We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Coast Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 April 2005

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Coconut Coast Villas. It was fabulous! The owners were extremely nice and very helpful, but stayed out of our way unless we asked for help. The room was like a small studio apartment. It was very clean and stocked with anything you could think of needing for the kitchen and bathroom. The room also provided a book of suggestions for restaurants, beaches, groceries, excursions, etc. The absolute best thing about this place is being able to fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves. You are right on the beach, although a rocky beach. To enjoy your trip, you will need a rental car. It is a bit of a walk to town to have dinner, and you will need transportation to get to the north shore beaches. The north shore beaches are unbelievable. Also, make sure the company you rent a car from lets you park in their lot in the evening. It is very hard to find a parking space in Cruz Bay.

Never found the sewer dredging that another reviewer mentioned. I think they have updated the place recently, especially on the outside.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    58
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 December 2004

On top of fantastic, wonderful owners, this condo exceeded my family's expectations.

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo with a balcony, a full kitchen, air conditioning, and all we needed for a great vacation.

Right in Cruz Bay, just a short walk / drive from everything.

They supplied us with chairs for the beach and coolers to borrow.

While the units could use minor attention, I found it to be clean, warm, and plan to go back.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2004

We stayed at Coconut Coast for a few days in early June, 2004. We were very, very pleased with the accommodations for the price we paid. Our room was neat and clean, and very amply appointed. Yes, they could spend a bunch of money for a beach, etc. but then they'd also have to charge more. The location right on the water was wonderful - especially falling to sleep at night listening to the water breaking on the shore right below our room. The owners and their cat were very friendly. We never even knew there was a sewage plant anywhere near it - no smell at all. We thought they were just dredging the inlet - no noise at all except during the day when we were out anyway. We WILL Return!

Helpful?
10 Thank GardenAndSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2004

We just got back from a one week stay at Coconut Coast Villa's in St. John in April 2004. Most of the opinion's posted on this site are accurate (personal service is good, small pool, it's a bit of walk to Cruz Bay, etc). However, upon arrival, all of the units face the a water-front sheltered cove, which if you look far to the left, you will see an enclosed area of water where this loud, noisy diesel-powered dredge was running all day long! We later found out that this was the area sewage plant!! I cannot believe I am the only one posting this major annoinance. We walked past it many nights while coming home (it's the easiest way home) and you had to hold your breath, but luckily, the smell never reached the Villas. If you are sensitive to noise, that diesel engine will drive you crazy.

There is no beach (although one could have easily been built if they just spent the money). The pool was very small and filled up with big leaves from a nearby tree every day. Why they don't chop the tree down is just beyond me!! There's no privacy at the pool area since it's not big enough.

The other thing is the units were not well stocked-bare bones utensils; screens were broken too. There is no carpeting on the floors, so if your're noise sensitive, get a room on the upper floors.

A very nice couple runs this place, but they need to put some $$$ into it, build a little beach and maintain it better.

My advice: Pay a little more and try someplace else.

Helpful?
15 Thank terrydPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
The time that this couple stayed was years ago during the time the island was building the new car ferry terminal in the large salt pond around the bay from our property . They were dredging the opening to the pond to allow the boats to come and dock in the pond around the corner of the island from where the inn sits.

We do have a cobblestone beach with lovely tidal pools at both ends and it is swimmable. Also, there is a nice sandy beach a flat, easy 5 minute walk away.

We are under new management since 2009 and the pool is cleaned twice a day, the units are fully stocked and every unit is checked in detail before all check ins to assure there are no missing, broken or unexpected problems.

The floors are tile - not carpet - so the lower floors might hear the upper floor scrape a chair occaisionally but that is all that they would hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2004

My husband and I spent a week in St. Thomas and then came to St. John for three nights on our honeymoon. We are so glad we did. The island itself is beautiful, although food is expensive. Regarding the hotel - Very small, but great personal attention. The owners gave us suggestions on great places to eat and things to do. They have a binder in each room that lists all the restaurants and prices on the island. Very helpful. The rooms are clean, with a small kitchen. They have coolers and beach chairs available if you want to borrow them for the day. The location is out of the way. Ridiculously small pool. But, we would DEFINITELY stay there again. There's an ocean view and it is so much more reasonable than other places on St. John's. It's such a great place! (Bring some mosquito repellant though!)

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 December 2003

My husband and I just returned from a week stay on St. John Island, US Virgin Islands. The weather was wonderful. No rain, lots of sun. We stayed at the Coconut Coast Villas. There are only 9 units and they are located right on the water's edge. We were lulled to sleep every night with the sound of waves crashing onto the rocky shoreline. You are also within walking distance to the town of Cruz Bay. We rented a jeep for a couple of days to explore the island. We also took a couple of side trips to the British Virgin Island of Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke. We found several good places to eat and drink. We want to go back soon.Susie & Jack

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 August 2003

I took my first visit to St Johns six years ago and very much enjoyed Coconut Coast. I went by there 2 years ago and saw they had made some improvements (ie. added a pool, plus did some remodeling). Some of the best things about Coconut Coast is that the water of Turner Bay comes right up to your back porch so that you have a good view of the bay, plus you can sleep great listening to the water as it laps against the bank. The kitchenette was great for cooking and storing food. The hosts were extremely polite and helpful in answering your many questions about the island. Carol, the wife, also is part owner in an art studio where you can purchase the most beautiful paintings or prints of the island life on St. Johns. They also have a guest book handy and you are encouraged to write about your visit, as well as learn from past occupants where to go and what to see and do on St. Johns. We found the guest book to be extremely helpful as well as the many pamphlets that they had on hand for you to acquaint yourself to the island as well as their customs. The rates are, compared to most places on St. Johns, very economical. The location to Cruz Bay is approximately a 20-30 minute walk (much of it on a steep incline) where all of the great restaurants and shops are located. I would suggest renting a car at the very first of the week and driving to all locations. It is much more convenient if you can afford it. Coconut Coast, however is not for people who have a fear of heights and sharpe turns, as the auto ride away from the villa is extremely inclined with a very sharpe turn at the top---Have a driver that you trust, or a couple of drinks before first trying this venture because it is a "piece of cake" after the first uphill-downhill trip. Coconut Coast is a pleasant place to stay, but does not have all of the extras if you are looking for an elaborate vacation. It is a great place for the first-timers, or the people who are mainly looking for the necessities and who are interested more in snorkeling, sunbathing, and seeing the rest of the island. It, however, is a very nice place to come back to after your adventuresome day visiting the island. If snorkeling, sunbathing, eating out, siteseeing is your thing, and if you don't want to spend too much money, then Coconut Coast is a great place to stay! The snorkeling around Turner Bay is pretty good if you snorkel to the right side of the bay and continue in that direction until you get 75-100 yards out. The units are very comfortable, clean, and adequately furnished. Very good T.V.
and A/C are on-site!

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Coast Villas

Property: Coconut Coast Villas
Address: 268 Estate Enighed | Turner Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Coast Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small oceanfront inn in a quiet family neighborhood with nine studio, two or three bedroom units. All with full kitchens, wide shady porches and en-suite baths. Easy walking distance to town. Parking, pool hot tub and ocean front grill. Free guest laundry and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Coast Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Coconut Coast Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing