We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gibney Beach Villas
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our stay at Gibney Beach Villas was absolutely fantastic. When you are there you feel you are in another world: the cute beach cottage, the fine sand, the greenery, the views, the sunset, the amazing crystal water and the secluded beach makes your stay in this little gem an amazing experience.
We were 4 adults traveling, we stayed in the garden cottage and the house was very comfortable outfitted with everything you need.
Teri's wonderful hospitality and care are a key part of why we love this place so much.
We highly recommended and are already planning to be back!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sebipla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Absolutely everything about our stay at the Gibney Beach Villas was incredible. My husband and I live on St. John and recently stayed at the Gibney Beach Villas for our wedding week. We stayed in the front villa and our parents stayed in the back villa, or garden cottage. We got married on Gibney Beach and had our reception at Oppenheimer Beach, just down the beach a bit. Not only was this the perfect vacation and relaxation before/after our wedding, it was the PERFECT location. Everything about our wedding was perfect and we owe a great deal of that to Teri, Jennifer, and Isreal. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for all you did for us the days leading up to our wedding and after. I would not have changed a thing. I also can't tell you how much our parents enjoyed and appreciated Isreal. Not only does he do an impecable job maintaining the property, but bringing fresh fruit to their villa everyday was an amazing touch. Even though we live on St. John I hope to stay here again. I recommend the Gibney Beach Villas to any and everyone. The Villas are fantastically maintained and decorated (our personal favorite being the front cottage where you can hear the waves every morning) and the grounds are just beautiful. Teri went out of her way made sure that we had our privacy and never had to worry about anything. This was by far the best vacation (or stay-cation if you will) that we have ever had and we look forward to the day we can stay here again! Thank you Teri for everything you did for us! We will never forget your hospitality or your beautiful paradise! xoxo Corie and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Corie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is the best villa/beach ever! The garden cottage is very clean and roomy. I'm 10 years old and found Gibney online and my family and I fell in love with it. Teri is a wonderful host! This place is pure paradise!

Room Tip: Garden cottage is a better cottage for family's with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

If words like idyllic, tranquil, spectacular, and “one of a kind” describe what you are looking for in the way of a Caribbean retreat, look no further, as Gibney Beach Cottage is that place and more.
This West Indies style cottage is literally on the white sand beach of Hawknest Bay. It is as private as you can get on St. John, and the only place like it that you can rent on the island. It is exquisitely well maintained and the attention to detail in its construction is everywhere.
Teri is a wonderful host and her pride in providing a world-class destination is evident throughout the property. From the choice of finely appointed antique furnishings in the cottage, the modern kitchen with all the amenities one could want, to the grounds, gardens, and especially the orchids, all well maintained by Israel the gardener.
To step out of your front door onto the warm sand to relax in comfort and extreme beauty is priceless. The snorkeling is very good in and around the bay with an abundant variety of sea life and colorful coral.
Once you have experienced time in this location, it will be hard not to want to return again and again.
Thank You Teri, for keeping the spirit of Gibney Beach alive, as well as creating Paradise Found!
George & Mollie Jarrow

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I could not recommend a better place to stay! This is my second time staying at Gibney Beach Cottage, Nov 2012 and now in Mar. The owner is the most gracious person ensuring her customers have the best of everything. I have stayed on the North shore for many years vacationing with family. I have never seen "vagrants" roaming the area. This is truly the best place for rest and relaxation. Teri will go out of her way to ensure you have the best time here in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank meljimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Gibney Beach for 10 years now and we find it to be like no other place around. Last year we came twice and brought our family and rented both cottages and our kids (grown and married) want to know when we are going back. Teri Gibney is a wonderful person to work with and we have become a family over the years. The last person who wrote on this property could not be more wrong, we have never encountered any such problems and would highly recommend this place to anyone considering staying there, as long as we get our fair share. You will not be disappointed, it is a modest place, but the location right on the beach is just perfect for us. Nice,sandy, quite beach almost to yourself!! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a nice villa that we wish was owned by someone else as our experience in dealing with the owners was treacherous. Also there are vagrants (bums) roaming around the area, property, gardens, and so on. Kind of scary, certainly not good for relaxing.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
15  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John hotels
1.9 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
5.4 mi away
Concordia Eco-Resort
Concordia Eco-Resort
#1 of 2 in Virgin Islands National Park
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibney Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibney Beach Villas

Address: | P.O. Box 1160, 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Speciality Lodging in St. John
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gibney Beach Villas Hotel St. John
Gibney Beach Villas St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing