Road | Fish Bay, 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. John
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: We are a 3-guest room B & B, and each of the rooms rent separately! Please call or email for accurate availability for each of the 3 rooms, as the attached calendar does not reflect reservations for all 3 rooms. Whether you enjoy hiking any of the many ruin-studded trails on St. John, or raising a glass at one of the many world famous beach bars, make Treetops your choice for convenient and economical accommodations. Nestled into abundant vegetation in tranquil Fish Bay, "Treetops" offers guests an affordable alternative to large resorts and pricey villas. This 3-guest room B&B has comfortable accommodations in queen-size beds. "The Captain's Quarters" is an air-conditioned 2-room suite with queen bed plus single day bed, kitchenette, lavatory and private, enclosed outside shower. "The First Mate's Headquarters" also has a queen-size bed, fridge, full (indoor) bath, and private deck. "The Bunkhouse" has a/c, fridge, lavatory and shower. *EACH OF THE ROOMS RENTS SEPARATELY. *Because of the steepness of the yard and height of the decks, Treetops is not recommended for small children. * The entire house can be rented out (all 3 guest rooms and owners' quarters) during Christmas week ONLY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetops St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing