We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Nearby Hotels
Gallows Point Resort(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$444
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$242
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estate Lindholm(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,968)
Filter reviews
2,968 results
Traveller rating
1,110
1,011
417
251
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,110
1,011
417
251
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruz baytrunk baybedroom villathomas airportpublic ferrymorgan's mangotime shareper personthree bedroomcinnamon baykids clubgolf cartbeautiful islandlime innisland tourjohn resortyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
1,071 - 1,076 of 2,968 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have visited the Westin St. John each year for four years. We are owners because we fell in love with the resort on our first visit. On our last visit we were enticed to purchase an Explorer Package, which we were told provided 5 night in an ocean view, two bedroom, Bay Vista unit. We were also told we could readily tack on two additional days in the same unit. "Great," we thought.

After struggling to get a reservation in the time period we desired, not high season, we settled for a Wednesday to Wednesday and decided not to stress about it. But then we were told we could only have the villa for five nights and would have to move to a one bedroom. However, we were instructed, we could call back for availability, as something would most likely open up. My husband documented fourty phone calls, without positive results. Also, because of the point and option system, each of which is independent of the other, he was required to call several different numbers and to try to coordinate our reservation with different people. When we arrived on the property, still with our original reservation, he was told to check back every day, which he did, to no avail.

When we checked in we were provided a ground floor Bay Vista unit. What a let down this was. We never stay on the ground floor anywhere. These ground floor units do not have an ocean view, as promised during the sales meeting. They also lack a proper oven, although there is plenty of room for one. The second bedroom is at the back of the unit without a single window and therefore no exit in case of fire or a break in. If you put children in this room, as we did, it is somewhat unsettling. Also, because it is on the ground floor everyone walking by has a full view of the living room, kitchen, bedroom and even bathrooms, if you forget to close the door. Any natural light we craved was fraught with our concern for our privacy.

There are other matters that seem petty but were annoying once we were already annoyed. Poor design resulted in light switches in odd places that required walking in the dark through rooms to turn on lights, poor lighting in the master bedroom, a bathroom stall door that made an awful sound when opening and closing, bathroom countertops that were far too small, and curtains that flank a wall of windows and an exit door from right to left to right while the door is slightly off center. This meant coming and going from the unit required fully opening the privacy curtain or leaving it open all the time.

We never did influence management to allow us to stay in our unit or, at least, in a similar unit. I am writing this from our one bedroom unit, furthest from the beach, up on a hill on the Westin's adjacent property, early in the morning, because we are tripping over each other and having difficulty sleeping on the pull out sofa. This is another story.

I will state emphatically that the service here has declined, and that the staff seems truly bothered whether at the poolside, front desk, beach or in the carts, which guests depend upon. Also, guests seem more frustrated with the lack of results when they hit a snag. While I checked in I struggled to hear my receptionist over the argument ensuing at the next station, which involved a highly inflexible desk manager making no effort to even hear the gentleman's concern let alone find a solution or compromise. His request seemed quite reasonable to me. Hopefully, he documents it here. This should have been my warning. I do want to thank Sharmelle, in housekeeping, Carlos. at the front desk, and Linus, who drives the cart, and moved our luggage three times while the front desk tried to find appropriate accommodations for our last two days. They each made efforts to make us a bit more comfortable.

Finally, beware of the Explorer Package. They sell this as an opportunity for you to see a different or new unit on the property, that you might want to then buy. In truth, it seems to me that they are filling the least desirable spaces, obligating you to attend another one hour presentation and then trying to sell you another Explorer Package, if they fail to sell you a unit. When you purchase the Explorer Package you will sign a contract that will obligate you to several terms but will obligate the Weston to very few. You will not be promised the ocean view they describe and, in fact, show you when they take you on your required tour, or the opportunity to tack on days, in writing. You will not even be certain you will stay on the property, as the contract they provide gives them the option to put you in a hotel if they overbook, and they readily admit that they do overbook. Know what you are buying. We earned our education through experience.

Room Tip: This is difficult because the reservation staff is very much in control of where they place their guests and do not divulge the location until one is being taken to the room. If you have mobility issues you must talk to the front desk about reliable transport by cart whenever you need it. This property requires a good deal of climbing in some cases. In other cases a vehicle would be helpful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hawaii2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback and concerns and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your details regarding your experience. While it sounds as though you had some concerns regarding your Explorer package and the location of your villa, I was happy to hear that Shermel, Carlos and Linus were able to provide you with exemplary service. I will share your feedback with them and their Management teams and I know they will be delighted to learn that they enhanced your stay. I will also share your feedback regarding the Explorer Package with our Starwood Vacation Ownership team so that they can evaluate and improve on the program for the future. Again, we sincerely appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Westin is a first class place to stay when visiting St. John VI. The staff is very friendly and the property amazing. They are finishing a remodel of the property which will make it even nicer than it was. They have great food and lots of activities to keep you busy or plenty of pool chair to NOT stay busy. GREAT place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank slotboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We appreciate your review and thank you for sharing. It sounds as though you enjoyed our helpful and friendly staff, beautiful property, and multitude of daily activities. Thanks again and we’ll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We have been guests at the Westin St John many times- first, before children and now for 20 years, with our children . We love the grounds, the staff, the beach, and our rooms. It ends up being less expensive and much easier to rent a car, rather than use cabs- especially with a family.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Many thanks for your great review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to both The Westin St. John and Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to seeing you and your children again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm traveling with my extended family, including first grandchild. I had wanted a villa but none were available so I agreed to conventional hotel rooms. Right before we departed we got an email "reminding" us of construction on site. I was prepared for a miserable experience but, so far (2 days in) just the opposite. Despite being very near the construction we hear almost nothing. Naps are not disturbed nor are times at the beach or pool. While the construction and closure of the lobby are not a big hindrance, there are a few negatives. There is almost nothing that's free (we are paying a hefty daily amenities fee for each room). No bottles of water in our rooms. We were told they only give it to Westin platinum members (I'm pretty sure all other Westins give it to Gold members) If we had water bottles we could refill them at the water stations, instead of wasting plastic cups. One on site dinner restaurant is closed for renovations, the open one is expensive, with small, mediocre portions. Only way into town is with a taxi and they charge per person so that adds $60 onto every meal in town for our group of 6. We've decided renting a car is the way to go. On the rave review side - our rooms are great. We are on the ground floor, the pool is just steps from our patio and the beach is just beyond the pool. Turns out our rooms are in a much better location than any villas. Downside, of course, is no kitchen. But hurry - rumor has it the whole resort is being turned into time share villas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin St. John. While I was glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your room accommodations and that you were not disturbed by any renovations taking place, I was disappointed to learn of the concerns that arose during your stay. I have shared your feedback below with our Director of Food & Beverage so that he can look into your suggestions regarding pricing and portion size. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Westin is a fine hotel & we did not experience any rude staff as others have noted. All our interactions were pleasant and the staff was accommodating. If you are looking for a resort and have the expectation of staying at the hotel for your entire vacation this may not be the place for you. St John may not be the island either. There are many amazing beaches on this island and the Westin is a nice jump off point to accessing everything the island has to offer. As others have mentioned the grounds are beautiful.

There are some cons though as well. The resort fee as others have mentioned really seems exorbitant with little added value. As with other Westins worldwide I would expect the resort fee may cover the cost of a shuttle to town, yet you pay $5 p/p each way to town. This may sound petty, but I imagine for a family of 4 this really adds up. We stayed in 14 and there was notable construction, but it didn't bother us. I'm sure it would bother some people that are sensitive to noise and are trying to unwind.

We did not spend a whole lot of time on the property during the day, but the time that we did, we had a good and quality experience.

All in all we will definitely return one day.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We look forward to your return and thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay overall and that you had a nice mix of time on and off property. Thanks again and we’ll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews