We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for St. John Resort Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Value for St. John Resort Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Westin St. John for Thanksgiving. We are well-traveled in the Caribbean, having previously visited Grenada, St. Lucia, the Bahamas, St. Thomas and Puerto Rico over the past two years.

The Westin St. John met our high expectations for the Westin brand, as well as providing value and convenient access for visiting the island of St. John.

If you want to stay on St. John, you have a few options. You can rent a vacation home/condo, stay at a small boutique bed & breakfast, or you can stay at one of the two resort properties on the island. The Westin is one of these resorts, and it is the less expensive, family-friendly option.

The resort grounds are lush and well manicured. It is a large resort, and some buildings are on a hill. We rented a 1-bedroom villa on the hillside, and it was approximately a 7-10 minute walk from our villa to the main pool and beach complex, on the other side of the resort. It was approximately a 5-minute walk to the lobby. We always walked down the hill to the resort, and never had a single issue finding one of the many shuttles to take us back up the hill to our room. On the handful of times a shuttle wasn't in sight, we would ask the nearest employee to call one for us, and never waited more than five minutes for a pick-up.

Our room on the hillside was also a five minute walk to the local grocery store, where we spent about $100 for the week in breakfast and lunch foods, as well as some splurge foods we cooked on our own for Thanksgiving. There is also a good selection of beer, wine, and alcohol.

The villa was spacious, bright and clean, equipped with Westin's Heavenly beds and showers. Our balcony overlooked the resort and Grand Cruz Bay. The bathrooms were average in space and design, and could benefit from renovation. The full kitchen and washer/dryer were wonderful to have, and completely made our trip. I have a food allergy, and we were traveling with our 10-year old, so it was worth the extra money on the room to cook our own breakfast every morning, pack our lunches every day, and cook our own Thanksgiving meal. Having the villa on a resort property really hit a nice balance for us between having our own house-like space, but still retaining access to resort amenities (pool, watersports, taxis, etc.).

The pool complex is large, well-maintained, and beautiful. We spent two separate days there, and my 10-year old always found other kids to play with, while my husband and I relaxed on floating loungers. The pool is so large that we rarely felt bothered by the children playing in the various parts of the pool; though we did know they were there.

The beach is also clean and well-kept, but small and abutting a marina. It is a good First Day beach, that is, if you have just arrived at the Westin, and are looking to spend the rest of your afternoon or early evening at the beach, use the Westin beach. Otherwise, spend your time in St. John exploring one of the famous St. John beaches, such as Hawksnest, Cinnamon, or Trunk, all an $8 cab fare one-way, and about a 15 minute ride.

Cruz Bay Watersports maintains a presence on the resort, and does an excellent job both with providing complimentary pool and beach floats and non-motorized activities, as well as coordinating off-site fee-based activities, such as snorkel trips to British Virgin Islands, parasailing, and the like. There is also a small shop selling beach and watersport essentials.

Dining is average hotel fare - not horrible, but in no way special. A premium restaurant we didn't bother with (too much good food 10 minutes away in Cruz Bay...), a standard restaurant with cheeseburgers and pizza (okay food, terrible service), a pool bar and lunch shack (great frozen drinks!), and a deli/convenience market. You will do better on all counts to either take a cab into Cruz Bay (or points farther if you're adventurous) and dine at one of the many outstanding restaurants there, or to find the grocery store and stock up on your own.

Service is this resort's weakest point. Restaurant/food service was some of the most apathetic and slow I've experienced in the Caribbean. Housekeeping kept our room clean, but we had issues with disappearing towels/bathmats without replacements, leaving us with a dwindling supply over the week. Requests for items and assistance from housekeeping were met, but could be slow in coming (we waited over an hour for one item, and for another, gave up waiting and walked down to the front desk).

Overall, my family had a wonderful experience at this resort. In our previous Caribbean travels, we've done both pre-packaged all-inclusives and boutique inns, and without a doubt, the Westin St. John hit our happy medium. We've already booked again for next year, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JennJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Wow, thank you so much for your detailed review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing it on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you and your family thoroughly enjoyed many aspects of the resort but I want to apologize for the lack of Customer Service you received. We take your feedback very seriously, and I will ensure that future Customer Service training is implemented in order to ensure our guests are well taken care of. It is our goal to have your experience at The Westin St. John be a transition between the stress of travel to an environment where you can relax and refresh yourself to be at your best. I was very happy to hear you have already booked your stay for next year – we look forward to welcoming you back and hope you are able to see our Service improvements throughout your stay. Thank you again and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    931
    384
    234
    168
See reviews for
910
961
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Simple, quiet, and an amazing pool. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Had a wonderful stay this last summer. I would definitely go back and stay again when I go back to St. John.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always wonderful to hear from guests like you who loved our hotel and associates who make it all happen. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to St. John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel shuttle from St. Thomas is a 35 minute boat ride with no food, drinks, or nay other amenities outside of a restroom.

St. John's is know for it's beaches, this hotel is man made and in an active marina. So you are swimming in water with oil and gas from passing boats. Dark and dingy rooms. Our Room sprang a leak during a rain storm. I was moved to a room up a steep hill that was distant from beach, and pool.

The only good thing is that we were comped a hospitality room and credited $1000 equivalent to one nights stay.

Staff is untrained and rude. The servers are slow inefficient and forget the basics like glasses, utensils, and do not have the etiquette to serve their customers.

Food is college cafeteria style cuisine.

Not ready for prime time, and likely won't be due to the mount of renovations that have to happen.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MCSmith1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and while it is never desirable to receive bad news, without it we are unaware of improvements, so we thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and sharing it with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences that arose throughout your stay and that you found our ferry transfer long, our private beach inadequate and our associates rude and unhelpful. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were forced to endure a leak in your room and had to be moved to different accommodations. I am glad to hear that we compensated you for your inconveniences but can only imagine your frustration having to be concerned with these issues when trying to have a relaxing vacation. These are certainly not conditions you were expecting or should ever have to experience while staying with us, and I will be sharing your feedback with respective departments in order to rectify these concerns. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will return to The Westin St. John so that we are able to show you a true Westin experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

What can I say, the food was lousy, the place unbelievably noisy (people and loud music), and the service so-so. How you can manage to cook a turkey and still dry out the dark meat is beyond me... Shame on me for trying to do Thanksgiving in the islands! But...the cranberry bread pudding was excellent. I've stayed at the Westin a couple of times over the years and I remember so-so food in the past as well. Oh yeah, calling this a "cafe" is like calling Times Square a village square - its more like a dining hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 103BruceX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Many thanks for your feedback and for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. While I was glad to hear you found the cranberry bread pudding excellent, I was very disappointed that the rest of the Thanksgiving meal provided at Beach Café did not exceed your expectations. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with our Director of Food & Beverage, so that he can reevaluate our dining options and service, especially during Holiday meals. We appreciate your suggestions and hope to welcome you back in the future so that we can provide you with a dining experience that not only meets but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Considering there are very few hotel options in st. john, this is a very good option for the price. We booked on Expedia which was cheaper than the spg website for the same room. It looks like they have done some renovations, but they missed a few things (like old chair and mirror in bathroom). Those things did not hinder our enjoyment in any way, so I can easily get passed because they did upgrade to the heavenly shower and bed, as well as large flat screen tv. The only major issue we had was the placement of the air cond vent, blowing directly toward the pillow and therefore our head at night. We came up with a work around solution with tape and paper to direct the air flow down. Not pretty, but it did the trick. The starbucks coffee, tea, coffee maker and mini fridge were very helpful in the room. It was just my husband and I this trip which was fine for the hotel room. When we return with our kids, we will definitely stay in one of the villas so we can have a full kitchen and save some money on meals. The resort as a whole is beautiful and the taxi was convenient enough so we only rented a jeep 1 day to do our own exploration of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2219 and it was a standard king sized hotel room. It was a walk to the concierge i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thanks for your great review and for choosing The Westin St. John. It was great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and plan to return with your children in the future. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back and plan to exceed your expectations once again. Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I have been going to St John for the last 15 years, this is the 1st time I stayed at the Westin, we had a good time, nice beach and close to downtown. The room was comfortable, clean, no complaints. Areas of improvement: if you want to eat between 4pm - 6pm .... The only choice is the bar, and the chair space is limited and only available 5pm - 6pm (the lady that waits at the bar is great!!!), the person that works at the deli, is another story, very rude!!! Overall would stay there again in the future since St John is a special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PabloCPenaloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing The Westin St. John for the first time. I loved reading that you have been coming to our special island for 15 years – wow! We were also delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but disappointed to learn of the service you received in Mango Deli. I will be speaking with our Food & Beverage Upper Management regarding your concerns and ensure that future Customer Service training is implemented to rectify this for future guests and also for your next visit. We hope to welcome you back again for your 2nd visit and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The rooms are gorgeous although for some reason we had to call every night for wash cloths. Our room had a gorgeous view of the pool and ocean. For diving, Cruz Bay leaves from the Weston's dock which made it easy. Typical Westin comfort. Great pool. Restaurant ok for dinner but breakfast was fabulous. Courtesy carts take you all over the resort. Watch for the iguanas but look for the three tropical birds. There is a great sandy beach with chairs, floats, trampoline, etc. water was great. We did get asked three times if we wanted the time share tour but they weren't pushy. Taxis are always available to take you into town and run about $5-8 a person.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear you enjoyed so many different aspects of the resort but apologize that you had to call every night for wash cloths. I will speak to our Director of Housekeeping regarding this and ensure that we rectify the issue of Housekeeping supplies being replenished upon the rooms being serviced. It sounds as though your room accommodations, our on-site watersports company, large pool, shuttle service and private beach all exceeded your expectations. We thank you on behalf of everyone here at The Westin St. John and look forward to having you back for another uplifting stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing