We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special...”
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Aloha and welcome to The Banana Deck, home of the Big Deck Burger! Located in downtown Cruz Bay on St. John, we offer a full menu of casual Caribbean cuisine and American classics! We're all about providing good food and good service in a great atmosphere to bring our customers the best experience!
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Special...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good food, nothing special but great service. We went for lunch and then tried again for dinner hoping for an improvement. The views are average which doesn't make up for the average food. It was highly recommended and I believe our expectations were too high. Nothing special, good food and just another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BocaEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    236
    70
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Went for lunch may be better at dinner”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went here for lunch. Was not busy and the service received was friendly but slow on getting drink refills. Had a similar burger at another restaurant on the island and the burger there was much better than here. I wouldn't return here for lunch would maybe give dinner a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hest0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Not worth the time”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

With so many good places in St. John this place was a huge disappointment. They are suppose to have amazing steaks. Odd that on a not busy night they were out of the 10 and 14 ounce steaks so you had to pay for the bigger steak. Huge disappointment. It was one big pile of fat! I got maybe two bites of actual steak. The preparation was good but very disappointed. The kebobs were dry and no taste. The chic dish was the one thing that was worth the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great "First Night On The Island" Spot”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

After a long and exhausting journey, we made our way to the Banana Deck for our first on island dinner. Our steak was cooked to perfection, the service friendly, the drinks yummy, and the atmosphere perfect.

Helpful?
Thank LiveSlow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were on the island Dec 2013 and stopped here to eat on our first night on the island. Since that dinner (mahi with cilanto sauce) we always talked about how good this was. Well once back on the island durring this trip we saw chicken with the cilantro sauce. So thats where we decided dinner was gonna be. We again had the same awesome waitress we had the first time there in Dec (Kristin).

Husband and I looked at menu and then couldnt decide between yhe chicken with cilantro sauce or caribbean chicken. After talking with Kristin we went with caribbean chicken and we were not dissapointed. It came with broccoli and rice.

We also got a side of baked potato soup which we both enjoyed.

We have not had a dinner here that we did not enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Time2VacationAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing