We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Used to consider this as a easy but lovely place to get some lunch around Merthyr, truly disappointed with our service and food, the staff were obviously inexperienced and one of our meals didn't even turn up , felt rather embarrassed that we had brought family there, very disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    108
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
105
108
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed four nights here and were very comfortable. The hotel was full but there was no disruption and we slept very well. We ate a couple of nights in the pub food restaurant and the food was okay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendles56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is well located south of the Brecon Beacon National Park and has good family rooms. Staff at reception and in the adjoining restaurant were welcoming and friendly.

However, the location of the smaller fold up bed witjhout any headrest next to the sharp edges of the built in dressing table and TV stand was dangerous and kids knocked their heads here. Room layout should be considered with head to the wall, relocating the wall radiator as required to avoid this risk.

In the bathroom, the lack of option for detachable shower head when bathing kids in a family room was disaapointing and the cold tap on the sink was loose, with a black mould emerging from around the tap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My Partner , his twin boys aged 12 and I stayed at this premier inn as usual good comfortable room with good facilities . Breakfast was good hot and served quickly. It was only an overnight stay we had late check inn and receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stop over at the Premier Inn was spoilt by the attached restaurant. After a busy day out we arrived back expecting to book a table at the restaurant. There was no answer on the phone call made by reception. We were told to just go there. On arrival we were told there were no tables for 3/4 hour and we would not be eating for one and a half hours!! Far too late after a long busy day. The restaurant was not packed there were lots of empty tables.
The restaurant offers children eat free for breakfast . There was no where set aside for older people to eat in peace.
My only complaint about the hotel was the internet. 30mins freee a day is not really acceptable in this day and age.
I am not sure I will use a Premier Inn with a Table Table restaurant attached again.

Room Tip: All rooms where quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKTHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Well......yet another stay at another Premier Inn, this time at Pentreback in Methyr Tydfil.
This time,long with our daughter,son in law, their two boys and young baby daughter and our other daughters son.....
On arrival, our usual PREMIER INN greeting which is becoming the norm in all their hotels, tiny problem with an iffy key was quickly sorted with a new key.
Once again...rooms spotless and fit for any Lenny Henry visit.The three extra beds for the boys and the cot for our grand daughter were all set up very neatly.
Bit of a problem in the early hours with two VERY DRUNK & LOUD Geordie's who were told to HUSH......Three times.....waking the grandchildren on all three ocassions was annoying ...there are several signs warning late returners to be quiet, but this was totally ignored by these loud returning individuals slightly the worse for drink......lets hope the same happens to them when they have children of their own to see how they like it....!!
Anyways....this was mentioned after the usual "Did you sleep well?" as we passed the reception to go for our breakfasts.....We told the receptionist of the drunken idiots returning and making a lot of noise, waking us all....We were quickly apologised to.......Its okay..it was not Premiers' fault just yobs....NO.......WE GUARANTEE A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP....We'll refund you..........Ohhhhhhh flip...we honestly felt guilty mentioning it...but no......on our return from the usual FANTASTIC freshly cooked breakfast, we were told our payment had been credited to the account we paid by..........Well.........unbeleivable!
With a promise and follow up like this......why go anywhere else?
Thank you once again for your fantastic service...Premier really are leading the way in customer care.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

When the offers are on it's the best hotel in the uk to stay in. The only shame some of the city premier inn are over priced. I've enjoyed premier inn all over the country but always when their on offer.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentrebach
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
7.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Property: Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Address: Duffryn Road, Pentrebach CF48 4BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Pentrebach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the beautiful landscape of the South Wales Valleys and the nearby Brecon Beacons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Pentrebach
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Pentrebach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing