We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Power Boat Rentals

Tropic Power Boat Rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the trip of a lifetime with Captain Bob Conn on our 26 foot Glacier Bay Power Catamaran. With twin, fuel efficient and eco -friendly, four stroke, Yamaha outboards we can get you to any destination of choice with ease and in total comfort. Tropicat has a large shade awning over the spacious central salon, and wraparound enclosure with adjustable window openings for all weather conditions, a comfortable sundeck on the bow, enclosed toilet, fresh water rinse down, swim platform with 4- step ladder as well as fishing rods, floaties, and snorkel gear are available for your pleasure. Captain Bob has thirty years of local experience in and around the US and British Virgin Islands. He began his career as a Master Dive Instructor so has in-depth knowledge of local waters and some uncommon snorkel spots. His innate curiosity has led him to explore local history, flora and fauna. Whether you want to literally sit back and just enjoy the scenery or maximize your underwater time Captain Bob will customize the day just for you! We have chartered with all ages from in-the-womb to 98 years young-- so email or call us today to book your personal day of fun in paradise!
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Captain Bob showed our party of four adults a great day on the water. He astutely read our
comfort levels with snorkeling and our desires for a safe but adventuresome tour of the St. John's coral ecosystems. We covered four very different reef sites and enjoyed a leisurely lunch on board - all punctuated with great stories of local folklore.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't use anyone else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

There may be bigger boats or prettier boats, but on no boat will you feel safer & have as much fun as on Tropicat with Capt. Bob Conn.
He has loads of local knowledge and is an all around good guy. The kids love him. Your day on the water with Capt. Bob will be the highlight of your vacation.
Don't charter with anyone else on St. John.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wonderful day with Captain Bob who did a great job figuring out what would be best for our group. Spectacular snorkeling and a great introduction to St John. Will do it again next year! We really enjoyed it. Much better than larger snorkeling trips we have taken in the past.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bos2ncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Boat Rental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Tropical Powerboat Rentals was amazing! Our group of 6 passengers had so much fun! We chartered this boat to go snorkeling and to see some of the little hard to get to islands. Captain Bob was incredibly knowledgeable! We told him what we were interested in seeing and he, taking into account our snorkel abilities, took us to places that we would enjoy. Just for fun, Captain Bob took us to a location where we got to snorkel with millions of little bait fish and watch the Tarpon (4 - 5' fish) hunt them. It was amazing!

I wish that we had chartered this boat the first day we were in St. John. Not only did we get to see some amazing reefs and fish, but we learned of some beautiful secluded beaches, how to get there, what types of fish we would see in different snorkeling locations, etc. We had an amazing time in St. John! What a beautiful Island! I highly recommend Tropical Powerboat Rental if you are looking for a boat to rent in St. John!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Cap't Bob provided a magnificent boat and an even better attitude. The boat has plenty of shade as well and open bow area. Plenty of room for 6+ adults. Drinks are not provided so make sure your cooler is filled.

You will not be disappointed!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropic Power Boat Rentals also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Tropic Power Boat Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing