We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treetops
Nearby Hotels
Gallows Point Resort(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$588
US$534
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$301
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caneel Bay Resort(Caneel Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elysian Beach Resort(East End)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
152
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain's quarterspot luckwonderful hostsfish bayoutdoor showerb bcaptain hankeach morningtree frogscruz baywonderful conversationkaren's breakfastspeaceful locationwonderful bed and breakfastlistening to the birdsshort driveother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our stay at Treetops exceeded any expectations we had. From start to finish, Hank, the owner, went out of his way to accommodate every need we had. Sitting on our deck in the evenings, and mornings was superb. We happened to be there for the full moon, which only enhanced an already glorious vacation spot. It's far enough from the hustle and bustle of town, yet close enough to get there whenever you'd want to.

All the information about the island was available to us, along with Hank's personal knowledge. He was a genuine person who cared about people and was passionate about the values and ideas we shared. We spent mornings together at breakfast which was set every morning in the screened dining area where we could watch the birds flitter about. Some evenings Hank offered us, along with another couple staying there fresh caught tuna on the bbq with other goodies for a small appetizer with some wine while chatting about the marvels of the day.

The breezes from our bed in the screened room were serene. When we returned home, we missed the birds chirping and the sound of the trees swaying in the wind in the evenings. It was our first visit to St. John, and you can be sure it won't be our last, and we hope to stay with Hank and Karen again in the near future.

The island is breathtaking. Every turn of the road led us to gasp at the sheer beauty of our surroundings. The beaches abound, as do the vistas. Great restaurants when you want them, and trails to hike, along with the stores if you are so inclined.

We thank Hank and Karen for sharing their piece of paradise, and look forward to more ventures next time. Perhaps next time we'll get out on the water with Hank.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenp344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Staying at Treetops was truly an island experience complete with all the sounds, sights and smells of what you would expect on a beautiful national park island paradise! Breakfast each morning was wonderful as we chatted with other guests and planned our excursions with Captain Hank. Hank is apparently is a well-known, knowledgable host who is well connected on the island. It's always great when you have a host who is also a boat captain! We enjoyed our day out on Hank's boat taking in the sights, snorkeling in the best spots, and also visiting the unforgettable Soggy Dollar Bar. Hank made all that easy and fun! This cozy bed and breakfast is an off the beaten path getaway and provides a quiet and affordable island experience. What more could you want from a B & B.... thanks Hank! Hope to cross paths again soon! Rick and Beth

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Delighted. That's the best word we can use to describe our feelings about our stay at Treetops.

We fell asleep each night listening to the sounds of nature, and awoke to delicious fruit, coffee and pastry. Captain Hank is the nicest person you could ever hope to meet, and was a fantastic host. He took us on his boat for a cruise and shared his knowledge of the sea and local history while we snorkeled and watched the sun set.

During most days, we visited the national park beaches. We had dinner at the restaurants in Cruz Bay, which is a short drive from Treetops. Captain Hank gave us his tips for which restaurants to visit, and his advice was spot on. We didn't have a bad meal the whole trip.

Since Treetops is located out of town, you'll need to rent a car when you visit. All the roads on St. John are steep, and most residents drive jeeps, so we found the high ground clearance of a Jeep would've been useful with the speed bumps, and in some of the beach parking lots where sometimes creative parking is required. We had a sedan for this visit, and we did OK, but next time we'll rent a Jeep.

The rooms are simple, but met our needs very well. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMRaisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at Treetops for 5 nights. It was the perfect place for a couple's getaway as it was very quite, serene, and an amazing view of all the island has to offer. Our 4th day on St. John was our wedding day and Karen and her friend, Patricia, did everything they could to help us with our special day, including having breakfast ready for us extra early, and surprising us with mimosas and a bottle of champagne. Karen was kind enough to drive my fiancée to Hawksnest Bay where we had our wedding, and Patricia helped me into my dress. We will never forget the amazing experience we had at Treetops, and Karen's help, hospitality and knowledge. This is definitely the place to stay if you're spending some time on St. John!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mieke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed in the Captain's Quarters at Treetops. We LOVED it!

Some of the best parts of our stay included the beautiful room with a nice seating area and small kitchen, the delicious breakfasts, the A/C (this was very nice!...I believe only the Captain's Quarters has A/C), no TV (my favorite part!), and of course Hank's boat trip which was spectacular. Hank was a great host...we wouldn't have change a thing about our stay.

Some other notes: The area is not within walking distance of downtown, but that was not an issue for us. We enjoyed being away from the crowd. There is wi-fi, so you are not completely out of the loop. The outdoor shower was strange at first, but you get used to it.

St. John is a beautiful, breathtaking island and I am counting down the days until we can visit again (at Treetops of course).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank LXC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews