We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day on the water for the family”
Review of Lion In Da Sun

Lion In Da Sun
Ranked #4 of 94 Tours in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lion In Da Sun is a "Captained Powerboat Day Charter" business in the US Virgin Islands of St. John and St. Thomas. The days activities are completely up to you and might include island hopping in the British Islands such as Jost van Dyke, Sandy Spit, Norman Island, and Virgin Gorda among many others. You can incorporate world-class snorkeling, beaches, bars, and local lunch spots. The day is completely up to you!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day on the water for the family”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Captain Rick showed us a great time on the water around St. John and St. Thomas. We had two families on the boat with a total of 5 kids. We had lots of opportunities to snorkel some great sites that were off the beaten path and Rick gave us a good dose of local history and lore. A great host and a knowledgable captain, I can't recommend Captain Rick and Lion In Da Sun enough. Definitely a five star activity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamey_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida
1 review
“Lion In Da Sun is the best!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you're thinking of booking a charter to Jost Van Dyke and/or the rest of the British Virgin Islands, Captain Rick is your man! Our group spent the day on Jost Van Dyke. Of course, we spent a considerable amount of time off of White Bay and the Soggy Dollar Bar. However, Captain Rick also took us to meet the legendary Foxy, after checking us through Customs at Great Harbor. What an experience! To top it off, Rick recommended a fabulous lunch at Foxy's Taboo; along with a visit to the famous "Bubbly Pool" on the island.

Can't thank you enough, Captain Rick!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Day Cruise”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife, our 2 teen daughters, and myself just returned from our first, but not last vacation on St John. By far the highlight of the vacation was the day trip w Captain Rick. We were unsure of which spots we should hit. He took care of that. You can tell that he truly cares about making this a unique experience. We explored the little coves around St John and Jost, snorkeled and just enjoyed the unbelievable scenery that you can only see by boat. Don't miss out on this experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, VT
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A required day trip while in St. John”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Well, as usual (and after 10 trips to St John), we had our usual "what might we get this time" when we reserved a day trip with Capt. Rick of Lion in da Sun.

Rick picked us up below Great Expectations villa in Chocolate Hole Bay, so we didn't need to load up the car and haul everyone over to Cruz Bay, park, schelp the food, gear and drinks to the dock, then wait for our turn in line to get aboard our charter. We were on the boat and signing papers in 2 minutes and on our way in less than 10. Rick had asked us what we wanted to see and we mentioned Water Lemon Cay and possibly the caves at Norman Island, with a definite stop at Soggy Dollar Bar.

He took us around the south west of St John, then popped into multiple beaches, giving us a little local history at each one. After an hour, we headed over to Great Bay, BVI to checkin with customs. RIck headed into to the customs house and gave us the thumbs up to go do what we wanted while he took care of our paperwork. We stopped at Foxy's and some of us got a noon bushwhacker, then Rick came walking down saying we were all checked into British territory. We headed west to Sandy Spit where we swam in and walked around the beach, taking photos.

After swimming back to Lion in da Sun, Rick took us over to Foxy's Taboo where we all had a fabulous lunch of grouper, tuna and a few rum drinks.

Leaving Foxy's, we zipped back to White Bay for an hour at Soggy Dollar Bar - a must stop. We played the ring toss game and even got into Shut the Box while sipping our Pussers Pain Killers.

From White Bay we cruised southeast to Norman Island. Rick anchored the boat and jumped in to snorkel with us. We swam all around the Indians rock formation with Capt. Rick stopping to point things out. The big finish was 15ft under water snorkel through a cave that was exhilarating to say the list. Back to the USVIs for customs and fuel and a big fat tip for the extremely enjoyable 8 hour excursion Rick gave us.

Rick was funny, interactive and happily answered all the typical tourist questions (including the ever popular "what island is that"). Do this when you come here. Book it before your come, get your passport and a bunch of 20 dollar bills and prepare for an incredible day on the water. It will be on our itinerary when we come back to St. John.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vhsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend a day on the water”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our party of three hired Rick to see some off-the-beaten path snorkel spots around St. John and St. Thomas. Over the course of the day, he took us to five truly fantastic spots - Stevens Bay, Shipwreck Cove, Christmas Cove, Secret Harbor for lunch, Leinster Bay, and Whistling Cay. Each had a distinctly different snorkel opportunity, and were by far the best snorkel spots we'd been to (and we've snorkeled all over the world).

Rick is kind, funny, and full of great information about the history of the islands. The day was the highlight of our trip, and we would definitely use Rick and his boat again on our next visit to St. John.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Galilayo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion In Da Sun also viewed

 

Been to Lion In Da Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing