We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Coast Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
113
Reviewed 5 January 2006

We have stayed at Coconut Coast Villas twice now both years that we stayed 2003 & 2005 Easter Week, we stayed in the 1-bedroom with loft unit. It was the perfect size for myself my Wife and 16-yoa Son.

The owners John and Nancy are great as well as John's Mother Elaine who is an artist and has a studio a short distance away with paintings for sale. (great water colors)

The villa and property are very clean and well kept and as others mentioned are right on the ocean. All units have Air conditioning but we never used ours, the trade winds blow nicely and you are plenty comfortable without the use of air.

Rent a Jeep prior to going for the week, we rented from Levi at L&L Jeep rentals both years and he is also the best and very accomadating to your arrival and departure times.

The North Shore Beaches are nothing less then Fantastic and I highly recommend one or more day sails/snorkeling trips while on the island.

Looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2005

We spent nearly 8 days at the Coconut Coast Villa on St John USVI and I must say that it was extremely enjoyable. We shared a 2 bedroom villa with friends, the place was spotless, the bedrooms very comfortable and the view was a site I will never forget. The owners John and Nancy were so very nice and accomodating to our every need. As one viewer said "they were there if you needed them but basically stayed out of your way". We also enjoyed the company of their dog, Russell and the calico cat. It was very peaceful, quiet & relaxing lounging by the pool. I really loved the sounds of the waves hitting the shore. I would highly suggest anyone, especially first timers to stay at the Coconut Coast.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
117
Reviewed 14 April 2005

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Coconut Coast Villas. It was fabulous! The owners were extremely nice and very helpful, but stayed out of our way unless we asked for help. The room was like a small studio apartment. It was very clean and stocked with anything you could think of needing for the kitchen and bathroom. The room also provided a book of suggestions for restaurants, beaches, groceries, excursions, etc. The absolute best thing about this place is being able to fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves. You are right on the beach, although a rocky beach. To enjoy your trip, you will need a rental car. It is a bit of a walk to town to have dinner, and you will need transportation to get to the north shore beaches. The north shore beaches are unbelievable. Also, make sure the company you rent a car from lets you park in their lot in the evening. It is very hard to find a parking space in Cruz Bay.

Never found the sewer dredging that another reviewer mentioned. I think they have updated the place recently, especially on the outside.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
425
Reviewed 29 December 2004

On top of fantastic, wonderful owners, this condo exceeded my family's expectations.

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo with a balcony, a full kitchen, air conditioning, and all we needed for a great vacation.

Right in Cruz Bay, just a short walk / drive from everything.

They supplied us with chairs for the beach and coolers to borrow.

While the units could use minor attention, I found it to be clean, warm, and plan to go back.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2004

We stayed at Coconut Coast for a few days in early June, 2004. We were very, very pleased with the accommodations for the price we paid. Our room was neat and clean, and very amply appointed. Yes, they could spend a bunch of money for a beach, etc. but then they'd also have to charge more. The location right on the water was wonderful - especially falling to sleep at night listening to the water breaking on the shore right below our room. The owners and their cat were very friendly. We never even knew there was a sewage plant anywhere near it - no smell at all. We thought they were just dredging the inlet - no noise at all except during the day when we were out anyway. We WILL Return!

10  Thank GardenAndSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2004

We just got back from a one week stay at Coconut Coast Villa's in St. John in April 2004. Most of the opinion's posted on this site are accurate (personal service is good, small pool, it's a bit of walk to Cruz Bay, etc). However, upon arrival, all of the units face the a water-front sheltered cove, which if you look far to the left, you will see an enclosed area of water where this loud, noisy diesel-powered dredge was running all day long! We later found out that this was the area sewage plant!! I cannot believe I am the only one posting this major annoinance. We walked past it many nights while coming home (it's the easiest way home) and you had to hold your breath, but luckily, the smell never reached the Villas. If you are sensitive to noise, that diesel engine will drive you crazy.

There is no beach (although one could have easily been built if they just spent the money). The pool was very small and filled up with big leaves from a nearby tree every day. Why they don't chop the tree down is just beyond me!! There's no privacy at the pool area since it's not big enough.

The other thing is the units were not well stocked-bare bones utensils; screens were broken too. There is no carpeting on the floors, so if your're noise sensitive, get a room on the upper floors.

A very nice couple runs this place, but they need to put some $$$ into it, build a little beach and maintain it better.

My advice: Pay a little more and try someplace else.

15  Thank terrydPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzbay, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

The time that this couple stayed was years ago during the time the island was building the new car ferry terminal in the large salt pond around the bay from our property . They were dredging the opening to the pond to allow the boats to come and dock in the pond around the corner of the island from where the inn sits.

We do have a cobblestone beach with lovely tidal pools at both ends and it is swimmable. Also, there is a nice sandy beach a flat, easy 5 minute walk away.

We are under new management since 2009 and the pool is cleaned twice a day, the units are fully stocked and every unit is checked in detail before all check ins to assure there are no missing, broken or unexpected problems.

The floors are tile - not carpet - so the lower floors might hear the upper floor scrape a chair occaisionally but that is all that they would hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2004

My husband and I spent a week in St. Thomas and then came to St. John for three nights on our honeymoon. We are so glad we did. The island itself is beautiful, although food is expensive. Regarding the hotel - Very small, but great personal attention. The owners gave us suggestions on great places to eat and things to do. They have a binder in each room that lists all the restaurants and prices on the island. Very helpful. The rooms are clean, with a small kitchen. They have coolers and beach chairs available if you want to borrow them for the day. The location is out of the way. Ridiculously small pool. But, we would DEFINITELY stay there again. There's an ocean view and it is so much more reasonable than other places on St. John's. It's such a great place! (Bring some mosquito repellant though!)

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
3.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
477 reviews
9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Coast Villas

Address: 268 Estate Enighed | Turner Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £164 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Coast Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small oceanfront inn in a quiet family neighborhood with nine studio, two or three bedroom units. All with full kitchens, wide shady porches and en-suite baths. Easy walking distance to town. Parking, pool hot tub and ocean front grill. Free guest laundry and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Coast Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Coconut Coast Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing