We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad road to a great house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starlit Escape Villa
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bad road to a great house”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The house is great. There is ample communal living space, a central bathroom (no tubs in the house) a master bedroom with private patio & bath, plus another private bedroom with a queen bed. The third bedroom is the smallest with 2 twin beds that can convert to a king and had a ladder (NOT a staircase) that leads to the loft. The loft has 2 full beds and overlooks this bedroom and the living room. We didn't use the loft space because it wasn't very convenient for any of us going up and down the ladder. There was a second master suite on the ground floor with it's own bath and huge balcony (near the pool) but it did not have direct access to the house (it was completely on the other side of the home).

PROS
- it was comfortable with just the windows and doors open (and I'm from Miami and live for central air)
- great amount of space and comfortable setting
- secluded, never disrupted by noise or neighbors
- loved that the grounds were gated so we didn't have to worry about the 3 kids running off, or animals coming up to the house and scaring urban folk :)
- the house was very clean and well maintained

CONS
- the road to get to the house is the pits,so much so that we put off running back to the house if we forgot something or wanted a mid-day break. There is a drought in St John right now and it made the surface of the road that much more rocky and difficult to manage
- the house has no views, not even from the happy hour tower, but it was great for star gazing at night

OTHER NOTES:
- the patios/grounds are great but the mosquitoes stop you from enjoying the outdoor space
- the patio from the living area/outdoor dining/grill has no direct access to the pool or ground level
- roosters and heard at all hours of the night, and since the windows are open at all times you can't escape it
- house is conveniently located up the road form the Love City Mini Mart which carried everything you need except fresh meat.
- Throughout the trip we never met the owners and they didn't check in on us. The day before our trip their friend Monica called and said she would help us out. She was very friendly and helpful, but it would of been nice to obtain the change of plans directly from the owners. This was not out first trip to St. John, and were accustomed to a personal level of service that was not provided while staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I honeymooned on St. John and decided to go back in June for our 5th anniversary -- this time with our 2 year-old daughter and my wife's parents and brother.

The GOOD:
The house is fantastic! It was very clean and comfortable in every sense. We fell asleep to the sounds of the jungle under the cool breeze and woke to the chirping of hundreds of birds. (Put out some sugar water and the bananaquits and humming birds will flock to the patio.) The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals, which we enjoyed at the large dining table. (They just installed a new refrigerator that dispenses COLD filtered water!). The pool was perfect for a late afternoon dip. Nice tropical landscaping (we had 2 tasty pineapples from the property). There were a few mosquitoes outside, but no problems in the house. They have coolers with ice packs in the freezer to take food to the beach. Also there are beach chairs and floating "noodles" to use in the water (they make great water cannons).

Jared was very responsive both before and during the trip (check out his band if you have a chance -- they're great! -- also their sandwich shop Sam & Jacks which is the #1 rated restaurant on St. John for a reason).

The BAD:
The 5-minute bumpy dirt road from Coral Bay to the house was an adventure, but you get used to it.
The 2 guest bedrooms were only separated by a wall and were open to the loft above. Could be fun for kids, but not so much for private romance time. Just means you have to get creative with private romance time...if you know what I'm sayin'...

The UGLY:
Had to leave!!!

We'll be back for sure!!! The price was great for the quality of the house and the location.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

This was my 5th trip to the Virgin Islands and one of the best vacations, ever! The Coral Bay area is THE BEST on the island. The house is located off an adventurous dirt road. PRIVATE, beautiful grounds of tropical flowers like bird of paradise and hibiscus. Tropical fruit including papaya, pineapple, coconut, and bananas growing on property. Plus, many palms. The Happy Hour Tour is pure bliss. You can see Coral Bay and 360* of unobstructed views of the valley. The pool was excellent and refreshing at the end of the day. I saw tree frogs, pearly-eyed thrashers, banaquits, hummingbirds, and many lizards during my stay and was a real treat. The best part folks is that the owners LIVE on St. John so if any issues arise they are happily there to assist. Since I am reviewing right here on Tripadvisor, check out the #1 eatery on St. John, called Sam and Jacks. The villa owners are the owners of Sam and Jacks and as you see the reviews, they put much care in their quality/service in their restaurant. Well, they put the same amount of care in their home. It is the BEST VALUE on the island for sure. If AC is concerning you. Don't! I am a prissy Jersey Girl and was not hot at all due to my utter surprise. The trade winds blow through and their are ceiling fans throughout. Plus, the design of the house has the "Dutch island style roofing" so the home does not trap heat. You will be missing out if you do not choose this villa. The true St. John experience.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank yummygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent a week at Starlit escape with our parents and young kids and we were enjoy it every minute. The house is incredible, lovely furnishing and with an impressive tower from which you can see the green slopes of the island and a piece of the ocean as well as stars (if it's not cloudy).

The house is equipped with all the things you need to have a very relaxed time with kids and for eldest one (books, movies, guides). The pool is lovely, the right size and depth. The yard is beautiful as well.

The owners are great and very helpful and kindly gave us tips about beaches.

Keep in mind that the road to the house is bumpy, but you get used to it very quickly.

We would back to this place again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Make sure you rent a jeep or some other off roading vehicle if you are staying at Starlit Escape. All the needed items are here - towels, cooking utensils, flashlights, internet, tv, dvd player, great tour books, etc. Unless you are a monopoly or chess fan, bring your own games (if you think you will play them) and if you think you will watch movies you may want to bring your own movies.

Everything is super clean and gorgeous at Starlit Escape. Breezy and airy and fans in every room, even the bathrooms (which I SO WANT to do when i get home!). It's very close to almost all of the east side beaches. No real need to go to cruz bay with so much great stuff nearby. Found the two markets to be relatively the same prices, but we stopped at Food Market on St. Thomas for most of our non perishables. Lilly's had 1.50 gallons of water, but we got frozen chicken at love market.

Rooftop deck at Starlit Escape is super awesome for eating dinner and watching the amazing stars.

Hammock is great, but make sure to bring bug spray.

We stayed at Starlit Escape in May and not much fruit on site; we did manage to hack off a pineapple that was yummy. Flowers smell awesome! Just a quick jaunt around the grounds is a beautiful sensation for the smelling senses.

Things I wish I brought with me to St John: camping water filter, ziplock bags, granola bars, socks, dvd to burn pictures onto so i don't accidentally delete or lose them, visor/hat, hmmm...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfnjesusfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

What an amazing home to spend our 20th aniversary. The villa was perfect for our family. Having everyone under one roof was a comfort to me. From the fresh pineapple each morning to the happy hour tower every evening made our days complete. The beautiful furnishings, and extra touches made us feel at home. Nothing was over looked. Plush towels, beach chairs, coolers, and beach bags made our 10 day stay so enjoyable. We hope to return one day. Thank you for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel-Patti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We spent the week of spring break in St John at the Starlit Escape. We could not have been happier with our choice to rent the house! It had EVERYTHING that we needed to have a nice relaxing week and it really felt like our home away from home. We spent many nights chillin' on the patio enjoying the cool Caribbean breezes and taking full advantage of the grill and kitchen. After spending the day at the beach, it was nice to come home and take a dip in the pool. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded location this is your place! It is about a half hour drive from the ferry docking station which is where most of the shops and restaurants are located. We didn't mind this one bit since there is a local market just around the corner from the house and a handful of places to eat nearby. You can be to any one of the amazing beaches on St John within just a few minute drive (note that practically anywhere you stay on the island you will have to drive to a beach since there are not any massive resorts along them).

Jared was very helpful in making sure we had everything that we needed and to make our stay the best it could possibly be. The house was spotless and furnished quite nicely. It was the perfect spot to spend a week with my mom and sister catching up on life. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit St John.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John
0.0 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.0 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hill Suites
Lavender Hill Suites
#4 of 17 in Cruz Bay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlit Escape Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlit Escape Villa

Property: Starlit Escape Villa
Address: 6g6 Carolina, 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St. John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starlit Escape Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starlit Escape is an immaculate 1 bedroom 1 bath rental villa with a pool nestled in a private, forested valley on St. John's unspoiled east side. Surrounded by tropical gardens, fruit trees and wildlife, this villa offers the full Island experience. Conveniently located to all that is St John; the palm guarded white sand beaches, the Virgin Islands National Park, the many restaurants and bars, sailing, hiking, shopping and just plain relaxing await. Family owned and managed, the aptly named Starlit Escape is known for its seclusion, peacefulness and natural beauty. No detail has been left out and the owners are always accessible for any need. All amenities are included or will be provided upon request. Starlit Escape accommodates up to 4 guests, making it ideal for couples or families with small children. Relax when you reserve this St. John rental villa knowing that as your on-site owners, we will provide you with the best service to ensure that your Virgin Islands vacation will be memorable for a lifetime. Experience the magic of St. John stress-free, before during and after your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Starlit Escape Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlit Escape Villa St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing