We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lavender Hill Suites
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still the one”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Wife and I stayed in 1W for 6 nights. Returned after three years, and Charlie still has the place nicely maintained. For a part of 2, 1W is quite roomy, with a large deck. Even from the lowest tier on the property, the view of Cruz Bay is great. Kitchen has nice features, and ample supplies. Coolers and beach chair/backpacks are very useful on day trips. Little pool is lovely, with useful shower and free laundry and parking. Outdoor gas barbecues are helpful too. A shop next door can get you (pricy) sundries, and best restaurant in town (Zozo's) is next door at Gallows Point.

A comfortable spot, in a beautiful and charming milieu.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scsilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My family of 3 stayed at Lavender Hill for 5 nights in early January 2013, our second stay at this property. We were in one of the 2 bedroom condos. Overall, great experience! Charlie, Bruce, Brian, Gary and everyone are very friendly and helpful. The location is great--5 minute walk from the ferry terminal, shops, restaurants.The pool is somewhat small, but it has a great setting, very clean, and with all the spectacular beaches on the island we didn't spend much time pool-side. Our condo was very comfortable--not super high-end hotel type of accomodations, more similar to what you find when you rent a nice house or condo at one of the mainland east coast beaches. Our unit had apparently just been updated/redone, and it was a nice place to hang out when we weren't out at the beach or in town or having a burger at Skinny Legs! Parking was not a problem, free washing machines and dryers (which is a nice touch since it enable you to bring even fewer pieces of clothing and fit everything in a carry on!), beautiful and well maintained landacaping, and the view of Cruz Bay Harbor from our (large and long) balconies was GREAT--it helped that our unit was on the top floor. Overall, a very nice place with a great location at a good (but not bargain) price.

Room Tip: COndos on higher floors have better views of Cruz Bay and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have just returned from my first trip to Cruz Bay and stayed at Lavender Hill. The view from my unit (5W) was to die for. The unit is one of the first at the entrance of the small charming 12 unit complex and is a second floor unit with a walk up entrance (no stairs, very convenient). The decor is very nice and all amenaties and cooking utensils are included. There are two baconies and a wonderful breeze that allows you to keep the sliding doors open (they have screens) and enjoy the sounds of the ocean and still remain cool and comortable.The complex has a pool in the center and a free laundry room with free detergent for guest to utilise. No need to have a car you are in short walking dstance to many bars, shops and restaurants and the beach. You can explore a variety of the beautiful beaches of St. John with a short taxi ride. The management of Lavender Hill was very responsive and accomadated all of our requests. I would highly reccomend this unit!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopeGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We just returned from a week's stay in St. John at Lavendar Hill Suites. This is our 4th visit and we brought our children with us this time - who had a great time and really loved the condo. We always stay at Lavender Hill Suites. The view from our balcony of Cruz Bay is spectacular. We love the convenience to town and the great accomodations. The magic of this island is all of the different beautiful beaches during the day and the fun of hanging out in town in the evening. Lavendar Hill is just a 3 minute walk to town. The units provide everything you need for the beach including chairs, towels and coolers. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All of the condos have a great view of Cruz Bay. Pick the unit that best fits the size of your grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabamastan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

July 28th - August 6th was my family's 8th vacation to St. John and we chose Lavender Hill for two reasons: price and location. We wanted to stay in Cruz Bay so we could walk into town because finding a parking spot is always a headache.

We stayed in unit 5W and found it to be very clean and well-maintained. There were a few nits; one of the burners on the stove didn't work and one of the chairs on the patio was broken but I wouldn't exactly call either of those showstoppers. The kitchen is decently equipped ( I could have used a colander and a cheese grater but again, not showstoppers).

The staff is friendly and responsive. Overall the buildings, landscaping, and pool are in great shape and a pool is a must for us because our son is apparently half fish because even after a full day on the beach he wanted to swim every afternoon.

I loved the view into Cruz Bay harbor - I loved sitting on the patio watching the ferrys and the charter boats come and go. We walked into town many times for lunch, dinner, or browsing the shops.

In short we got exactly what we wanted and would stay at Lavender Hill again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beesm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seffner, FL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Having now stayed at Lavender Hill Suites twice, we definately would recommend it, in fact highly recommend it particuliarly to those who are looking for an alternative to Gallows Point Resort. With the difference in rates, you can stay for a day or two longer at Lavender Hill.
In all fairness, this is the apples and oranges comparison. Gallows Point is much larger with
60 units vs 12 at Lavender Hill. You do have access to quite good snorkeling from Gallows,
their pool overlooks St Thomas which is really neat at night, always a great view from their expansiive deck. Daily room cleaning, fresh beach towels on demand, etc, etc. BUT, all this comes at a cost. If it fits wells within your own budget, great.
Otherwise, I suggest you check out Lavender Hill. It really also depends on why you're visiting
St John in the first place. If you're like us, you rent a jeep for the entire time you're on island.
Each unit at both Lavender and Gallows come with a portable cooler, beach chairs and towels for your daily trips to your favorite beaches. We're gone by 9am at the latest, good idea to get a parking spot early at some beach sites, and we usually return by 3-4pm. Since we don't stay around the condo during the day, it just doesn't make much sense to pay "resort" rates. And, if the view is some of your primary consideration, at Lavender Hill, you'll have full sliding glass doors, so you can enjoy your meal inside (if you choose) from air conditioned comfort and enjoy the view, always activity in Cruz Bay harbor. At Gallows, wtih the frosted jalousie (slats) windows in 2/3rd of the doors, you have no view when seated in the lower front living room and limited view looking out over the top of the frosted windows from the kitchen area. This is one major difference that we found that was very much in favor of Lavender Hill. In addition, depending on the unit at Lavender, some come with an expansive wrap around covered deck, much larger then those at Gallows.
Finally, parking at Gallows can be a hassle, depending on the time of the year of course, high/low season. This is assuming, like ourselves, you rent a jeep for the entire time. They have a overflow area further up the street from their main lot. Even if you get lucky for a spot right out side the lobby area, you can be in for some extra exercise if you have a unit in Bldg 15 (furthest away).
Not exactly hilly, but a pretty good incline with the change in terrain.
At Lavender Hill, parking is all flat on the middle level, literally steps from your front door, especailly if you choose a middle unit. You'll have to go up or down one flight of stairs to the top and bottom units if you choose those. This is really handy with toting your groceries and/or beach stuff in the tropical weather.
In summation, yep, we'd go back again, and in fact are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Lower level units have a limited view of the harbor due to the abundance of tropical plants, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzNDes, Owner at Lavender Hill Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We agree that the phenomenal views from Lavender Hill and the easy parking help set us apart. We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I will agree with an earlier review that it is kind of a mixed experience. You have everything you need in your room. Dishes, cookware, cleaning supplies. Views are great and rooms are comfortable. Just needs a little TLC. Patio door off of bedroom would not open but that was no big deal as there was no view on that side. Just a couple of other minor issues not worth mentioning. Also maid never came. The big draw is the rates are good and everything you need is within walking distance. Way more affordable than Gallows but Gallows is nicer. Overall I would give it a strong B+.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Bay Resort
Grande Bay Resort
#2 of 17 in Cruz Bay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Suites

Property: Lavender Hill Suites
Address: 3 Abb Cruz Bay | PMB 456 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hill Suites(R) - 1 and 2 bedroom luxury suites all with spectacular Caribbean views just steps away from the shops, restaurants, ferries, and nightlife of Cruz Bay, St John. Each unit has its own unique tropical motif, and each offers fully equipped kitchen, TV, beach chairs and towels, coolers, fully AC, etc. We are the onsite owners and managers of units 1W, 2W, 3W, 5W, 7E, 8E, 10E and 12E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lavender Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hill Hotel Cruz Bay
Lavender Hill Suites St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing