We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation home.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wam307
Scranton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation home.”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Having spent many vacations on St. John's Cruz Bay side (15+), we had decided to try a home on Coral Bay side. That home, "Satinwood"' was a complete travesty. We spent one horrid night there and spent the early hours of that first night online searching for an alternative.
Thanks to Catered To, an island based rental company, we were able to vacate the premises and move to Altagracia. Diana and Frank at Catered To made our move seamless. While we we not expected, the ladies who did our "turn around" did a FANTASTIC job with little notice. (Thank you both so much).
This home is clean, welcoming, and well appointed. The beds are great, the kitchen is fantastic (important to us as we cook in regularly). The deck areas and pool are among the best that we've experienced.
All in all one of the best homes that we've rented since our first stay in 1985.
A true treasure!
We recommend this rental home without qualification.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible service of the managers!
Liked least: Not a thing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
momof2ill...
lake villa, illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It is very unfortunate that this beautiful home is so poorly maintained by the management company, Catered To.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this property through "Catered To" vacation rentals in St. John. We were greeted at the dock and taken to the house. When we arrived we were mostly very pleased. The views of St. Thomas and pool were spectacular and the property mostly looked like the pictures. Cleanliness was not super but I know I have very high standards. What didn't come across in the pictures on-line is that the only bedroom attached to the main living area is the master bedroom. The other 3 bedrooms are only accessible by going outside. Two are outside and down a flight of steps by the pool. This is fine for adults or older children but not great for younger kids. Only the bedrooms are air-conditioned but the A/C seemed to work fine. The first night was when we started noticing the very large (2") cockroaches running around outside by the bedrooms. I was okay with it, as long as they were outside, although it was freaking my 9 year old daughter out quite a bit. What got bad was when as the night progressed, we began seeing more and more running around in the kitchen and ON the countertops! I understand, we were on an island and there are going to be critters. I am a biologist and am extremely tolerant of most any creatures, including lizards, rodents, bees and spiders. What is NOT acceptable however is cockroaches INSIDE the house and in the kitchen. There was the biggest roach I have ever seen scuttering around inside the dishwasher. It was completely disgusting. It became very obvious that the management of this property had become lax and regular pest maintenance was not being done. For a property like that I can only imagine that regular insect treatment is an absolute must. We contacted Catered To and were told they would send an exterminator the next day. The second night was even worse. We called Catered To again and they said that the exterminator said the treatment would take 2 days at least to work. What? If you wait until the guests call to report 2" cockroaches running rampant all over the kitchen to call the exterminator, it is too late!!! Catered To sent out a guy with a can of Raid (I kid you not) who proceeded to spray raid all over the kitchen and in the cabinets and everything. We were livid. During our next conversation with Catered To, Tyler (the owner of Catered To) offered to refund our money and send us on our way. Really? We were 2,000 miles from home on an island with no reservations anywhere else. He knew we were screwed. The next morning at 7am Tyler called and offered to move us to another home. Needless to say, we moved. I will review that property separately but lets just say in the end we were not happy with Catered To and will never, ever rent through them again. It is obvious that their business model is to spend as little money as possible and deliver the bare minimum and just fight fires as needed. Pro-active maintenance to ensure guests' comfort is non-existent and I only feel bad for the families that own these homes that entrust them to such a poor managment company that is allowing them to get into such a state of disrepair and infestation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views are spectacular.
Liked least: The 2 inch cockroaches running around on the kitchen counters and in the cabinets at night.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2013
I am the owner of Catered To Vacation Homes that the guest referenced in this review. The guest was clearly disappointed with his experience with our company and we are terribly sorry for that. After 25 years of working to exceed guests expectations we are disappointed that we failed in this instance.

While it is correct that the guest did encounter a couple of cockroaches during the first evening of the rental there are some very important details that were not included in the review. When we received the call about the insects at 10:30pm we went to the villa immediately for two hours in an effort to treat the villa for the problem. While we were at the villa the guest spent the entire evening cursing us using language that we have never heard from a guest before.

Although we would have been entirely within our rights to evict the guest for the violent verbal abuse, we offered the guest the option of moving to another villa as well as offering a full refund of the rent to find alternate accommodations. Fortunately the guest accepted our offer to move to another villa the following morning, and seemed to enjoy the remainder of their vacation as we did not receive any further negative feedback during their stay.

Unfortunately we must take issue with this review, and we would like to emphasize that our company has never made any attempt to cut corners to assist guests to save money. We have only ever been concerned with our guests comfort and we have never spared any expense to accomplish this goal. The negative experience that this guest had was unfortunate and we can only hope that they were able to enjoy their vacation beyond the description of their first night in the villa they rented.

Although we have an extensive extermination program in the Caribbean these insects can appear from time to time. This description of the problem was not only inaccurate but exaggerated. Altagracia is a wonderful vacation home and does not have an insect issue that any other villa in the islands might have from time to time.

As a company that has over 550 positive reviews on TripAdvisor and FlipKey we stand by our service and we believe that our reviews speak for themselves. Unfortunately this particular review was misleading and inaccurate and we believe that it deserved our response.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kansas
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Reviewed 14 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ma
Reviewed 14 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing