We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treetops
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in St. John
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caneel Bay Resort(Caneel Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elysian Beach Resort(East End)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
152
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain's quarterspot luckwonderful hostsfish bayoutdoor showerb bcaptain hankeach morningtree frogscruz baywonderful conversationkaren's breakfastspeaceful locationwonderful bed and breakfastlistening to the birdsshort driveother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my wife had a fantastic stay for three days and nights at Tree Tops. We stayed in the Captains Quarters which had adequate space, fridge, futon, and queen size bed. We really enjoyed the serene feel of being in the woods and the peacefulness of the atmosphere. Hank was a great host we enjoyed some pleasant conversations in our mornings while having coffee and fresh bakery. He also took us out on the boat which was one of the highlights of our trip getting a more personal view of the Caribean, also doing some snorkeling! Obviously all the reviews were right on Tree Tops being a great place to stay with great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is everything the reviews make it out to be. Although the first time driving there was a little harrowing (driving on the WRONG side of the road took some getting used to), the terrain and serenity were more than worth the drive. It's close enough to Cruz Bay that you can quickly run into town to get whatever you need, but far enough away to avoid any traffic or other distractions of urban/suburban US. You can get anywhere on St. John inside of an hour, even keeping to the speed limit of 20, which was easier than you'd think.

Hank was an amazing host (Karen was snowed in back home while we were there), and went out of his way several times to make our stay even more comfortable and relaxing. Our day on the Pot Luck with Hank and another couple was probably the highlight of our trip, and the snorkeling he got us to was by far the best my wife or I had ever experienced.

We will definitely be staying at Treetops the next time we're in St. John. The hospitality, breakfasts, location, and all the extra effort made Treetops the perfect spot for my wife and I to getaway. I only wish we had spent all seven nights of our vacation there rather than spending a disappointing two nights in St. Thomas at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the First Mate's Headquarters, and we believe it's the best of the three accommodations. No A/C, but it wasn't needed, as the temperature seems to be exactly the same every day, and natural breezes through screened windows and the ceiling fan were perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was our second stay at Treetops. It was everything we remembered, and MORE. This time we stayed in The Bunkhouse, a very comfortable and cozy space. From breakfast with Hank, our wonderful host, to relaxing in the midst of the beautiful surroundings, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back, St John - and we'll be staying again at Treetops, without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our stay at Treetops exceeded any expectations we had. From start to finish, Hank, the owner, went out of his way to accommodate every need we had. Sitting on our deck in the evenings, and mornings was superb. We happened to be there for the full moon, which only enhanced an already glorious vacation spot. It's far enough from the hustle and bustle of town, yet close enough to get there whenever you'd want to.

All the information about the island was available to us, along with Hank's personal knowledge. He was a genuine person who cared about people and was passionate about the values and ideas we shared. We spent mornings together at breakfast which was set every morning in the screened dining area where we could watch the birds flitter about. Some evenings Hank offered us, along with another couple staying there fresh caught tuna on the bbq with other goodies for a small appetizer with some wine while chatting about the marvels of the day.

The breezes from our bed in the screened room were serene. When we returned home, we missed the birds chirping and the sound of the trees swaying in the wind in the evenings. It was our first visit to St. John, and you can be sure it won't be our last, and we hope to stay with Hank and Karen again in the near future.

The island is breathtaking. Every turn of the road led us to gasp at the sheer beauty of our surroundings. The beaches abound, as do the vistas. Great restaurants when you want them, and trails to hike, along with the stores if you are so inclined.

We thank Hank and Karen for sharing their piece of paradise, and look forward to more ventures next time. Perhaps next time we'll get out on the water with Hank.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenp344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Staying at Treetops was truly an island experience complete with all the sounds, sights and smells of what you would expect on a beautiful national park island paradise! Breakfast each morning was wonderful as we chatted with other guests and planned our excursions with Captain Hank. Hank is apparently is a well-known, knowledgable host who is well connected on the island. It's always great when you have a host who is also a boat captain! We enjoyed our day out on Hank's boat taking in the sights, snorkeling in the best spots, and also visiting the unforgettable Soggy Dollar Bar. Hank made all that easy and fun! This cozy bed and breakfast is an off the beaten path getaway and provides a quiet and affordable island experience. What more could you want from a B & B.... thanks Hank! Hope to cross paths again soon! Rick and Beth

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews