We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Coast Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved the Poinsettia unit: peaceful & quiet with balcony overlooking the ocean, constant breezes, sound of waves lapping at rocky beach below. When I started to feel bored, the car barge would pass by & grab my attention for a few minutes!
Unit had a well-equipped kitchenette & plenty of storage space; everything was immaculate.
Julie & David were very friendly, attentive to our needs, & helpful in recommending places to go. It was always a pleasure conversing with them, & they were always willing to give us directions, info on parking, & answers to our questions.
I am glad that CCV remains quaint, minimizing any negative impact on Turner Bay & the salt pond. (Contrast this to the way the Westin is destroying Great Cruz Bay). We preferred CCV's home-like atmosphere over larger impersonal resorts. We highly recommend it & would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Coconut Coast Villas. We appreciate it and look forward to assisting you next time you come to St. John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We so enjoyed our time here! The rooms are lovely, the location very convenient and the view very pleasant, especially a rocky area for the waves to wonderfully crash on! The managers couldn't have been warmer or more helpful, they thoroughly enjoy their work and their guests reap the benefits. We had so many questions and they answered every one patiently! They have great plans to upgrade and perfect things in maintaining the property, but we hardly noticed any imperfections. Our favorite thing about staying here was the integrity of the place, being true to where they are. You feel comfortable (American style) while still knowing you are in the islands! They have drawn a great balance in allowing the location to impact you while providing creature comforts. We are planning to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We appreciate your kind words and enjoyed having you here! Coconut Coast Villas is a comfortable home away from home...but island style. Glad you appreciated all that Coconut Coast has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at CCV for a few nights of our week long stay on St John. We stayed at Concordia Eco-resort the other nights. Everything was so wonderful at CCV. The condo had an awesome deck facing the ocean, and the sounds of the waves was magical. Our 2 and 3 year olds LOVED the rocky beach (we found lots of animals in the rocks, including 2 octopi). No it is not a sandy shore, but our kids still loved it in the morning before we went to the sandy beaches. We rented a car during our stay. After I booked our trip, we heard some rumors about it not being such a safe location and to watch our belongings and watch out for personal safety. Then I practically had an anxiety attack about taking a 2 and 3 yr old there on vacation....rest assured, I never felt an OUNCE of apprehension or even bad vibe from anyone and I thought CCV felt very safe (we were on the ground floor, too). The managers were beyond lovely and accommodating. They were even kind enough to pick us up at the ferry bc our rental car wasn't available until the next day. I wish we would have just stayed here our entire stay (and skipped the militant yogis at Concordia).

As far as the other reviews for this wonderful place, I read some things about their decor being dated and the television being difficult to turn on. Honestly, if you go to St. John, are you really going to watch tv and look at pictures/wallpaper on the walls? Come on! We had a lovely unit and it was very clean and comfy. In fact, we are saving now with hopes to return in December, and we definitely want to stay at CCV again.

I think one tiny thing I might recommend, but this would be for both places we stayed at would possibly investigate getting some mosquito bed curtains-like the ones that hang from the ceiling, over your bed, to make a tent. I think it's a given that anywhere on the island is going to have a few Mosquitos and our preschoolers definitely left our room door/patio door open more times than normal, but I think the tents might be a good idea for any place on the island. Just my two cents- I still give this place a 5 star rating, it was wonderful and the managers were just so kind and absolutely outstanding :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank bellts02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review! I like your idea about the mosquito nets...we will see what we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I love Coconut Coast Villas. CCV has new managers -- David & Julie, who have been managing the property for only a few months but off to an excellent start at making their guest's stay a pleasant one. Every time I had a question or a request (and I think it was every day), Julie was in the office and promptly assisted me. Also, David & Julie have started picking up and dropping their guests off at the ferry dock at no charge. Before you had to walk or catch a cab. Also, there is now a large dry board posted near the laundry facilities listing the predicted temperature, chance of rain, activities scheduled for that day on the island, etc. -- helpful in planning what you want to do for the day. When we were leaving, David & Julie told us they were in the process of updating CCV's website. I can't wait to see the results. If you are lucky enough to travel to St. John, I highly recommend that you stay at Coconut Coast Villas -- I guarantee I'll be back in February 2015.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokeyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were a joy to have here at Coconut Coast! So glad you like our new service of picking people up at the ferry dock and our activities board. Look forward to seeing you in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We loved our stay at Coconut Coast! It was a perfect transition from our stay on a sailboat in the BVI. It was a short (10 min?) walk from town but I like the peace and solitude more than the hustle and noise of being in the main part of Cruz Bay (as were the other places I looked into). On one side is a rocky beach that meant we could listen to the waves as we slept and there were always breezes off the water. The other side is the salt pond (beautiful heron each day and the daytime shortcut path is like walking through a jungle - very cool and peaceful). We say three peacocks on the property too.

Julie and David were wonderful hosts! They kept in touch by email and saved us a couple of expensive taxi rides by picking us up and dropping us off at the ferry dock. David even made two trips on our way in since there were 6 of us plus luggage and we didn't all fit. They gave us and orientation to the island, advice on beaches, restaurants, etc. and there is beach equipment for guests to use (noodles, beach chairs, fins, masks.)

We were traveling with our two kids (6 and 8) and my in-laws. We got a two bedroom suite and it was perfect. Julie put an air mattress on one bedroom floor for the kids (3 bedroom suite more than needed and 2 hotel rooms elsewhere was more expensive and less space overall). We loved having a large living/dining/kitchen area to hang out in and be able to stay up past kids' bedtime without having to creep around. We weren't there long enough to cook but the full fridge was perfect for cold drinks and milk for cereal in the morning. Food gets expensive and not as easy to find at the beaches so packing a lunch for the beach is a good idea that we didn't figure out until the last day. There are pot/pans, dinnerware, etc. for your use. They provide dish soap and paper towels too.

The kids loved the little pool and the hot tub. We were mostly at the beaches so didn't spend much time there but it was well kept and had plenty of lounge chairs. Towels are not problem - there is a room to drop off dirty towels and grab new bath or beach/pool towels. The washer and dryer are available for use after 3:00 (washer free, dryer $1). Parking was right in front (a real problem in Cruz Bay itself) and we had a rental car for two days.

The place isn't the newest but its very well kept and clean. We didn't see a single bug (except a mosquito or two but they are everywhere on the island). We would definitely stay here again without a second thought. Julie and David are wonderfully helpful. They have office hours and can be contacted quickly by email outside of that. Free wi-fi in the rooms too! Also, very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a top room - vaulted ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michigansailing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Julie and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was great having you and we hope you will spend more time with us next time you are in the Caribbean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent a family vacation week at Coconut Coast in January 2014. We had a two room villa and connected 1 room villa for our family, and it was a great set up. The villas were clean and provided us enough space to relax when not on the beaches. The villas have a shared grill and all the cooking equipment needed if you want to stay in for dinner. The pool is small, but it was never very busy, and was great for a quick plunge to cool off when reading in the sun. There is access to a rocky beach on Turner Bay as well.

Coconut Coast was a great balance of being close to the night life in Cruz Bay, but far enough away for some peace and quiet. The walk in to Cruz Bay is about 12-15 minutes. After dark, the roads to walk home are pretty well lit and we felt safe at all times.

I would come back to this place again in a heartbeat. It does not have the fancy, high-end details of some of the newer resort condos, but it is perfect for a relaxing vacation on St. John. The managers were very friendly and went out of their way to help us out. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank CLichlyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much staying at Coconut Coast Villas. Come back and see us soon! David and Julie, Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We found the on site managers to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms was quite spacious and clean. The covered balcony is very large and offers a great view of the small bay and the sea.
On the downside the villa needs to be updated. The stove must be 30 years old. The furniture was worn, and not so comfortable. The window treatment are in need of replacement.
The adjacent beach is rocky, and not really useable. There are some usable beaches not so far away, but nothing special. Town is a fifteen minute walk, but you might be better to take a taxi at night. The taxi price is not so bad. And a final word about the TV- Service is provided through Dish Network, but the channel selection can be a bit tricky.
Thanks,
J F.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaderef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for the review! Coconut Coast Villas appreciates your comments. We are in the process of updating units and recently purchased all new linens for the rooms! The stove in the waterfront studio you stayed in is an older unit, but is in working condition. Being on an island, every attempt is made to not discard working items, as there is limited space here for disposal. We strive to provide the best service we can to guests and hope you will come back and see us next time you are on St. John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Coast Villas

Address: 268 Estate Enighed | Turner Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £134 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Coast Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small oceanfront inn in a quiet family neighborhood with nine studio, two or three bedroom units. All with full kitchens, wide shady porches and en-suite baths. Easy walking distance to town. Parking, pool hot tub and ocean front grill. Free guest laundry and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Coast Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Coconut Coast Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing