We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel at Budget Prices.”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel at Budget Prices.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our stop in St. John. We really loved the hotel and the staff.
Ten Things We Loved About St. John Inn:
1. Price: It's well below the market in St. John.
2. Service: The two ladies who run the hotel operations are extremely friendly. During our stay we asked some questions about the beaches, they were eager to tell us which one was perfect for our tastes, and exactly how to get there. Also during our stay I left my credit card at a restaurant, the offered to call and locate it for me. Very helpful, and we were already checking out at this point.
3. Boutique hotel character: Each room has its own personality. The decor reminds me of the 1900's hotels in South Beach Florida, but with more Caribbean flare.
4. Close to the best restaurants: You can walk to Cruz Bay within 5 minutes. This gives you access to the best bars, markets, and places to eat. We loved Spyglass for a great happy hour and sunset dinner. Woody's is the best late night haunt.
5. Close to all the shops and the ferry. It really helped us limit our cab costs.
6. Loaner Beach Chairs and Coolers. A lot of the best beaches do not have vendors, so its great to be able to pack your own drinks and snacks.
7. A communal approach to business. They have a take some leave some basket with everything from shaving gel, to sunscreen. These are expensive on St. John, and the hotel has resisted the urge gouge tourists like most places do.
8. The honor bar: The hotel has a fridge with sodas, beers, and water. The prices range from $1-2. A steal in St. John. It was great to grab some on the way to the beach, and the total was just added to our bill.
9. The sunset happy hour. We enjoy some free rum punch prior to dinner. It is a great opportunity to meet the staff and other guests. The staff uses this as an opportunity to answer any questions and share stories about the interesting history of the hotel.
10. Alice the Cat. He is the cutest cat that hangs out at the hotel. We talked to his mom and dad and they named him when they thought he was a girl. Now he is named after the infamous Alice Cooper. Just fun, you cannot get at a chain hotel.

Things to know:
1. Google Maps has this in the wrong place. Ask the hotel for directions to get there from the ferry.
2. There is a binder in the hotel room with great info. Be sure to flip through it.
3. The people in St. John are great, do not be intimidated, just be polite, and they are more than willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    120
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
86
266
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I visited Cruz Bay, St. John USVI for 8 nights. Not only was the vacation absolutely incredible with all the natural beauty and snorkeling on the island, but our hotel stay at St. John Inn could not have been better. From the morning continental breakfast, to the very comfortable and clean room (A/C, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer etc.) to the complimentary rum punch in the evening the entire stay would have to be rated EXCELLENT. John and Paige, the owners of the Inn, were always available to talk with, share information with and to give us any advice on where to eat, visit, snorkel, etc. that we could ask for. We were so impressed with the island and our stay there, that we are going to plan a vacation for our whole family to St. John next year. And, of course, we will be staying at St. John Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My friends and I, who live on Virgin Gorda, enjoyed our stay at this tasteful West Indian Inn, which is in walking distance of everything in Cruz Bay. The amenities are superb--comfortable room, AC, TV, fridge, microwave, WiFi, honor system bar, complementary breakfast and rum punch, pool, beach equipment, etc. Best of all, however, was the hospitality of Vicky, the Inn's owner/manager. A terrific operation!

Room Tip: Ask Vicky for help, describing your needs, and she will make the best recommendation. The pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I went to St. John for our honeymoon and had an amazing time! Absolutely the most beautiful place we have ever been! The Manager Vicky was a ton of help when we asked what the best restaurants and the best things to do on our trip. She even set up our excursions for us! They also have snorkel equipment, towels, coolers and more that you can rent for the day instead of buying them. If you go to St. John you MUST stay at st. John in. Its in walking distance of all the best places so we didnt have to rent a car which saved us money! Cant wait to go back!

PS: They have the best happy hour at the hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a small amount of trouble finding the place. Its not on the main road (such as it is) but instead is tucked away in the middle of a developed block. Definitely walking distance from the ferry dock.

We were here during low season and were the only guests there during our stay. The owners loaned us some snorkeling gear and gave us some nice recommendations for food and beach destinations.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank uabjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We needed a place on St. John where we could spend just one night. That is not easy, where most places are vacation rentals that require at least 3. The St. John Inn served our purposes well. It is nicely decorated outside with bright, popping colors and luxuriant vegetation. In the rooms, the beds are very comfortable, and the bedding high quality. Breakfast was adequate, though not remarkable. The service was good and friendly.

Room Tip: I believe that all of the rooms are different. The managers can recommend the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

St John's, USVI, is one of the most beautiful places I have visited so far. Using Trip Advisor, I decided on St John Inn, based on location and price. I was not disappointed. The girls (Vicki and Paige) who run the inn are MOST accomodating hosts, so helpful about places to visit, and so knowledgable about the island. We had to change our reservations at the last minute, as we were adding a guest, and were booked into a 2 room suite, with a nice view of the harbour. Everything you need to make your vacation complete is provided--beach chairs, snorkle sets, even sun screen! Breakfast was great, (cereals, breads, juice, apples) and the rum punch each afternoon was refreshing. One could easily walk from the ferry/Cruz Bay/restaurants and bars, although a car is needed to get to most of the beaches, which are truly breath-taking. GO!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanl34709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing