We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR!”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 STAR!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

An amazing place to call home for the night! Additionally, the bed we stayed in was the comfiest ever (we were in the Trunk Room). Truly like sleeping on a cloud. Vicki and Paige were so pleasant, we wished we were staying the entire week at St John Inn. It's funky, convenient, clean, quaint, and priced right. Vicki and Paige are very knowledgeable and eager to answer any questions you may have. I suggest reading Cara P's Review about five down from mine, “Great Boutique Hotel at Budget Prices.” She hits on every note and it's all true! If we find ourselves in St John again, and I hope we do, we'll definitely be staying here. Cheers to a wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7anne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    121
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
92
275
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We enjoyed St. John Inn on a recent last minute trip. Although the weather didn't cooperate, the staff was beyond helpful and friendly. Vicki and Paige were full of information!! Our room was clean, the continental breakfast was a nice way to start the morning, the grounds were serene, and the Inn is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, beaches, and ferry. Towels and snorkel gear can be checked out daily!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmn0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I recently found myself looking for a last minute place to stay for several nights on St. John, VI. I had previously stayed at the St. John Inn in 2006 and found it adequate......so I was not expecting much in the way of improvements. To my surprise I was welcomed with open arms even though I had no reservation, and I found the rooms, grounds and service to be exceptional! I would definitely return to the St. John Inn for overnight accommodations, and continental breakfast with a nice happy hour in the evening before heading out for dinner and the St. John nightlife! The staff was very friendly and attentive to my needs and even offered many amenities which I did not need for this trip, like free snorkel gear, towels and beach chairs.....some Villa rentals don't offer all this! So for the lone traveler or as a couple I don't think you can do better than the St. John Inn. The reasonable pricing was just the beginning of a great stay! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boat_Charter_St_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When friends and family visit us on St John, we put them up at the St John Inn. The rooms are spotless, the beds are ridiculously comfortable, the grounds well attended, and the pool is always clean. Vicki, Sam and Paige make it a point to be available to guests 24/7. They will arrange the perfect excursion for you, recommend the best places to eat, and what to do to get the most out of your vacation. Happy hour is provided every evening and breakfast every morning on the deck. Our guests want a personal, authentic island experience and the St John Inn is where you'll get that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolJ388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our stop in St. John. We really loved the hotel and the staff.
Ten Things We Loved About St. John Inn:
1. Price: It's well below the market in St. John.
2. Service: The two ladies who run the hotel operations are extremely friendly. During our stay we asked some questions about the beaches, they were eager to tell us which one was perfect for our tastes, and exactly how to get there. Also during our stay I left my credit card at a restaurant, the offered to call and locate it for me. Very helpful, and we were already checking out at this point.
3. Boutique hotel character: Each room has its own personality. The decor reminds me of the 1900's hotels in South Beach Florida, but with more Caribbean flare.
4. Close to the best restaurants: You can walk to Cruz Bay within 5 minutes. This gives you access to the best bars, markets, and places to eat. We loved Spyglass for a great happy hour and sunset dinner. Woody's is the best late night haunt.
5. Close to all the shops and the ferry. It really helped us limit our cab costs.
6. Loaner Beach Chairs and Coolers. A lot of the best beaches do not have vendors, so its great to be able to pack your own drinks and snacks.
7. A communal approach to business. They have a take some leave some basket with everything from shaving gel, to sunscreen. These are expensive on St. John, and the hotel has resisted the urge gouge tourists like most places do.
8. The honor bar: The hotel has a fridge with sodas, beers, and water. The prices range from $1-2. A steal in St. John. It was great to grab some on the way to the beach, and the total was just added to our bill.
9. The sunset happy hour. We enjoy some free rum punch prior to dinner. It is a great opportunity to meet the staff and other guests. The staff uses this as an opportunity to answer any questions and share stories about the interesting history of the hotel.
10. Alice the Cat. He is the cutest cat that hangs out at the hotel. We talked to his mom and dad and they named him when they thought he was a girl. Now he is named after the infamous Alice Cooper. Just fun, you cannot get at a chain hotel.

Things to know:
1. Google Maps has this in the wrong place. Ask the hotel for directions to get there from the ferry.
2. There is a binder in the hotel room with great info. Be sure to flip through it.
3. The people in St. John are great, do not be intimidated, just be polite, and they are more than willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I visited Cruz Bay, St. John USVI for 8 nights. Not only was the vacation absolutely incredible with all the natural beauty and snorkeling on the island, but our hotel stay at St. John Inn could not have been better. From the morning continental breakfast, to the very comfortable and clean room (A/C, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer etc.) to the complimentary rum punch in the evening the entire stay would have to be rated EXCELLENT. John and Paige, the owners of the Inn, were always available to talk with, share information with and to give us any advice on where to eat, visit, snorkel, etc. that we could ask for. We were so impressed with the island and our stay there, that we are going to plan a vacation for our whole family to St. John next year. And, of course, we will be staying at St. John Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My friends and I, who live on Virgin Gorda, enjoyed our stay at this tasteful West Indian Inn, which is in walking distance of everything in Cruz Bay. The amenities are superb--comfortable room, AC, TV, fridge, microwave, WiFi, honor system bar, complementary breakfast and rum punch, pool, beach equipment, etc. Best of all, however, was the hospitality of Vicky, the Inn's owner/manager. A terrific operation!

Room Tip: Ask Vicky for help, describing your needs, and she will make the best recommendation. The pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed | St. John US Virgin Islands, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing