We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Hill Suites
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just spent 10 glorious days on St John staying at Lavender Hill Suites. Had read previous reviews and decided on suite 8E - perfect! Huge wraparound balcony, nicely decorated and had everything we needed to make it our home for 10 days. The views are spectacular and it is a short, 5 minute walk down the hill to town. We felt like we had the place to ourselves - very peaceful. We enjoyed the pool a few times and got a kick out of the cats greeting us at night when we would return, as they laid in the driveway or by the pool! You can hear the music playing from town at night while sitting on your balcony having a nightcap too - not loud, but just able to hear it. This was a first stay on St John for us (we usually stay on the east end of St Thomas and visit St John), but will not be our last and we will definitely return to Lavender Hill again! Staff of Lavender Hill are very friendly and keep the property well maintained - thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandgirlMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

One of the best spots to stay on St. John. A five minute walk from the ferry dock, central to Cruz bay, easy access to rental car agencies, restaurants, etc. Our favorite evening was just walk down the hill to the Beach Bar, have a meal, a drink, and watch the sunset over St. Thomas. Multiple water sports rentals are right there. Easy enough to rent a Jeep (also right down the hill) and cruise the island.

The rooms aren't super fancy, but are well maintained and comfortable. Get a room facing Cruz Bay if you can for some great pictures. Any time we can go to St. John this is where we stay. This price is competitive with other stand alone houses, and the location just can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jgl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Beautiful decorated rooms with tropical colors! Gorgeous views, close to heavenly beaches, great location in Cruz Bay. Having a kitchen is perfect too. Suites feel like home.
Love the wrap around balcony and sunsets. Clean and peaceful. A+

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phantom_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have stayed at Lavender Hill twice; both times were great! The units are simple, but well equipped, clean, comfortable, and affordable. No, the units probably do not compare with places that cost twice as much, but when comparing apples to apples, this place is hard to beat. The location is within walking distance to the bars and restaurants of Cruz Bay. We liked the ability to walk to the various happy hours. The views from the units overlook Cruz Bay; some units offer better views than others. There is a nice pool, which is often empty. There are also community gas grills located in the pool area. The grill we used was clean and in good shape (i.e. we had no problem using it to cook a meal or two). There is a manager who lives onsite and he was great to work with and will help you with anything he can to make your trip more enjoyable. We have vacationed on St. John with and without a rental vehicle. The overall experience is better when you have your own vehicle for the week, but it is not a must. Taxis are available within walking distance from Lavender Hill to shuttle folks to the beaches. Be prepared to spend at least a couple of hundred dollars per couple for a week of taxis (assuming you go to a beach each day). St. John is beautiful and Lavender Hill provides a great base camp to enjoy the island.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had never been to St.John before, and I had no idea where to start.. to stay.. to go.. I wasn't sure if I should stay in Coral bay or Cruz bay. After thinking about my needs, we decided on Cruz bay. After getting to Cruz bay, I could have called Charlie to pick us up, but thought we would walk instead. Not knowing the way we asked a cab and they were going to charge us 10 dollars! I said no way, I will ask someone. It was right up the hill. It is a 5 minute walk but up a hill, the hill is not bad and I am almost 6 months pregnant!
We stayed in 4w. It is a one bedroom, with an amazing view! Brian originally told me some of the appliances were out of date in this particular 1 bedroom. But everything worked and was perfect for us. They left us backpacks, tennis balls, towels, beach chairs, movies.
The best part was it was close to town so you don't have to worry about driving. We walked into town every night.
Brian and Charlie were very helpful.
We had an amazing time and will definitely stay at Lavender Hills again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDSAY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful trip to St. John. I have nothing but great things to write about Lavender Hills! We arrived at the island and were picked up by Charlie at the ferry dock. The accommodations were wonderful. From the view(s) on the deck(s) to the very functional kitchen, we were very happy. The suites are a 5 minutes walk from the ferry dock/town. We decided to cook our meals at the suites. As such, we took full advantage of the kitchen and the BBQ's located near the pool. The accommodations come equipped with coolers and beach chairs. Every day we packed a lunch in the coolers and headed off to the beach. When we returned from our day, the great time continued with drinks on the deck watching the sun set! The staff associated with Lavender Hill Suites did a wonderful job of making sure we were well taken care of. Make sure you email and let them know what you need.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We just returned from staying at lavender hill and it was fabulous. Far exceeded expectations. Wonderful property, we stayed in unit 7E and it had a fantastic view. The accommodations were wonderful. Spacious. comfortable. a great big deck with a view of the water and the pool. we loved the furnishings and the decor, as well as the well equipped kitchen. Wed return for sure.

Room Tip: definitely select one of the units over the pool as we did! with the big deck...unit 7e
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougbnnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
3.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Bay Resort
Grande Bay Resort
#2 of 17 in Cruz Bay
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Suites

Address: 3 Abb Cruz Bay | PMB 456 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £145 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hill Suites(R) - 1 and 2 bedroom luxury suites all with spectacular Caribbean views just steps away from the shops, restaurants, ferries, and nightlife of Cruz Bay, St John. Each unit has its own unique tropical motif, and each offers fully equipped kitchen, TV, beach chairs and towels, coolers, fully AC, etc. We are the onsite owners and managers of units 1W, 2W, 3W, 5W, 7E, 8E, 10E and 12E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Lavender Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hill Hotel Cruz Bay
Lavender Hill Suites St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing