We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Asolare

Asolare
Reserve with OpenTable
Asolare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely dinner at this restaurant with great views. We started with appetizer of tuna tartar and spring rolls. Both were very good but nothing extra special. The really good stuff was reserved for the main meal - For dinner, I had the mahi with curried lentils (delicious!!!) and my husband had the steak churrasco which was done perfectly!!! Pecan pie a la mode ended the dinner and we left happy and full. We would definitely return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fallseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    141
    84
    53
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing View, Great Service, Average Food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

You can't beat the view from any table at the Asolare...spectacular. The service was excellent, we couldn't ask for more. The only disappointment was the food.
Out of 9 people at our table, 5 persons sent the food back. Four people had the duck and asked for it to be cooked medium or medium-rare. It came to the table nearly raw. No excuse for that. Another had the fish, but it was dry and very unimpressive. She returned it to order another entree. My wife had the shrimp and grits. They were dry and left a burnt taste in her mouth.
We were surprised that the food wasn't of higher quality. Perhaps it was a bad night, but it sure didn't live up to our expectations. We still had a very good night at the Asolare. They make excellent drinks, and with that view...it would be hard not to enjoy the dinner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St John USVI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome 21st anniversary!!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very pleasant greeter, great bartender, and Wanda the wonderful waitstaff. We were joined by our two very close friends for a very special anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. Food was great, service was excellent and the sunset views were fabulous. Outstanding culinary experience, kudos to the chef

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Artrocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Asolare is BACK!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We've been coming to St. John every year for the past 20 years and have been to Asolare multiple times over those years. Early on, it was delicious. Then over the years with various change in management and chefs, it went downhill, in our opinion. We decided to try it again this year when we heard it was under new management and had a new chef. And we're so pleased that we did! We feel that the dining experience at Asolare is now at a new high. The food was delicious; from appetizer to entree to dessert. Lindsay, our wonderful server was friendly, attentive and very knowledgeable. And of course, the setting is superb!
We were staying next door at Estate Lindholm which made walking over to Asolare quite convenient. After our 1st meal there, we came back the next evening to the bar for a drink before dinner in town and then back again that same evening for dessert! Rob, our bartender, made the BEST drinks and was great fun to chat with. We are delighted to be able to recommend Asolare once again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was Great. Service not so much”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first trip to Asolare in many years as it hasnt been good the last few visits. There is a new chef and I will say the food was very good. The smoked pork loin they served was quite tasty and the Tuna was out of this world. The service on the other hand was horrible. While the server was less than interested in taking care of us it got worse when we used sand dollars to pay. He indicated that because we used sand dollars he was going to automatically add 20% gratuity to the bill. It was his loss since I ususally tip more than that. This however should have been explained prior to the bill. It should be on the menu, mentioned when you book the reservation (which was booked through the Westin), not when you go to pay. Not only that there was a line called "rounding" that took our bill up to the next whole dollar. While 4o cents is not going to cause me to go broke it is the principal that he did nothing nor did the restaurant to earn that money. As someone who is in St. John 2-3 times a year I will not go back to this restaurant simply due to the shady happenings from our server. Again, food was great, view is always amazing but the server this trip left way to much to be desired.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asolare also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Asolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing