We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a Bloody?”
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Aloha and welcome to The Banana Deck, home of the Big Deck Burger! Located in downtown Cruz Bay on St. John, we offer a full menu of casual Caribbean cuisine and American classics! We're all about providing good food and good service in a great atmosphere to bring our customers the best experience!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need a Bloody?”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Best Bloody Bar on Sundays! Foods good for lunch or a snack. Will be the first stop when we land on Sunday in Jan! Staff was very friendly aswell!

Helpful?
Thank Aurorapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    235
    70
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
corrales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“relaxing place for dinner”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Nothing fancy, good food and wonderful outdoor eating. Piced well for what and where it is. Very relaxing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum - plantains!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Overall the restaurant was really good, but I wasn't thrilled with the waitress (slow, and not happy to split checks over large group); and wasn't thrilled that they couldn't be a little more accommodating with allergies. Rather than try to change up a meal, the waitress just kept crossing off entrees that my daughter couldn't eat because they had this or that. Most other restaurants on the island were more accommodating. That said, the food was really tasty. Banana Deck, please consider ditching the gmo soy oil. Everything tastes better in real oil like olive, coconut, butter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank had_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks, locale”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stopped in for drinks and lunch on our day spent in Saint John. The man who greeted us was super friendly and gave us a nice table, up in this treehouse like setting with open air. We ordered some cold, refreshing cocktails which took a while but were worth the wait. The food was very tasty, cooked just right! I'm glad we found Banana Deck!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meggiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the Aesthetics - Food OK”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We loved the location and the "tree house" like atmosphere of the restaurant...and they're open late! Our meals were pretty good, but not excellent. Husband had the seafood alfredo with shrimp and scallops, which he enjoyed, but again, not the BEST thing he has ever had. I had the Caribbean Chicken which was similar to chicken cordon bleu, which was pretty good - not a huge fan of the rice & beans. Service was fine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaraMichelle403045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing