We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Really pleased with this stay, the rooms are a good size. Very clean. Staff friendly and accommodating. Parking excellent. Accessibility very easy from main roads. Bathrooms partially refurbished but not a problem. Beds comfortable. Slept well.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank J000lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    116
    35
    19
    11
See reviews for
115
116
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Myself and a colleague have just spent two nights at this hotel and we were both delighted with almost every aspect of our stay.
I say almost because there were just two minor issues - internet/wifi was a bit hit and miss and my disabled room had a shower over the bath whereas I feel that a walk-in shower would have been better. Other than that, both rooms were well up to specification.
On the plus side though, the staff were fantastic, always friendly and helpful and the food and the service at the adjacent Table Table restaurant were well above expectations.
To summarise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again next time we are in that area. Well done and thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roche, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Hot room located next to busy road. Noisy bathroom noises (not me, honest). Kettle from the 1970s and looked like it had not been cleaned in all that time - just awful. Hot sink tap worked only occasionally.
Very limited choice of TV channels. I have stayed in other Premier Inns in Wales and not had this problem - reception not interested.
Will not be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank St_Pirans_Cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just come back from three nights stay at the Pentrebach Premier Inn and Table Table restaurant that is next door. Fantastic stay. Very friendly and helpful staff at both, who couldn't do enough for us. Great nights sleep despite the unusually high seasonal temperatures - thanks to the two cooling fans provided and the comfy beds. Restaurant served great food from a broad menu so were weren't stuck for choice at breakfasts or evening meal times. And with the delights of the Taff Trail, Sgwd yr Eira, Big Pit at Blaenavon and the Penderyn Whisky distillery all on the doorstep, who could ask for more....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely time spent in Wales. Hotel was great. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Well done. Will stay at a premier inn again for sure. My only complaint is that the room was very hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to many local attractions. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. The thing that made this hotel quite special, however, was the staff both in the Inn and the adjacent restaurant. It is extremely rare to stay at a hotel where everyone is so friendly and helpful. Well done to all the people at Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANGFIELD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room was decorated as the typical Premier Inn. I had some troubles connecting to the WiFi after I paid, so I asked the recepcionist for help. She was very helpfull and friendly, spoke to the customer service assistant for me and they solve the issue quickly.

The restaurant is "Table table", located in a building near the hotel. Their service was very slow and it took a lot of time to have the dinner served and then, to pay. We considered that they had too few workers at the establishment on the dinner service.
Breakfast was nice, peacefull and variated, and they gave a better service that time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentrebach
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
300 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
114 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Property: Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Address: Duffryn Road, Pentrebach CF48 4BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Pentrebach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the beautiful landscape of the South Wales Valleys and the nearby Brecon Beacons ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Pentrebach
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Pentrebach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing