We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour and Movie Night!”
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Looking for a Local Hot Spot? Virgin Fire Grill has everything: a fabulous eclectic menu with New Orleans flair served by a dedicated staff and a gracious Mongoose Junction location. Outside, smaller parties can enjoy a breezy romantic veranda, intimate and comfortable. Inside, a historically inspired interior with cozy booths, the largest hi definition video screen on the island, a convivial mahogany bar with stained glass elements and Kimberly Boulon's portraitures. We're great with large parties, family friendly with ample free parking behind Mongoose Junction. Join us for half price appetizers daily from 4 to 6 pm, and for frequent live jazz or reggae. Check our website for the current menu, media and music schedules.
St. John
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and Movie Night!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I love Virgin Fire. Beautiful restaurant with great food (don't miss the spring rolls and definitely not the ribs. OMG! I should've asked for a bib.) Great crew! Ask for John to be your server if he's working. He's so funny and his laugh rivals one of the bartenders next door at Sun Dog Cafe. We saw Frozen on their huge screen (It has to be like 30 feet) and had a great time. And don't forget: order the ribs!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbonerthrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    111
    50
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
“AMAZING food!!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On June 12th, 2014 my husband and i went to dinner at Virgin Fire in Mongoose Junction in St. John. We had arrived in St John on June 7th and the meal we had there since we arrived in St. John was by far the BEST meal of our trip. My husband had the Rib Eye Steak with Au Gratin Potatoes & Zucchini and I had the Grilled Pork Chop that was glazed with a pineapple glaze and also served with the most delicious Au Gratin potatoes I've ever had, as well as the zucchini vegetable. The owner, Michael Barry came over to our table to find out how we enjoyed the meal and then generously treated us to dessert. I ordered the most amazing Key Lime Pie.
My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and the staff was wonderful. We went back the next night to listen to Reggae music and have some of their appetizers (chicken wings & beef sliders) and drinks. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting St. John. Thank you again to Michael Barry for the food, service and all around wonderful evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Char0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Great Meal, Great Service, Memorable night!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thank you Michael and staff for a great introduction to Mongoose Junction! We were visiting on our honeymoon and we enjoyed your food and service very much! We were given a great table on the balcony. We had a complimentary glass of champagne coupon from the Westin Resort which we enjoyed after our meal. The Penne Pasta dish was awesome! The owner also took time to chat with us at our table and gave us a gift! A detailed book of St. John's beautiful Beaches in which he was the author. Thanks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trooper, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Filling dinner”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stop by Virgin Fire. We stop by Mongoose Junction and found this place. Nice size meal. Very good dinner and plenty to share with my family. Saw many other guest that we saw during the week. After ward, walk around the junction to do some shopping.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLing56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“enjoyable ambience, great food and professional service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited Virgin Fire twice during our visit to St John last week. The first time was for drinks and appetizers, after a long day out on a sailboat charter. There were six of us and we sat up at the bar, ordered 6 different appetizers, and all were really tasty and unique. Drinks were good and the service was attentive. We went back a few nights later for a full dinner and were not disappointed! That time we had 7 in our group and had a nice table in a corner to the right of the bar. Our server (John?) was excellent. He made great recommendations and was there when we needed him without hovering. I had the mahi on squash puree, which was divine! Others at the table had the ribs, a ribeye, jambalaya, the pasta and the seared tuna. Everybody enjoyed their food and cleaned their plates. We finished off sharing 3 different desserts, which were all delish. Bottom line this was a enjoyable ambience with great food and professional servers. Prices seemed on par with other restaurants we've visited on StJ. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trimatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing