We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

One nightstop. Hotel is set back from the main roadf, but Navigation picked up fine.

Two floored property with pub/restaurant in the ground. Had a room over the garden on side of dual carriage way, towards the M4 to Cardiff. No noise issues.

Cheerful check in, asked for ironing room, but given one to take. Vending machine in front of reception. Ample parking.

Standard Premier Inn room, however the room was quite warm, and they had provided a fan with a note in the room for this purpose. Samsung LCD TV with freeview, not a large range of channels however.

Had continental breakfast, all usual requirements were adequately met, with apple, orange, cranberry juice. Plenty of cereals, muffin, yoghurt, croissants, bread and tea/coffee.

Cheerful checkout and overall, cant really knock it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadeem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for one night following a wedding. The access to the hotel is not so easy to spot when heading from the south. The hotel and neighbouring pub are set off the road, the pub is a lovely old building though we didn't venture in. The reception staff were very polite and helpful, considering we rolled in to checkin after midnight! The room was very spacious and comfortable, I think more comfortable than other PI's I've stayed in. The hotel is next to a busyish road but you can't hear it at all from the rooms. The hotel was very quiet and we had a great nights sleep. I wouldn't worry about air con - when does it ever get hot in Merthyr? They provide a fan anyway, so just do what you'd do at home! Great stay and I'd stay again if I needed to!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We expected an ok bed for the night. However we got a quick efficient check in. All four rooms were clean and well kempt with no problems. Clare on reception was extremely friendly helping with extra tea bags etc for our rooms. On leaving I left mt charger in the room and Clare rang one of our party to inform us and we were able to pick up before leaving the area. Fab service. We ate in table table in the evening and for brekkie and it was hot and as described. No problems.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have stayed here quite often since my father has been taken ill. They all make you feel welcome. Nice comfortable beds and pillows. Table Table food great value, especally the indulgent, yummy Makhani!! The staff are all so friendly and have an excellent standard of customer care. I had to stay for 5 (stress filled) days and they really made me feel I had a home to escape to in the evenings. I could not praise this little gem highly enough.

Room Tip: I can sleep anywhere so noise is not a problem with me, but the car park side would be sooler if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatlander_901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A 3 night stay to see the Breacon Beacons National Park. The hotel is clean and nice and the staff were very friendly and always smiling. Our friends' room faced the road and the cars could have been heard easily from there. We always prefer the side of the hotel that doesn't face the road, but it had a disadvantage too, because there was a strong light placed in the carpark.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It was a pleasure to stay in merthyr tydfil, The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for my wife and myself, rooms are excellent,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A short break for the family to experience mountains rather than the coast. The snow was a bonus. Hotel was very comfortable and the room a good size for a family of 4. The pub was good and I made good use of the all you can eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveD600XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentrebach
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
330 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
7.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Address: Duffryn Road, Pentrebach CF48 4BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Pentrebach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the beautiful landscape of the South Wales Valleys and the nearby Brecon Beacons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Pentrebach
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Pentrebach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing