We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavender Hill still a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lavender Hill Suites
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Louis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lavender Hill still a great place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed here 3 times in the last 4 years and we plan to come back. The kitchen is well equipped, and the deck overlooking Cruz Bay is spacious. There are free laundry facilities, a lovely pool, outdoor grill, chairs to take to the beach, and a little store right down the drive to rent flippers, schedule a boat trip, or buy some beer, coffee or snacks. The gardens are so beautiful near the pool. The location is just a short walk to town but far enough away to avoid the noise. Beware there is the most beautiful rooster who crows in the morning, but with the bedroom doors shut you'll sleep right through. That being said, I don't think you are going to escape the morning roosters anywhere on the island! Staying here will make you feel like a local- not a tourist staying at a fancy hotel, but your own little private shack. If that's what you want, this place is for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sofie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We based our choice to stay at Lavender Hill on the reviews others have posted and our first visit to the USVI was the best vacation ever and Lavender Hill is a fantastic place to stay. The pictures they post on their site are accurate, the unit we stayed in 5W was perfect for us and very roomy, clean, comfortable and well maintained. It is centrally located and walking distance to everything in town. Taxi's are a must to get to the beaches (unless you rent a car). We were met at the ferry on time, the day we arrived and when we needed any service, the managers were very prompt and helpful. We had conversations with several other people who were repeat visitors to Lavender Hill and some of them have been returning for years.

Great value and simply a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 5W.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We LOVE Lavender Hill...this was our third time staying here and it doesn't get any better than this.... all of the units are beautiful, clean and very comfortably furnished. The views from the deck are gorgeous and it was so relaxing just to be able to sit outside early am, before anyone else was up. It is a very short walk into town, with lots of great restaurants/bars; owners/managers are very accommodating and helpful. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: My favorite units are 3W and 6W.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamacita55Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Girt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Lavnder Hill is an older condo unit rental resort up the hill from Cruz Bay, which means you can just walk into town. The walk down the hill is fine, it's the walk back up that is a little taxing (the owner said to think of it as walking off all that food you ate at Cruz Bay). The place is older but, for the price, it was worth it. If you are looking for fancy & modern, don't come here; if you just want something comfortable & clean with a fantastic view of Cruz Bay then you can stay here.

It's also got a cemetery in front of it and down across the street, so that's a warning if this sort of thing freaks you out, it didn't bother us at all. We were able to get some supplies for our full kitchen at the Grotto Bay resort store across the street but that place was a little pricey (but they make great sandwiches). We walked into town and found a small grocery store that fit the bill for us, we never did go to the big supermarkets which were quite a walk from Lavender Hill.

We would go here again for the price, all the places around it are a lot more expensive and it's location can't be beat if you want to hang around Cruz Bay.

Room Tip: we had the lowest floor, next time we would go up a floor, the view is so much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philbo507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our 3rd stay at LH in the last 5 or 6 years and our 1st in 3W, which is a very nice 2-story 2-bedroom unit. Everything was fine with the unit, which has been our experience in these villas, but the neighborhood is changing. There is a new bar right down the street that pumped loud music our way at least 2 out of our 4 nights' stay. That isn't under the control of LH, at which frog-peeps were previously the loudest noise, but should be considered in plans to stay near Cruz Bay. Back to 3W: the king bed was super comfortable and the view was superb. Friendly cats, a lovely small pool, and very accommodating service rounded out the LH experience to which we have become accustomed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just spent 10 glorious days on St John staying at Lavender Hill Suites. Had read previous reviews and decided on suite 8E - perfect! Huge wraparound balcony, nicely decorated and had everything we needed to make it our home for 10 days. The views are spectacular and it is a short, 5 minute walk down the hill to town. We felt like we had the place to ourselves - very peaceful. We enjoyed the pool a few times and got a kick out of the cats greeting us at night when we would return, as they laid in the driveway or by the pool! You can hear the music playing from town at night while sitting on your balcony having a nightcap too - not loud, but just able to hear it. This was a first stay on St John for us (we usually stay on the east end of St Thomas and visit St John), but will not be our last and we will definitely return to Lavender Hill again! Staff of Lavender Hill are very friendly and keep the property well maintained - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islandgirlMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

One of the best spots to stay on St. John. A five minute walk from the ferry dock, central to Cruz bay, easy access to rental car agencies, restaurants, etc. Our favorite evening was just walk down the hill to the Beach Bar, have a meal, a drink, and watch the sunset over St. Thomas. Multiple water sports rentals are right there. Easy enough to rent a Jeep (also right down the hill) and cruise the island.

The rooms aren't super fancy, but are well maintained and comfortable. Get a room facing Cruz Bay if you can for some great pictures. Any time we can go to St. John this is where we stay. This price is competitive with other stand alone houses, and the location just can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jgl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Bay Resort
Grande Bay Resort
#2 of 17 in Cruz Bay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Suites

Property: Lavender Hill Suites
Address: 3 Abb Cruz Bay | PMB 456 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hill Suites(R) - 1 and 2 bedroom luxury suites all with spectacular Caribbean views just steps away from the shops, restaurants, ferries, and nightlife of Cruz Bay, St John. Each unit has its own unique tropical motif, and each offers fully equipped kitchen, TV, beach chairs and towels, coolers, fully AC, etc. We are the onsite owners and managers of units 1W, 2W, 3W, 5W, 7E, 8E, 10E and 12E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lavender Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hill Hotel Cruz Bay
Lavender Hill Suites St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing